We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food, outstanding service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyo restaurant - CLOSED

Oyo restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Thai cuisine
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, outstanding service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful dinner for two, with roses on table as requested on our arrival. Superb meal, first class service - well looked after by Pretty, the Manager, and Chef (thanks for the extra portions Cookie). We will definitely be back... SOON. Great job.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miken0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value for money is forgotten as is service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

4 little prawns with bowl of rice not great and not value for money. Service very intermittent . Sweets not good

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike15954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Asian food- fair value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went with my wife for dinner . Excellent prawn toast and very good tempura prawn California roll. Salt and pepper calamari whilst fresh and excellent sauce was a touch under seasoned ( still tasty though). Our shared main of sweet and sour prawn was average... You have to purchase separate noodles or rice and the quality of prawn was poor, very small and only 8 small prawns ....I think that even though the food is good, the ingredients especially prawn choice reflects poor value for money. Overall tasty and good service but maybe I could find better value for money elsewhere....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ismail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration at Oyo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were invited to celebrate a friend's birthday at Oyo. Service was very good except for one person in our party of eight, who was being overlooked by the waiter. Forgetting his drink and not taking his dinner order. Food is excellent and fairly reasonable. Three course dinner at R250 p.p. including tip and a glass of wine each. Gas heaters in the place made it a bit stuffy at one stage. Birthday girl received a complimentary dessert with sparklers. Worth a second visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanici M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Poor management !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Went to oyo on Saturday night for dinner, 4 couples in all. Had a problem amounting to R10.50 on the bill of just short of R3000. The impact of the short payment would have meant that the waiter would have received R10.50 less on the mandatory 10% gratuity. Had it not been for the poor handling of the situation by the waiter aggravated by the arrogance of the manager I have no doubt that we would have sorted out our arithmetic ! Don't bother trying to escalate, as the owner, I am told by the manager,owns numerous restaurants and does not speak to patrons. A real pity!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liorwozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyo restaurant also viewed

Alberton, Greater Johannesburg
Alberton, Greater Johannesburg
 
Alberton, Greater Johannesburg
Alberton, Greater Johannesburg
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing