We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lakes Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Benoni
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
4
6
1
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelly Beach, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife & I needed a hotel room in Benoni for Saturday night.
Having passed this hotel on the highway many times, and seen its lovely setting, we decided to try it.

It was a typical plastic, people processing palace. Very soulless.

Things needed for its '3 star rating' were there, but only just.

The flat screen TV was there, but so badly adjusted that it was unwatchable.

The bathroom with separate shower was there, but the shower door handles were broken, there was nowhere in the shower enclosure, such as a soap dish, to put the soap or shampoo.

The in room, tea and coffee making kit was there, but only powdered milk.

The only bedside light, had a power cord that was too short to reach any power point!!! So I assume that it was for purely decorative purpose. The lighting in general was very dim and inadequate.

Our room, 115, overlooked the pool area and lacked privacy and needed the blinds closed to achieve this during daylight hours.

We checked in after dark and the blinds were all ready down so we didn't realise this until morning.

This feature was further aggravated by the very poor lighting.

As a said, the place was run to meet the 3 star standards, not for the benefit of the customers.

Room Tip: Room facing away from the pool, might have privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank ian16th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location is superb, right next to a lake. The scenery is just CALM!
The meeting rooms are not well kept though and a lot needs to go into keeping them clean and comfortable.
The rooms are spacious and well designed but the heaters are erratic so during the cold season you could freeze in there!
No Wifi in the rooms and the internet charges are so high! Room phones are not well maintained, 3 of us had faulty room phones!
The food is good though.

Room Tip: If you want Wifi get the rooms closest to the reception :) If you want scenery, get the rooms faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabaZedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2012

As an Political Party we have attended a Conference in this very hotel , its stylish, very clean and quiet and i rate it as the best hotel ever ... Compare to the Sun Hotels i went to in Sandton ...they are way far than what i saw and experienced in The Lakes Hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were impressed with the rooms and the baths were large, and was happy that there was internet access in the rooms. It has nicely mix with technology nice location very comfortable food for meals...................

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
0.0 mi away
Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Road Lodge Carnival City
0.0 mi away
Europrime Hotel
Europrime Hotel
#5 of 6 in Boksburg
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,922 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
0.0 mi away
Towers Lodge
Towers Lodge
#8 of 8 in Germiston
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes Hotel and Conference Center

Property: The Lakes Hotel and Conference Center
Address: No 1 Country Lane | Lakefield, Benoni 1501, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lakes Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakes Hotel and Conference Centre, only 10 kilometres from Johannesburg’s O.R. Tambo International Airport, is on the banks of the Benoni Natural Lakes and adjacent to the Benoni Lakes Golf Club. It is a recent addition to the growing African Sun portfolio of hotels in South Africa.In an impressive setting, its 144 rooms and conferencing facilities (including wireless internet) for up to 500 delegates make it an ideal “escape” from the central business districts of Sandton and Johannesburg, only 40 kilometres away. On site tennis courts, swimming pool and, unusually, water skiing facilities, are complemented by the nearby golf course, bowling greens, squash courts and even horse-riding facilities. And the Emperor’s Palace Casino is only 8 kilometres away!The Lakes is now looking to capitalize on its unique location (a short drive from South Africa’s main gateway, O.R. Tambo International Airport, and in close proximity to the biggest commercial and business centre in Africa…Johannesburg) by attracting the tourist and leisure traveller.While not neglecting its main focus (an efficiently run conferencing facilities in a country setting) its location on the banks of Benoni’s natural lakes and, uniquely for a Johannesburg hotel, offering water skiing facilities makes it a natural playground for “get away from it all” urbanites and foreign visitors alike.Its 144 fully-serviced en-suite rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with satellite television and tea and coffee making facilities. The seven-days-a-week laundry service is a boon for guests arriving after overnight flights from all over the world, as is the 18-hours-a-day room service. A la carte dining and a traditional African Sun breakfast buffet cater to all tastes and the Sundowner Bar, overlooking the lake, is a popular spot for that pre-dinner cocktail or later nightcap. With airport transfers easily arranged, The Lakes Hotel and Conference Centre is an ideal introduction for visitors to South Africa and an even more ideal location for a short or long weekend stay, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lakes Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes Hotel Benoni
The Lakes Hotel And Conference Center Benoni, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing