We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mufasa Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
$74
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Benoni(Benoni)(Great Value!)
$37
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$45
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Birchwood Hotel(Boksburg)
$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Europrime Hotel(Boksburg)(Great Value!)
$53
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
13
12
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
12
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverland tourjanabackpackingatchostelmattressesdogslodgingjohannesburg
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 34 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Awesome vibe and friendly staff. Well managed and laid back environment. Lovely pool and bar area. They can help you with all your travel arrangements being customized tours through Africa or spending a couple of days in Kruger NP. Perfect location hosting large group and a must stay when in Johannesburg,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellyfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent 2 weekends now at Mufasa. Hard to leave as so relaxing, friendly and excellent, reasonable rates.
Lovely swimming pool at the bar area. Lots of friendly dogs making for a 'homely' atmosphere.
Very central area to main highways and large shopping centres and the airport despite being close to these amenities one feels you are in the countryside, with no traffic noise - just a lot of birdlife and peace.
Mufasa arranged a private taxi for me as find Johannesburg traffic daunting, driver was always on time, informative and efficient.

Room Tip: All good rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outofafricaBotswana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Mufasa is in my honest , humble opinion the best backpackers hostel in Johannesburg- and the ideal base from which to lan your caravan through AFRICA. Juan and his wife have created a safe space that is more of a home from home than your regular sterile backpacker. Ive been in the backpacking industry for 30 years and Ive stayed or visited most of the hostels in Southern Africa and in fact Ive seen how a backpackers hostle can deteriorate when it becomes just a business. At Mufasa lodge you will find people who are human and caring and compassionate and offering a good service at a good price. What more do you want?

Room Tip: Dont book a room- just come. The nigerian scammers book the rooms and it looks full- but it isnt. Juan and his wife will always find space for you....so just come.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbowjesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights (one before the safari and 2 after) and also did the Kruger Safari with the owners Juan, Toini and their friend Tommy who was our driver. We had so much fun. These people are great, friendly, helpful and plain fun. We traveled with our children and the safari was fully catered to our needs. It was also well-priced (we do not have a huge budget). The rooms at Mufasa are reasonable, nothing luxurious if that is what you are looking for. The common bathrooms and showers were adjacent to our room and we were the only users at the time of our stay. Everything was very clean. We hung out a lot with the other guests at the common area and enjoyed the meals together. I must however emphasise the great fun we had during the 5-day safari.

Room Tip: They usually try to cater to people's needs and give them enough space. For example, we stayed in a 6-bed dorm even though there was only 4 of us. So, perhaps ask them before booking. They are very responsive to e-mails.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 342TravelBug1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed 3 days, and unfortunately found out too late that we needed 4 to go to see the big 5 at the park. The people that run this place are so fun. Bar open each evening, cooking great SA Brai under the stars, and swapping stories. We headed to Capetown after, and I was sad to leave. Rooms are reasonable and very clean. Employees took us into town shopping and sightseeing. Would choose to stay at this safe place outside the city in a heartbeat!

shared bathrooms, but clean and always hot water (rare in SA).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank k8etravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews