We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Rest Just off the N1 Highway!”
Review of Windmill Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bloemfontein
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windmill Lodge
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Place to Rest Just off the N1 Highway!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed here twice during January 2014.The hotel location is good.The rooms are lovely. Staff friendly. Breakfast nice. Try their home-made bread, its delicious. The only dissappointment-during the first visit I stayed in a suite and was told at check out I had consumed a can of cold drink (from the mini bar) which I had not. One of the staff might have stolen it. All-in-all the establishment is good. I will give it a 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dezign99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
12
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Booked in at this hotel overnight on our trip to Johannesburg. we arrived just before midnight but the reception staff were very accomodating. The room was nicely furnished, clean and neat. The bed was comfortable therefore we were able to get a good nights sleep. Obviously, because of the time the restruarants in the complex were all closed but the hotel did offer room service. Alternatively you could eat in the bar inside the casino. Not much else to do there but very conviently located just off the N1. would recommend it to sleep over

Room Tip: We had a garden facing room and the view was stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allisonh92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was my second time staying at this hotel. I stayed here previously two years ago, and had a good impression of it then. This time around it looked a little more worn, and very meh. I agree with the previous reviewer with regards to the room's light switch! It took us a few minutes to realize that the bedside lamps were the room's only source of light.

There was a huge pink stain on the carpet, that looked like spilt juice or drink. Otherwise the room was fine. The pull out sleeper couch was very handy. In the evening, we had to ask reception to send someone to make up the sleeper bed (there were no extra pillows or blankets), and they forgot about us. When a lady finally appeared (after a second call to reception) she didn't have any extra pillows. Apparently the hotel was filled to capacity.

The pool was lovely, a pleasant temperature and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Sadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I was travelling from johannesburg to cape town, and literally needed a place to sleep. The hotel is situated right next to the N1 making it very convenient. At R1000 per night i however expected a bit more. The light in the room does not make sense-one cannot turn on the bedroom light from the front door, and therefore need to venture into a dark cave to get light. Also, the shower is very dark. The body lotion bottle was also half empty, never a good sign. The rest was pretty much average, nothing really to justify these kind of prices. The staff i must admit was super friendly, from the doorman to the reception. Great location to stay, but desperately in need of some form of revamp.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank robert2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel was quite average, nothing special about the rooms or service.
It was clean and neat. The Casino was a bit underwhelming, not much there to do or anywhere to eat but Spur. The rooms were nice and spacious, and comfortable.
And the bar was very dead, and closed very early.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LanaChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

First of all we have stayed in alot of hotels all over the world, so I always compare. Well done Windmill!!!!! You can hold your head up high. From the moment we go there we treated like gold! The rooms were Very clean, the beds comfy the service outstanding!!!!! helpfull helpfull helpfull!! Thank you for making me proud, we travel alot and WILL be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vannabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated about 15km from the City Centre, in a Casino complex. This could be a problem for some guests.
The rooms etc were good sized with bath and shower. There are a variety of restaurants within the complex, and the two we ate at we're good.( Japanese and Indian)
The hotel has a nice swimming pool and outdoor bar area.
Breakfast is included in the room rate and is very good, especially the yogurts and fresh fruit.
Overall a very nice hotel and recommended, especially for travellers, as it is close to the N1 Johanesberg to Cape highway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
4.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
4.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#6 of 24 in Bloemfontein
92 reviews
4.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
#10 of 24 in Bloemfontein
69 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stanville Hotel
Stanville Hotel
#19 of 24 in Bloemfontein
19 reviews
8.6 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#15 of 24 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Lodge

Property: Windmill Lodge
Address: Corner Jan Pierewiet Avenue and N1 Highway | Pellissier, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 80

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing