We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professionalism taken to the next level”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Outlook Lodge Lakefield
Ranked #1 of 37 Benoni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
the world
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Professionalism taken to the next level”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I spent many hours on the internet looking for the perfect safari in Kruger as I was taking my Father-in-law on his first Safari experience. Ultimately booking the entire package (airport transfers, 3 day kruger safari and accomodation either side) with Outlook via an agency.

Right from the collection to being dropped off at the airport 6 days later, this team is professional and absolutely amazing. Every team member goes above and beyond their best to help you in every aspect, from meal requests to finding plug adaptors, this team is by far the best we have every come across in our travels around many African countries and safaris.

The Lodge is a real home away from home with the biggest asset being manager Francois. The other reviews certainly highlight his skills. He goes out of his way to make your stay as relaxing and easy as possible. The dogs are a real laugh and great fun to play with for many hours. A Soweto tour with local Mr S (who was also our airport transfer taxi) was unbelievable experience and has knowledge and local history second to none - a must do.

The Safari team of Jonathan (amazing chef), Villem (our passionate guide), Moss and Bennet (most efficient transfer drivers) were hands-down the best we have ever come across. These guys were simply excellent in making the experience of being in the famous Kruger park on safari unforgettable.

To all the staff at Outlook, my sincerest thank you.

If you are looking for the perfect package, safari or a home away from home in johannesburg... look no further.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamingKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    74
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
69
146
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Outlook Lodge was recommended to us by Chameleon Holidays of Windhoek, Namibia, and proved to be an excellent choice. Francois himself collected us from the airport, and drove us smothly and quickly to the lodge, which is situated in a quiet, peaceful suburb of Johannesburg and in attractive gardens. Our room was extremely comfortable and very well equipped, while Francois provided us with some first-class meals. We were so impressed that we decided to return after our safari in the Kruger Park for two more days in the lodge. Once again, everything was excellent, and we met the owner too. Everybody seems to walk around the local area quite safely, and Francois also organised a tour around Soweto for us. In short, a superb place to stay, and we would certainly return there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

My experience at Outlook Lodge this past weekend was fantastic all round.

I spent an overnight at the lodge in Benoni before going on a Kruger Park Safari and was pleasantly surprised by the great quality of both the accommodation and service.

The staff members were incredibly friendly and well informed, the food was delicious and portions hearty and the lodge itself was a quiet and comfortable place set in a leafy garden.

From airport pick up (a 10 minute drive away) to departure, visiting the lodge was a lovely experience that I would be happy to revisit soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We drove in and was met with a large garden, green lawn, mature trees and three lovely dogs barking a welcome greeting. The house itself was lovely and our room was top notch. Good beds, fluffy pillows, a bathtub and shower, everything was well thought out and we had no complaints! Breakfast was made fresh for us everyday, Francois and Dillion was ever helpful and they even helped me order a pizza which I was hankering for after a week of being on the safari!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarawilliamslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roundafric, Public Relations Manager at Outlook Lodge Lakefield, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Clara

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to South Africa!

Christel
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at the Outlook Lodge 2 nights around our safari with them. Francois and his staff were outstanding and very helpful. Bennet met us at the airport and assisted us on the short drive back to the lodge by swinging by the mall so we could purchase a few items. Breakfast was cooked specifically for us each morning. The rooms were large, clean, and well maintained.

Francois assisted us by providing suggestions for our day in JoBurg, lending Bennet to drive us around and topping it off he obtained a Fanta for our son when the lodge was out of stock.

We will most definitely stay at the Outlook Lodge (and take their safari) on our next trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarks-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

The house is gorgeous, although the guest rooms could use some updating. The best part of the stay here (a two night stay before heading to Botswana) was the wonderful hospitality provided by Francois. He prepared great breakfasts and aided us in our plans to see as much of Johannesburg as we could in one day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KdubOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night at the Outlook Lodge on a long layover in JoBerg before our 2PM flight to Nairobi. Francois and his sister picked us up at the airport right on time and took us to the Lodge. On the drive, he provided us with a lot of informative details about the area and South Africa in general.

Our room at Outlook Lodge was fantastic and HUGE! It's a shame that I did not have a chance to use the giant bathtub. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the living room, chatted with Francois and happily perused all the books about South Africa that they had on the table. Francois then made dinner reservations and provided us with a car service (he dropped us off and picked us up) at a local restaurant. The restaurant recommendation was lovely.

I was in a panic when I arrived in JoBerg because I was having issues with my camera and I was convinced that I had lost all my pictures from Kruger, Botswana and Zambia. Francois, being the astounding host that he is, without whisked us off to a local camera shop to see if I could recover my photos. When the camera shop was closed, he took us to the local mall and waited with us for 2 HOURS while the Kodak people recovered and burned CDs of my photos. I cannot thank Francois enough for his compassion, selflessness and his generosity .

Francois saved our African vacation and I will never forget him! I highly recommend staying at the Outlook Lodge, but more importantly, I recommend FRANCOIS!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MobiePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
5.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,330 reviews
5.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.8 mi away
Afrique Boutique Hotel Oliver Tambo
1.7 mi away
Summer Garden Guest House (The Palms)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outlook Lodge Lakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Lodge Lakefield

Property: Outlook Lodge Lakefield
Address: 1 Ambleside Avenue | Lakefield, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Outlook Lodge Lakefield 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outlook Lodge offers great value for money with home from home comforts in a tranquil gated community. We cater for discerning travelers, professionals, avid safari enthusiasts and families alike.Originally established as an overnight stop for guests embarking on safari with us, it now boasts a 4 star grading and confidently claims to surpass international standards, maintaining the highest possible levels of professionalism, hygiene and comfort.The rooms are tastefully furnished to celebrate South Africa's wonderful diversity of wildlife and spectacular landscapes. Breakfast is a scrumptious affair, while lunch and dinner is served on request at minimal extra charge. Special dietary requirements are catered for.Being right next to a golf course and within 5 minutes' walk from a gym and the Korsman Bird Sanctuary offers our guests activity on our doorstep. Day excursions to explore all that Gauteng has to offer can be booked through the lodge.We have been operating safaris to the Kruger National Park since 1998 and specialize in this region of South Africa. All safaris are conducted by professional safari guides employed by ourselves. You will deal with us personally and safaris generally leave from the Outlook Lodge. Options vary from budget camping to luxury lodge safaris.We are situated about 15 minutes' drive from Johannesburg's OR Tambo airport and offer transfers to and from the airport by prior arrangement at a minimal charge.We look forward to meeting you!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Outlook Lodge Lakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Lodge Lakefield Benoni, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing