We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We travel a lot and stay in many hotels all over the world.. The Tsogo Sun Bloemfontein is one of the best we had the privilege to stayed in. The staff at this hotel are wonderful. They all spoke or tried to speak Afrikaans to us and made us feel very welcome. At the reception desk a man by name Geluk was a star.We requested a quiet room and he certainly made an effort to get us one. Service was great and breakfast world class. Well kept garden are a delight.
King room could do with more furniture. Only one comfortable chair and a lot of open space.. Quality of the bed and cleanliness was good.. We will stay at Sun Bloemfontein again if we have a chance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank EbenCloete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hi Eben

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback. I am pleased to hear that Geluk looked after you so well.

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 460 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Rooms appeared dull and uninviting, There was no bar fridge in room.Outside doors were difficult to open, needed a shove to open and had to slam it shut.Supper at the hotel restaurant was disappointing, kitchen staff should be very careful regarding cleanliness and hygiene.Manager was apologetic and gave bill minus the said dish also offered another dish but my apetite had left me.


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank kathy_arumugam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

We also appreciate that you took the time to speak to the Exec Chef who has already passed on your comments about dinner to the owner of the restaurant that you ate at during your stay with us.

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

When you are on the road us much as we are as performing artists, there is nothing better then a warm clean bed with friendly staff to greet you at the door.
Southern Sun Bloemfontein has it all. amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank AlanFPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We enjoy the convenient link with the Mimosa shopping mall that offers various shopping options, movies and many restaurants . Secure parking and friendly staff who go to extra trouble to assist you will make us return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hi Michelle M

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Cupboard door handle in Room 219 was broken. I would like to see the Gym Room fitted with more equipment. Although the air-conditioner was working well, the motor or fan was making a big noise. I could therefore not keep it on for a longer period.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Gerhard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hi Gerhard V

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback. We have passed your feedback on to the Maintenance Manager to look into

We are pleased to see that you had a enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great value for money. I will stay there in future and recommend it to my family and friends. The rooms are clean, the food served at the breakfast and dinner were very good. Other hotels must learn from Bloemfontein how to deal with their customers

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Johannes Willem V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The service that i got from the staff was very good and i did enjoy my stay in your hotel.i wount mind inviting other friends of mine to visit the hotel.i also like the link betwwen the hotel and Mimosa it was very easy for us to get fast food and enjoy the intertaiment from within thehotelo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Benedict K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifford C, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hi Benedict K

Thank you for taking the time to write your review with regards to your stay with us.

It is always appreciated when guests provide us with their feedback

We are pleased to see that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the City of Roses

Kind Regards
Clifford Campbell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
0.3 mi away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 25 in Bloemfontein
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#4 of 25 in Bloemfontein
99 reviews
2.4 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#10 of 25 in Bloemfontein
22 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aha Bloemfontein Hotel
Aha Bloemfontein Hotel
#14 of 25 in Bloemfontein
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Bloemfontein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Bloemfontein

Address: Cnr. Nelson Mandela and Melville Drive | Brandwag, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Price Range: $111 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Bloemfontein 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Southern Sun Hotel offers the same level of comfort and service excellence that you have come to expect from the group and is situated in the perfect location to enjoy all of Bloemfontein’s attractions. The Cape Dutch architecture is in-keeping with the town and offers a unique take on conventional hotels. Designed with relaxation and convenience in mind, the hotel offers a home away from home with the added benefit of excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Southern Sun Bloemfontein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing