We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emoya - Basotho Village”
Review of Emoya Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emoya Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Emoya - Basotho Village”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

For my Mother-in-Laws 60th Birthday we booked her into the Emoya Hotel and Spa for the weekend. THere are two main accommodation centrs available - we stayed at the Basotho Village. The rooms were beautifully prepared, spotlessly clean and well prepared. Over the course of the weekend we as a family also went on a guided safari through the reserve, which boasts Rhino and many other antelope specis, my Mother-in-Law went to the Spa while my wife and I enjoyed lunch at the Haunted House which is on the premises... The weekend was wonderful and was enjoyed by all including my 3 year old daughter.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Basotho Village which is more upmarket than the Shanty Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schermanjeanpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
22
11
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WR
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I'm always curios to experience other cultures. So when the opportunity arose to book for a meeting, I chose the advert.....Emoya Basotho Village. The first impression was not all over good, but it turned out to be a wonderful tranquil stay that takes you back many years deep in the African bush. Experience a rural sunset; wildlife start gazing around you; making a fire too cure the cold and then take a warm relaxing bath.

For the more experienced sociologist, you can even choose to sleep in the REAL shack, made from tin roof sections; decorated as the traditional African townships.

Don't miss out on Emoya when in Bloemfontein! My only critique would be he restaurant - maybe I expected too much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whydoyouneedascreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for one night for Valentines. We stayed in room 1 in the '5 star' chalets. The room itself was nice but lacking any 5 star finishes, the cementing around the bath was very sloppy and the taps on the shower & sink were a bit ropey and wobbly. The toilet flush button got stuck & the water kept running unless you lifted the lid of the cistern. The bed however was wonderfully comfortable and the view was very nice. We had the pleasure of driving out & seeing 2 rhino right next to the reception area which was quite special. The staff were all very friendly & helpful but I think that more attention to detail needs to be made in order for it to be classed as 5 star accommodation.

The Spa however was amazing, I have no complaints whatsoever. Beautiful rooms, very relaxing and very professional staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

From a top-class hotel, a world-class spa, to a great nature and township experience, is almost an understatement of the Emoya Tourism Experience. On my visit the extraodinary mix of look, feel, experiences never ceased to astound me. It is so difficult to single out the Shanty Town, a game drive or conference venues on the estate. Emoya is a must-visit for any visitor to the Mangaung Metro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The spa is fairly new and done in a combination of African and Opulent decor. The treatments were great and staff were professional. BUT the bathrobes and slippers however looked 10 years old, it is completely unacceptable for the price paid and the experience expected. Such a shame, I will not be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelling1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bloemfontein hotels

Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We went for a Sunday lunch “braai vleis”. Very informal, tables are on the lawn with umbrellas and located around a duck pond. It was a self-serve buffet, consisting out of chicken sosaties, lamb chops, boerewors, and a wide variety of salads. Poeding consists of a warm baked pudding, ice cream and chocolate mousse. Informal Sunday lunch. Will recommend the braai vleis anytime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our stay in Basotho Village was a tiring, painful affair. The air conditioning was leaking on our bed, the shower head fell on my head and lights were not working. No spoons for coffee and no clue as to how to contact reception. Our included buffet breakfast was packed up 2 hours early, but luckily we were reluctantly offered a free breakfast off the menu. The wandering wildlife provided some beautiful distraction from the weekend's frustration. Our DSTV remote was also nowhere to be found.

I consider a five star hotel to provide luxury and comfort. I left tired and annoyed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jldpsmdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emoya2014, Owner at Emoya Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We would like to thank you for your review. All airconditioners have been serviced and the faulty ones replaced. There is a new back of house management team that will ensure that non of these problems happen again. We do not accept bad service and we strive to ensure that Emoya delivers top notch service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
8.0 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#13 of 24 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Stanville Hotel
Stanville Hotel
#18 of 24 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hobbit Boutique Hotel
Hobbit Boutique Hotel
#7 of 24 in Bloemfontein
52 reviews
3.8 mi away
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
#8 of 24 in Bloemfontein
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emoya Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emoya Hotel & Spa

Property: Emoya Hotel & Spa
Address: 7 Frans Kleynhans Street, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa (Formerly Emoya Estate - Basotho Village Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Emoya Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing