We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“African Silhouette"our little piece of heaven"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
African Silhouette Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 36 Benoni B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“African Silhouette"our little piece of heaven"”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place is so amazing!!!! , we felt so welcome and it was the perfect spot for my husband and i to celebrate out anniversary.....Susan you really went all out the romantic picnic , the wonderfull food and the outside shower was just heavenly .


thank you very much .... we'll be back soon .
Martin and Fiola Diedericks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2011

the place was out of this world that we would go back anytime given another opportunity, however it would be great to have mats on the floor during winter, our host was super fabulous, the enviroment was wooow, the food was mouth watering,

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olu49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Thank you Susan for a memorable stay at African Silhouette. Your genuine kindness and hospitality surpasses the norms within the industry. Wonderful, tranquil surroundings and comfortable lodgings - what more can one ask for? Jean du Plessis, Cape Town

Room Tip: Unwind here first !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We are a young professional British couple and booked with the African Silhouette on the basis of great recommendations on tripadvisor. Overall our stay was a pleasant one. Susan, the owner, was friendly and welcoming and stayed up late to check us in after our delayed flight. The beds were particularly comfy too. We did find the reviews to be overrated though and perhaps reflective of a generally older clientele at the guest house. The location feels safe but car hire is essential if you want to see Johannesburg and the surrounding area at all. Breakfast is good for meat-eaters, but was sadly disappointing for me as noone picked up on my vegetarian request in the relevant section of the check in form. We were in a trial room in the house Susan's family live in and noise was somewhat of a problem- mostly as Susan's children got ready for school and when sprinklers were turned on outside the room. The plumbing in the bathroom was also poor and the toilet didn't flush properly. On our last day someone also walked into our room without knocking to find us in bed- hardly ideal! To avoid some of these problems we would recommend not staying in the Garden Room, and instead requesting a room in the more private outbuilding. Outdoor showers in our own secluded private garden area were a particularly nice touch, though an indoor alternative would have been appreciated during the bitterly cold winter days of our stay. Overall a pleasant stay but not worth the rave reviews and be aware how far outside the centre of Johannesburg the guesthouse is.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANSAS CITY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This place was amazing, and exactly what we were needing for our last night in Africa after our long 31/2 week long travels throughout Africa. This place was like a little bit of heaven here on earth- peaceful, relaxing, everything we needed to rest up. The owner was great! She not only picked us up from the airport AND dropped us back off the next day, but she also dropped us off at a local mall for a couple hours so that we could go eat lunch then picked us back up again! It was great! She was so accommodating and willing to do whatever she could to make sure we had a great stay. We chose to eat dinner there, which was also amazing and a wonderful decision! Great food, desert, coffee, and then breakfast in the morning. Feather pillows and comforter couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2010

As someone who stays in hotels over 200 nights a year, this place was hands down better than anywhere I've stayed. Susan was unbelievably accomadating. The room was spotless. The beds were extremely comfortable with a down comforter and pillows. The shower in the garden was priceless! The transportation to/from the airport was very fair and easy to set up. Nothing negative at all to say about this place. We truly enjoyed the short time we were there! We will be back to South Africa, especially Jo'burg, simply to stay here for some extended time again! It truly was a slice of heaven!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunsup7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

On visiting south Africa with my young family we happened upon this small piece of tranquility.... Susan ("Sue Sun", for us "pomies") who is the owner, manager and general great person, brought such a warm and personal touch to our stay.
The room we stayed in had a large and very comfortable double bed, & as we have 2 young boys (4 & 5), Susan gave us the option of fold away beds or a single bed to share. We took the single bed option & it worked a treat.

The room itself makes you feel as if you are in the real Africa, but with the modern twist. It has a corner bath (ample room for two) and one of the most unique showers I have ever came across. The shower is ajoined to your room with an outdoor secret garden feeling, having your early morning shower alfresco was just the tonic for the start of your day.

The grounds of the guesthouse are nothing short of idyllic, the pool is a refreshing welcome to any hot day and is fashioned in a natural way, with calming waterfall. There is a huge pond with gold fish, which kept the boys amused for hours. There is a trampoline again a great touch for the younger generation. Susan & her family have livestock in the shape of horses, rabbits, goats and problies one of the biggest yet friendliest dogs I've ever seen.

There is a purpose made enclosure for BBQ ("Brai" in S.A. language) and this is where I cooked the biggest steak I have ever seen in my days, it was nearly one whole side of a cow.

The general feeling I got from the African Silhouette Guesthouse, was that of warmth & being made welcome. Even though we have 2 young children (noisy & energetic), this did not detract from the peace and tranquility that this guest house has in abundance.

All in all, we were sorry to leave & we will definately visit again, even if we are in transit to further destinations. It gave us a welcomed break and regenerated us for further travels.

Thank you, Susan, Tony & your blessed family for a great stay. You are always in our thoughts........

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benoni hotels
5.4 mi away
Sleep Eezy B&B
Sleep Eezy B&B
#2 of 36 in Benoni
91 reviews
5.8 mi away
Summer Garden Guest House (The Palms)
0.0 mi away
Flamingo's Nest Guest House & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Lakeview Boutique Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Kopanong Hotel and Conference Centre
7.4 mi away
Outlook Lodge
Outlook Lodge
#1 of 36 in Benoni
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Silhouette Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Silhouette Guesthouse

Property: African Silhouette Guesthouse
Address: 119 Karee Avenue | Marister, Benoni 1623, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Benoni
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Benoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secure Area, surrounded by electric fence. Country in the city - guinea fowls, Egyptian geese, variety of birds attracted to the dam that is on the property. Reading rooms created by plants in the garden, rock pool for swimming, horses on site. A guesthouse with a warm, friendly and peaceful atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of the city, only minutes from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your African Silhouette Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Silhouette Guesthouse Benoni, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing