We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Gem in the town "”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Gem in the town "”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stopped for one night on our way back from Durban to Cape Town. Will come back for sure. Staff friendly, room fantastic, atmosphere perfect, closed to the Mall (you basically walk from Hotel into the Mall!). Pool area fantastic!!!!!!

We could not stay for breakfast, but like Southern Sun, they never let you down. I got a breakfast bag for everyone in my family for the road trip! Now that's why Southern Sun wherever in Africa, is my preferred home away from home.

Keep it up!!

Room Tip: Facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    108
    62
    15
    11
See reviews for
125
35
11
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The standard of the hotel is on the low average. The first room we were checked in had old, rugged dirty carpets and the shower was inside a bath tub. I asked to be moved and the second room was much better with a proper shower and clean carpets. The furnishings are quite old /old style. The TV was ok - small flat screen. The room had no airconditioning which was a problem as temperatures on the day/s were over 33 DC. Lighting in the room was poor. The beds were comfortable, linen clean - I had a pleasant and relaxing sleep. The reception and dining area staff were hospitable. Breakfast seemed ok and they had a wide variety of fruits which i enjoyed. The hotel could do with renovations and upgrading of the rooms and fittings!

Room Tip: Ask to be moved if you are not happy with the room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dumisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Was in Bloemfontein to watch my son's sports tour. The hotel is central, safe and pleasant. Rooms were absolutely fine and standard and all ground floor rooms have access onto the lawn and pool area. The hotel is almost circular shape around the large lawn and swimming pool area. I don't think though that I would like to be on the third floor on the opposite end to the reception - quite a walk. We were on the ground floor not far from reception and the restuarant which was good. The hotel is also linked via a secured and exclusive walkway to the very nice Mimosa shopping mall which make things more convenient. Easy access from the hotel to schools, sports stadia and the university. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Try secure a ground floor non smoking room not too far from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbn_Trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Arrived in unseasonably cold weather, it even snowed on the single night I stayed. Unusual circular layout of hotel with all rooms enjoying a central window or balcony overlooking garden and pool area, bet this pleasant in summer. This does make it a fair walk to rooms as corridor is on the outside but not a problem. Room was spacious and functional. Enjoyed a good steak in attached restaurant although service was a bit slow as is common in SA. Restaurant ambience and style good for a calm business dinner. Wine choices good, just had to ask for red to be put on a radiator as was too cold, probably due to eceptional ambient temperature. Had an early checkout and breakfast was very good and swift at 6.30am.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crabtreeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is average and ok for business travel as I was out most of the day. The rooms are neat and clean. The draw backs are: that the tv is old and the visual quality poor; the aircon was also old and noisy and there is no lift in the hotel, you need to carry your bags up and down plenty of stairs and the breakfast area is very small, when it gets busy there aren't enough tables for the guests.

The reception staff weren't very friendly and as I am a frequent guest member this was dissapointing. They dont seem to care that you are a frequent guest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingDutches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed in a standard room close to reception, rooms was clean but “old school”. Decent in size and well equipped, the only downside was the old television set. Sleep comfort was great, good quality linen and extra bedding located in the cupboard. Air-conditioning was also old school and noisy, it was a cold night so I never used it.

Reception staff were not friendly at check in, in fact it seems like I was disturbing their Sunday afternoon by checking in late. At check out staff did not know their own processes with regards to payment and this lead to some delays.

My room opened up onto a patio and overlooked the pool area, nice!

Bathroom was clean and big but also old, shower was located in the bath tub and the quality of toiletries was inferior (it’s a good thing I carry my own)

Room service menu was great and food quality was of an average standard. The breakfast buffet had a wide spread although I only had some cereal. I had a lunch box packed for the next day, a great service but pathetic quality of food – one of the worst sandwiches ever!

To sum up, hotel was great for one night and one does not have many options for Bloem. I must admit, in my opinion the hotel is leaning towards a three star rather than four

Room Tip: Get a room close to the entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kovilan_Naidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The hotel is old and in desperate need of a revamp. I would not recommend staying at this hotel, the rooms are old, carpets are very dirty and bathrooms do not feel clean. The hotel is very expensive for what you get. Breakfast is good, but for the rest I would rather not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenaChristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
0.2 mi away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 24 in Bloemfontein
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#6 of 24 in Bloemfontein
92 reviews
1.6 mi away
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
#10 of 24 in Bloemfontein
68 reviews
5.9 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#13 of 24 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Bloemfontein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Bloemfontein

Property: Southern Sun Bloemfontein
Address: Cnr. Nelson Mandela and Melville Drive | Brandwag, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Bloemfontein 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Southern Sun Hotel offers the same level of comfort and service excellence that you have come to expect from the group and is situated in the perfect location to enjoy all of Bloemfontein’s attractions. The Cape Dutch architecture is in-keeping with the town and offers a unique take on conventional hotels. Designed with relaxation and convenience in mind, the hotel offers a home away from home with the added benefit of excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Southern Sun Bloemfontein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing