We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
African Silhouette Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 36 Benoni B&B and Inns
1 review
“Simply The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

What a lovely place and a warm home this place is. I enjoyed every moment here. Susan you are a blessing and thank you very much for making me feel at home. I will come back again! This is indeed home away from home.
Much Love.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Oniccah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
african_silhouette_9, Owner at African Silhouette Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Whenever I see your name on my phone I already know I will see you soon - Thank you for searching and finding your home in Gauteng. Know it is Your hearts that keep our doors open and you are ALWAYS welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The guesthouse epitomises a picturesque, quaint, serene escape where one simply forgets the busy life, does some introspection and gets lost in isolation. The owner, Susan is very hospitable and went out of her way to ensure that her guests were well catered for. One can't help but feel that the meals are prepared with love. I would definitely recommend this to those who seek uninterrupted time away.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a beautifull peace of gem in the middle of Benoni. The staff and owners is amazing, and always makes you feel most welcomed. We booked in last minute, just before I was about to give birth to our daugter. I just had this gut feeling that she was going to be born the next day. So I phoned Susan and asked if she has a room for us, seeing that she was close to the hospital where we were suppose to go for the birth. We stayed the night, and the next day our beautifull little girl was born :) Susan was so helpfull, and opened up and helped out during the night when I felt I had to leave for the hospital.
She goes out of her way for you, and help as far as she can.
The guesthouse is so peacefull, really a piece of heaven.
Rooms are stunning, aswell as the gardens.
Thank you for a trully amazing experience, which will never be forgotten :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antoinette k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having stayed twice at African Silhouette Guest house in the last 6 months. I found it to be a peaceful tranquil hide away within easy reach of shopping centres, movies houses and restaurants. The owner Susan went out of her way to make sure my stay was like a holiday even though I was on a business trip. I would highly recommend this gem of a place to anyone looking for a place close to Johannesburg for business or holiday.Loved the breakfast and dinner in the boma.
Kind regards
Jacques Bouvy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ermelo, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We really like African Silhouette Guesthouse. The owner, Susan, is a super woman with a really kind attitude. She is there a lot, and is really attentive to everybody; the rooms are always serviced nicely, everything is really clean, and breakfast is always nice. For Mothers day we even had breakfast in bed after a long and cold night coming from the Bon Jovi Show 2013. African Silhouette Guesthouse has a really nice interior design, and it really is cozy! It's a fun atmosphere, and I highly recommend you stay there. Thank you so much, Susan, for a great, affordable stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annerien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I'm a frequent visitor to gauteng from mpumalanga, ASG is my first choice when it comes to friendly, clean and secure accommodation. They very well located close to all major business hubs. Great food and excellent, friendly service is not optional it comes free with every visit. I recommend African Silhouette Guest house any day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klaasdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our stay at African Silhouette Guesthouse was very peaceful and enjoyable. The rooms and various rest areas were comfortable with very little interference from un-natural noises. The owner Susan is extremely helpful and very willing to accommodate any of our requests. The food was served either in the dining area or in our room. Alot of effort was made to please. Thank you very much was very pleasant.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be very much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pjbeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benoni
1.7 mi away
Blue Mango Lodge
Blue Mango Lodge
#1 of 62 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
5.8 mi away
Summer Garden Guest House
3.1 mi away
Malandela Guest Manor
Malandela Guest Manor
#39 of 289 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
MoAfrika Lodge
MoAfrika Lodge
#8 of 36 in Benoni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lakeview Boutique Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Silhouette Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Silhouette Guesthouse

Property: African Silhouette Guesthouse
Address: 119 Karee Avenue | Marister, Benoni 1623, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secure Area, surrounded by electric fence. Country in the city - guinea fowls, Egyptian geese, variety of birds attracted to the dam that is on the property. Reading rooms created by plants in the garden, rock pool for swimming, horses on site. A guesthouse with a warm, friendly and peaceful atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of the city, only minutes from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your African Silhouette Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Silhouette Guesthouse Benoni, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing