We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MoAfrika Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$76
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$69
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SUN1 Benoni(Benoni)(Great Value!)
$38
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$47
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Birchwood Hotel(Boksburg)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Europrime Hotel(Boksburg)(Great Value!)
$54
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
77
41
15
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
41
15
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerplace to staytraveling alonecentral johannesburgtea kettleafrican styleapartheid museumquiet areaclose to the airportcommon areaskruger national parkpleasant surpriseandrewdogstourslodgesafari
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 155 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a good base if you are flying into Jo'Burg & taking a trip up into Kruger. They picked us up fine and were all helpful & friendly (evenn the 3 dogs). It is a bit remote so it's a taxi anywhere if you are staying a bit longer but teh guys can fix you up. Food was excellent too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilgrim143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The service of the hotel was excellent - free pickup from the airport (totally on time) - special breakfast at 6 a.m. No problem. Offer a lot of tours and safari too. Nice rooms with a lot of space - good and affordable food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinchen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My son and I stayed in this place for one night before we went to Hoedspruit. Anthony was very kind answering many questions I had before I left home, and Andrew and staff did everything they could to make us feel at home. Dinner was excellent, even though they did not have about 1/4 of what was in the menu. Everything was very clean and the place is nicely decorated. I do recommend the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlessandraJohann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Anthony and his staff were all very helpful !!

We only had 1N stay here, but we loved it. The place is close to the airport, which is why we booked it as we wanted to drive to Kruger the next morning.

For a decent price, we had a huge room, with a huge plasma TV, and the room was spot on clean. Met all our requirements.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonirohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Non pretentious! Facilities are excellent for the price, beds are über large , hot water always available, coffee and tea making facilities in the room (superior). Wireless Internet available and useable on the site and wired terminals 2 off also available and functional, printing facilities by arrangement - just organise with Andrew. Bar prices more than very competitive.

Being met at the airport by Andrew and Anthony ensured that our first trip to SA and Josi would not start on the wrong foot, 15mins drive to Benoni and there was MoAfrika lodge. Stepping out of the car we were greeted by the three lodge Rotweilers who were very friendly with everyone inside the lodge boundaries. (And even more friendly if you are possession of food). After 26 hours of transit a power rest was in order so we took a 2 hour beak in the air conditioned room after which we chilled on the lodge site in the early spring sunshine whilst planning the day excursions we wished to take in and around Jozi and Pretoria over the forthcoming couple of days.

Tours taken
Sterkfontein & Maropeng Cradle of humankind visitor centre.
Very interesting limestone caves couldn't get entry in to the visitor centre as it was national heritage day and severalteen thousand folks had been bused in from the surrounding townships for an open entry day. Still, the live bands and other entertainment were good.

Totally Jozi -with our guide Nick -
covering Soweto (and an off the beaten track walk about in a non-tourist marketplace and a shared beer in the local shabeen schap! schap!); The Apartheid Museum ( an eye opener as to what really went on ); Johannesburg CBD; Constitution Hill and the Old city jail ( another eye opener into man's inhumanity to man); Carlton centre - a superb city view although the lift ride was somewhat bumpy!. one phenomenal day made all the better by the knowledge brought by our Guide Nick - MANY THANKS.

Voortrekker monument and Pretoria
well worth the visit,giving information and insight into earlier history of the country and the original dutch settlers (Voortrekker).and the usual human condition of the powerful displacing the not so powerful, covering indigenous and English and Portuguese. excellent view from the top of the monument. A final drive around Pretoria with a 2 hour visit to the union buildings and the superb gardens there.

We additionally arranged a 6 day Safari to Tremisana on the Balule reserve through Anthony with a return back to Mo Afrika for a couple of day chilling prior to taking the train onward to CapeTown.

All in all the travel arrangements, tours and the discounts arranged by Anthony made for a great value for money visit to Jozi and the Kruger. Finally, dropping us off at Rhodesfield Guautrain station for onward travel to park railway station was much appreciated as we also got to experience the Gautrain.

Many thanks to all staff at Moafrika for a chilled time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews