We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite home from home in Bloem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“My favourite home from home in Bloem.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I can't recall ever having spent time in Bloemfontein on holiday. But even though I'm there on business, this hotel takes my stress away. With all of the rooms (two levels only) built around the swimming pool, and within manicured gardens, I can't help finding a relaxing spot at the end of the day. Awesome king-size beds in standard room! Bathrooms could do with a revamp but they are absolutely spotless. Lovely pub too. Easy access to business centre and adjoining the best shopping mall (Mimosa) in Bloem.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland D, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Gogo6gogo
Thank you for the positive words, it is always appreciated when guests recognise us and our efforts to create great experiences.
We hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Roland Diener
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    108
    62
    15
    11
See reviews for
125
35
11
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I, with our 3-yr old granddaughter stayed for one night during our trip to Cape Town.

This was one of the most pleasant experiences we ever had with hotel accommodation. The staff was amazing, even with our granddaughter. No request was too much trouble.

The food in the adjacent restaurant was the best in a very very long time we had in a restaurant. Well presented, good service and good value for money.

The room was crisp clean, and so the bachroom.

Our stay was during the same period as the stay of the Proteas and Pakistanis stay, and not one bit did we feel neglegted, but indeed just as special.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roland D, General Manager at Southern Sun Bloemfontein, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Carol

It is rewarding to read such positive words about our guests experience, and we can only hope to welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Roland Diener
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent one night at the hotel and had previously stayed there; the room was pleasant and comfortable while the bathroom was clean.
The odd thing is that there were no lifts to take me up the floors above ground and I pitied those who were carrying huge luggage!
The bathroom still has a shower in the bath tub????

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had stayed here before and it was a much better stay than this time. First the check in was quite slow (and I was the only guest at the reception), internet was inexistent, not even in the lobby and room needs an Urgent refirnishing, specially the bathroom. Some of the watertaps didn't work.....thats is impossible to believe in a hotel of this standard. Breakfast has also,gone down quite a lot....not even a orange juice (basic) was available. On the positive part, the excellent service of the staff, secially at the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stopped for one night on our way back from Durban to Cape Town. Will come back for sure. Staff friendly, room fantastic, atmosphere perfect, closed to the Mall (you basically walk from Hotel into the Mall!). Pool area fantastic!!!!!!

We could not stay for breakfast, but like Southern Sun, they never let you down. I got a breakfast bag for everyone in my family for the road trip! Now that's why Southern Sun wherever in Africa, is my preferred home away from home.

Keep it up!!

Room Tip: Facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The standard of the hotel is on the low average. The first room we were checked in had old, rugged dirty carpets and the shower was inside a bath tub. I asked to be moved and the second room was much better with a proper shower and clean carpets. The furnishings are quite old /old style. The TV was ok - small flat screen. The room had no airconditioning which was a problem as temperatures on the day/s were over 33 DC. Lighting in the room was poor. The beds were comfortable, linen clean - I had a pleasant and relaxing sleep. The reception and dining area staff were hospitable. Breakfast seemed ok and they had a wide variety of fruits which i enjoyed. The hotel could do with renovations and upgrading of the rooms and fittings!

Room Tip: Ask to be moved if you are not happy with the room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dumisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Was in Bloemfontein to watch my son's sports tour. The hotel is central, safe and pleasant. Rooms were absolutely fine and standard and all ground floor rooms have access onto the lawn and pool area. The hotel is almost circular shape around the large lawn and swimming pool area. I don't think though that I would like to be on the third floor on the opposite end to the reception - quite a walk. We were on the ground floor not far from reception and the restuarant which was good. The hotel is also linked via a secured and exclusive walkway to the very nice Mimosa shopping mall which make things more convenient. Easy access from the hotel to schools, sports stadia and the university. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Try secure a ground floor non smoking room not too far from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbn_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
0.2 mi away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 24 in Bloemfontein
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#6 of 24 in Bloemfontein
92 reviews
1.6 mi away
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
#10 of 24 in Bloemfontein
68 reviews
5.9 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#13 of 24 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Bloemfontein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Bloemfontein

Property: Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Address: Cnr. Nelson Mandela and Melville Drive | Brandwag, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Bloemfontein 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Southern Sun Hotel offers the same level of comfort and service excellence that you have come to expect from the group and is situated in the perfect location to enjoy all of Bloemfontein’s attractions. The Cape Dutch architecture is in-keeping with the town and offers a unique take on conventional hotels. Designed with relaxation and convenience in mind, the hotel offers a home away from home with the added benefit of excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Southern Sun Bloemfontein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing