We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
Nearby Hotels
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anta Boga Hotel(Bloemfontein)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hobbit Boutique Hotel(Bloemfontein)
$70
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$45
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
College Lodge(Bloemfontein)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
29
44
17
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
44
17
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswithin walking distanceroom was clean and comfortablevalue for moneymimosa mallcape townpool areawi fibusiness tripexcellent servicegymreceptionbloemstoproseslodgevehiclebedding
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 102 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The most professional service received from the General Manager, Stephan Pieterse, the frienliest barma, Joseph and what an awesome experience from the chef, Josephine...Your are all true ambassadors for the Lodge group!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilpret007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thanks for your review - we are glad that you had such a pleasant experience at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Although the hotel claims to cater for businessmen, it is the complete opposite. Firstly wifi is 15 minutes!

Secondly the so-called buffet breakfast is a rip-off. It is not a buffet, instead it is like school, where there is a lady who fries your egg, asks you what you want (eg sausage, bacon etc) and serves you. You wait in a long queue. Total waste of money and there are better choices directly opposite this hotel.

Thirdly, dinner is hopeless and they sugegst you order from Mr Delivery.

A worn out, cheapo hotel possing as a high quality facility!

Should never be considered as 3 star!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Umo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Thank you for staying with us - we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Watch this space for improvements to our wifi offering!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Travelling from KZN to George this hotel was ideal for an overnight stay. We got a friendly and efficient welcome and the prices were very good value. Clean beds and bathrooms. Tv and furniture a little outdated but overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAZEL-HILLTOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thanks for staying with us - hope to see you again on your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel that was used for accommodation for a conference held at the University of the Free State. The rooms were not available when we arrived (which is understandable) but there were no alternatives offered to the people. In other places, we could al least used the lobby or a small conference room or the launch while we waited but here the people who arrived early had to sit in their cars or went to the conference venue where they were accommodated. There is only a screen (that can open and close) between the bedroom and the bathroom. We had 15 minutes of free internet usage per day. Very limited tv channels available. The aircon was not working when we arrived in the room at 5pm, it was ice cold, in the middle of the winter in Bloemfontein. We had to call someone to fix the aircon both days – could not get it working ourselves. And the second day, the key to our room was not working and had to be replaced. The breakfast on the first day was average and on the second day, we did not have any due to a large group that occupied the whole dining room with no space to move. We were very disappointed with this hotel that was used for accommodation for a conference held at the University of the Free State. The rooms were not available when we arrived (which is understandable) but there were no alternatives offered to the people. In other places, we could al least used the lobby or a small conference room or the launch while we waited but here the people who arrived early had to sit in their cars or went to the conference venue where they were accommodated. There is only a screen (that can open and close) between the bedroom and the bathroom. We had 15 minutes of free internet usage per day. Very limited tv channels available. The aircon was not working when we arrived in the room at 5pm, it was ice cold, in the middle of the winter in Bloemfontein. We had to call someone to fix the aircon both days – could not get it working ourselves. And the second day, the key to our room was not working and had to be replaced. The breakfast on the first day was average and on the second day, we did not have any due to a large group that occupied the whole dining room with no space to move.

Room Tip: do not get booked into the 'underground' rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your review - we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will definitely look into the points that you made.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad hotel, but desperately in need of a face lift. This place is not cheap, and I find the rates expensive for what you get. No supper is served, no room service, old rooms with dated look. There are other options in Bloem, and this place would not be my first choice.....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for your comments - we will certainly bear them in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews