We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thorughly enjoyable stay at the Tsogo Sun Bloemfontein”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Thorughly enjoyable stay at the Tsogo Sun Bloemfontein”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

All our expectations were exceeded at the Tsogo Sun Bloemfontein. Excellent service from staff, comfortable and tastefully furnished accommodation and the finest cuisine at the both the hotel's adjacent restaurant and its breakfast dining venue. Our thanks to the staff for a memorable stay, Anton and Alida Casteleijn.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Anton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi Anton C

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback.

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    106
    62
    15
    11
See reviews for
123
35
11
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Travelling from Venda to Cape Town makes this particular hotel an excellent half way stop for me regardless of the time i check in from time to time. Sometimes I am in Bloem for business or a vacation and this hotel for me remains the best spot for one to have a good peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Zikie Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Zikie Aaron M

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback.

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Good rate, great breakfast, excellent people. The rooms are clean, the service was very good. The breakfast was a great selection, my children love the flapjacks with cream and honey. The pool is in excellent condition. Thank you very much Garden Court.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Konrad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Konrad W

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback.

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pringle Bay, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We travel a lot and stay in many hotels all over the world.. The Tsogo Sun Bloemfontein is one of the best we had the privilege to stayed in. The staff at this hotel are wonderful. They all spoke or tried to speak Afrikaans to us and made us feel very welcome. At the reception desk a man by name Geluk was a star.We requested a quiet room and he certainly made an effort to get us one. Service was great and breakfast world class. Well kept garden are a delight.
King room could do with more furniture. Only one comfortable chair and a lot of open space.. Quality of the bed and cleanliness was good.. We will stay at Sun Bloemfontein again if we have a chance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank EbenCloete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Eben

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback. I am pleased to hear that Geluk looked after you so well.

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Rooms appeared dull and uninviting, There was no bar fridge in room.Outside doors were difficult to open, needed a shove to open and had to slam it shut.Supper at the hotel restaurant was disappointing, kitchen staff should be very careful regarding cleanliness and hygiene.Manager was apologetic and gave bill minus the said dish also offered another dish but my apetite had left me.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank kathy_arumugam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

We also appreciate that you took the time to speak to the Exec Chef who has already passed on your comments about dinner to the owner of the restaurant that you ate at during your stay with us.

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

When you are on the road us much as we are as performing artists, there is nothing better then a warm clean bed with friendly staff to greet you at the door.
Southern Sun Bloemfontein has it all. amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank AlanFPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welkom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We enjoy the convenient link with the Mimosa shopping mall that offers various shopping options, movies and many restaurants . Secure parking and friendly staff who go to extra trouble to assist you will make us return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Michelle M

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
0.2 mi away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bloemfontein
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#6 of 23 in Bloemfontein
92 reviews
5.9 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#13 of 23 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Hobbit Boutique Hotel
#7 of 23 in Bloemfontein
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Bloemfontein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Bloemfontein

Property: Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Address: Cnr. Nelson Mandela and Melville Drive | Brandwag, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Bloemfontein 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Southern Sun Hotel offers the same level of comfort and service excellence that you have come to expect from the group and is situated in the perfect location to enjoy all of Bloemfontein’s attractions. The Cape Dutch architecture is in-keeping with the town and offers a unique take on conventional hotels. Designed with relaxation and convenience in mind, the hotel offers a home away from home with the added benefit of excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Southern Sun Bloemfontein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing