We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Fahrenheit

Fahrenheit
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in Benoni
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Boksburg
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Overrated, over priced, dry and tasteless Kingklip Neptune. The cheese sauce reminded me of a piece of cardboard garnished with crispy cheese. This fish dish should be discontinued. I doubt if Neptune would be able to spear the vegetables that were served with our dishes. My partner's rump steak dish was tender and tasty except for the vegetables and starch. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. What a disappointment after hearing such good reviews from friends. Too many patrons, too little quality!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanici M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    99
    35
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Benoni, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Food was stunning , the area we sat in was great - semi private upstairs so we were away from the chaos of the downstairs and the noise of the children. I dont think my review would have been as favourable if we had sat downstairs. Oh there was the issue of the downstairs smoking section's smoke wafting up to us , but that was only if they left the door open. Naughty Naughty

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Suanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“At last a good restaurant in Benoni”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Service is friendly,good and fast. My peppadew steak was fantastic compliments to the chef. Your chicken snitzel is very nice would love more sauce otherwise it can be dry. I love that you get veggies with your main meal most of restaurants you have to pay extra. Booking is a good idea. Sad that the restaurant closed ath 16h00 on Sundays.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Petro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking customer service”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I recently went to this resturant for what I thought would be a romantic dinner with my wife. I thought I would splash out a little and ordered oysters as a starter to share. One of the oysters was off and caused me to throw up on my plate. This caught the eye of a manager who subsequently offered me a tequila to wash the taste out of my mouth? Upon refusing this offer he said he would take care of it. When the bill arrived he had removed the cost of only the bad oyster from the bill. AN EQUIVALENT OF R7 FROM A R700 BILL!! This is not what I expect from a resturant which makes itself out as "Upper Class" - Shocking

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreas247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great taste both in food and looks”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The place has a nice feel to it, nice decoration and set up and on top of that the food is delicious... a bit to extensive of a menu, but if you get your pick right it is defenetly a place to go back to

  • Visited May 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank syllia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fahrenheit also viewed

Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
Edenvale, Greater Johannesburg
 
Alberton, Greater Johannesburg
Benoni, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Fahrenheit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing