We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabuliscious!!!!!!!!!!!i would say it in one word!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
African Silhouette Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 38 Benoni B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2010

if ur looking for the comfort of home and the luxury of a hotel this quaint guesthouse is amazing just 15 minutes from or tambo int airport ,,then this is what i highly recommend!!!!!the lady is very friendly and serves an amazing breakfast shes very friendly sunny natured and helpful,,,,i loved every day i spent at this guesthouse!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siareddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for African Silhouette Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 51 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2010

When we arrived, we were very tired after a long flight but Susan was so kind and friendly we relaxed right away. The location is perfect with the peaceful surrounding countryside with birdlife in profusion in the extensive gardens. A quirky reception leads through to a quiet shady courtyard with access to the rooms which are unique. The large comfy bed guaranteed a great sleep and the lovely outside garden shower was something new for us!
Breakfast was special with lots of attention to detail as well as a good variety of choice. We spent 3 nights and would love to have stayed longer. Susan puts lots of effort into all aspects of her B&B to make sure you have a great stay. We wish her well and hope to see her on our next visit to SA.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacemaker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

My Dad's 60th birthday bash was a spectacular success from crisis management and arranging tents at the last minute for keeping the rain away to the caterers willingness to bake bread-pudding as special order for my Dad. The venue, food and accomodation was great and everybody enjoyed themselves fully.
The parking space is somewhat limited so rather drive in groups than in seperate cars for groups larger than 30. Not for a party till early morning hours, you will have to keep it a quiet one after midnight as the music and noise needs to be down by then.
Thanks Susan for a great success!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SapphiraCalista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

It is extremely difficult to feel at ease when you are staying over while on a business trip and even more difficult to find accommodation where you have no traffic to work in the Johannesburg area especially where our factory is situated. We were also only 10 minutes from the factory. Susan made you feel so at home like we were all part of the family. We enjoyed a wonderful supper after an exhausting day and a lovely sociable evening. The experience was something totally different to the usual and most enjoyable. Thanks Susan and I certainly will see you again when staying over on a visit to Johannesburg. It was awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotherGreytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

I did not know what to expect when I went there. It was small, quiet and relaxing. The welcome was very friendly. The hospitality and service was execelent. To have breakfast outside in a secluded boma was wonderful. The meals were very well made by the hands of the owner herself. The nicest part was waking up early and looking over a field with the mist hover over and the horses and the goats gently grazing inthe field.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alsqared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

What a wonderful stay! Susan is always available to help or just say hello. The rooms are beautiful and cosy, a nice place to stay to relax and unwind!
Thanks Susan for a wonderful weekend. May God bless you and your family.

Jaco and Heidi
goggas1@live.co.za

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goggas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

We were exhausted after all the stress and preperation of our wedding, and we wanted to just break away from everyone and everything for the night. At our arrival at African Sillouette we were greeted (late that night) with a big warm welcome hug. Even at night we already experienced what we came for, peace, quiet and tranquility. The room was absolutely fantastic. Everything we could think of to relax and more. The best best part was sleeping on the cloud. For one night we were not even awaken by anything and had a tremendously good sleep. In the morning the birds and fresh air contributed to our relaxation, not even to talk about the friendly welcome and goooooood breakfast we had. Susan's goal with African Sillouette is pease, relaxation and tranquility and if that is what you are looking for even for one night out, that's the place to be. We plan to go back their every anniversary for the night.

Thanks Susan, we love you!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cableman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benoni hotels
5.8 mi away
Summer Garden Guest House
7.4 mi away
Outlook Lodge Lakefield
5.4 mi away
Sleep Eezy B&B
Sleep Eezy B&B
#3 of 38 in Benoni
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ancient Windmill Guesthouse and Conference Venue
0.0 mi away
Flamingo's Nest Guest House & Conference Centre
7.6 mi away
Africa Paradise - Airport Guest Lodge and Travel Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Silhouette Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Silhouette Guesthouse

Address: 119 Karee Avenue | Marister, Benoni 1623, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range: $63 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secure Area, surrounded by electric fence. Country in the city - guinea fowls, Egyptian geese, variety of birds attracted to the dam that is on the property. Reading rooms created by plants in the garden, rock pool for swimming, horses on site. A guesthouse with a warm, friendly and peaceful atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of the city, only minutes from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your African Silhouette Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Silhouette Guesthouse Benoni, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing