We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at Matanja”
Review of Matanja Guesthouse

Matanja Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Matanja Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 149 Bloemfontein B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
1 review
“Amazing stay at Matanja”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a lovely stay at Matanja, the service was excellent, the room was crispy clean, nicely decorated, aswell as practical, Location is easy to reach, quiet and safe environment. What I liked best was the nice, well presented and appetizing breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matanjaguesthouse, Owner at Matanja Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Melinda
Thank you so much for your time and effort to write such a posisitve review. We will be delighted to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
23
5
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sasolburg
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013


Was so tired after the days meeting and was welcomed by so much friendliness and a soft warm welcome bed. I will surly make use of it next time. Thank you.
The room was clean, the beds comfortable, a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matanjaguesthouse, Owner at Matanja Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your positve feedback Heidi. It will be a privilege for us to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vereeniging
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Extremely friendly people. Excellent facilities. Within reach of all amenities in town. It is highly recommended for an unforgettable stay in Bloemfontein. It feels like home. Rooms very cosy and warm despite cold winter nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Daneel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matanjaguesthouse, Owner at Matanja Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your time to share your experience of our guetshouse with potential customers throughout the world. You will always be most welcome @ Matanja. Regards Marian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ficksburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The service was excellent. The beds were comfortable. The place was quiet and clean. The bath water was hot. I was within 10 min from the golf course where the children had to play. We were also only 10 min from the movies.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandrah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Matanja offers great value for money and excellent hospitality. Marian is very kind and went out of her way to ensure that we were comfortable. We would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast to others.



  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The owners were really very nice and the room was lovely. There were lots of special touches and my room was pretty and crispy clean with a great homey (but luxury) feel. The owners did a lot of effort for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ayan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We recently slept over at Matanja Guest Rooms on route to the Drakensberg. The room was perfect for a nights stop over and the owners were delightful people who made us feel extremely welcome. The beds were so comfortable and the accommodation neat and comfortable. Small touches such as the rusks and home made cookies as treats in our room also made us feel very special. I would definitely recommend it to anyone driving through Bloemfontein.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
1.4 mi away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bloemfontein
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franklin View Guest House
Franklin View Guest House
#1 of 149 in Bloemfontein
292 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lemon & Lime
Lemon & Lime
#2 of 149 in Bloemfontein
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
A Cherry Lane Self Catering B&B
A Cherry Lane Self Catering B&B
#5 of 149 in Bloemfontein
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suburban
The Suburban
#4 of 149 in Bloemfontein
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marrakech Guesthouse
Marrakech Guesthouse
#9 of 149 in Bloemfontein
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matanja Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matanja Guesthouse

Property: Matanja Guesthouse
Address: 74 A Albrecht Street | Dan Pienaar, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matanja Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An owner-run establishment with a rustic ambience.Be assured of excellent service, hospitality and personal attention. We offer our guests 4 stylish, modern, en-suite rooms each with a private entrance. The rooms are designed for your comfort and equipped with the finest ammenities, dstv, bar fridge, microwave, fine linen and feather duvets. We are ideally located in the north of Bloemfontein and close to various schools,, hospitals, shopping malls, the Free state Rugby stadium and Oliewenhuis art museum. Matanja offers you value for money. Re-lax - Re-vive - Re-visit!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Matanja Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing