We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel shocked me as it is an exact replica of Protea Hotel Nelspruit! Perhaps there was a buy one design get one free deal!

Anyway the reception staff was great (Dallas and Puseletso). Sadly attention to detail must be reinforced as I was booked into a paraplegic room and only after the thoughtful porter said he though i should see the bathroom before I unpack did we realize this. I then had to shlep all the way back to reception and get the correct room, view of the CAR PARK but functional. The breakfast was standard with an egg station too. Bloemfontein Taxis drove me all around wherever I needed to go as well!

Food wise everyone ranted and raved about New York Restaurant when I arrived it was clearly on a bad day. I sat down, was the only one is the restaurant at that time, the waiter brought me Rose instead of Riesling which i had to correct. GET IT RIGHT THE FIRST TIME! Then I told the waitress to tel lthe waiter to tell the chef to surprise me with a main. Well surprise he did, horribly average fish, rice, chips and veg and for the first time in my life ate CHEWY fish??!!! So much for that then. A huge disappointment. I then went to Avanti at the "waterfront" for dinner and was blown away by the service, attention to detail and care by all. A much better deal and at half the price of New York!

Room Tip: Not facing or near the car park!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannesburgTian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 125 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. Like the enthusiasm of the Manageress to serve, so is the staff. You feel as though you are at home. My son and daughter in law were booked in and both are vegetarian. In their words "we did not see so many veg dishes before". Because they only arrived at 3h00 they were allowed a late check out. the hotel is well situated and offers all the comforts that a traveller may require. Especially notable is the praiseworthy staff service and the Manager's commitment to guest satisfaction

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Easygoing282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed a night on business here. Rooms are large and clean. Bed is comfortable with good linen.

Breakfast is good with a wide variety and staff are helpful and friendly. Just the things you need when on business.

Hotel is located on main road and within walking distance of Mimosa Mall. Also directly opposite main entrance to Univerity of Free State.

There are several hotels in the area, so price wise the hotel is slightly above average, though by not much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This hotel is great for a business trip. The hotel is in walking distance from our office in Bloemfontein, so very conveniently located and easy to find. The service at the hotel is fantastic; my room was very clean, a good size and comfortable and the food of good quality. I had a very enjoyable stay, mostly beacuse of the fantastic service of the hotel staff. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Bloemfontein!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the pool
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VonniCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Protea Hotels are always a safe bet and the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein is no exception. Immaculately clean, crisp linen, good food. We had a family unit (2 x double beds) - enough space for 2 x adults and 2 x young children. Will always consider any Protea Hotel for a stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We only stayed here for one night ready for an early morning flight. We had fairly low expectations based on the price we had paid for the room, but were pleasantly surprised. Check-in/out was quick and efficient, complimentary drinks in reception a nice touch and a large indoor and outdoor bar and restaurant area available.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimJackieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I stay at Protea hotels frequently. I have always found that you can expect a good room and comfortable surroundings. This is certainly true of the Protea in Bloem. I have stayed here many times. The front desk staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was nicely done up with good quality bedding and a flat screen TV. The restaurant had good food. It is not a luxurious stay, but it a high quality stay for not that much money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2009Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
1.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#6 of 25 in Bloemfontein
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 25 in Bloemfontein
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#14 of 25 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
#10 of 25 in Bloemfontein
99 reviews
2.1 mi away
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
#7 of 25 in Bloemfontein
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein

Address: 202 Nelson Mandela Drive | Brandwag, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Price Range: $72 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein - A Touch of Class in the Heart of the Free State. The modern 4-Star Protea Hotel Bloemfontein is set in secure landscaped gardens and situated on Nelson Mandela Drive, in the heart of Bloemfontein's business district. After a strenuous day at the office, arrive back at the hotel and make your way to the swimming pool and terrace. Order a drink from the bar, relax and embrace this ideal setting in the City of Roses. Now that the scene has been set, enjoy a magnificent evening in the Amoretta Restaurant before turning in for the night to one of our luxurious bedrooms, offering crisp linen and separate bathroom and shower. Sleep in and take advantage of the easy access to national roads, the CBD, University of Bloemfontein and close proximity to the airport. The Protea Hotel Bloemfontein is an ideal venue for the overnight traveller and corporate executive alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing