We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unacceptable service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emoya Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emoya Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unacceptable service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our stay in Basotho Village was a tiring, painful affair. The air conditioning was leaking on our bed, the shower head fell on my head and lights were not working. No spoons for coffee and no clue as to how to contact reception. Our included buffet breakfast was packed up 2 hours early, but luckily we were reluctantly offered a free breakfast off the menu. The wandering wildlife provided some beautiful distraction from the weekend's frustration. Our DSTV remote was also nowhere to be found.

I consider a five star hotel to provide luxury and comfort. I left tired and annoyed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jldpsmdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emoya2014, Owner at Emoya Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
We would like to thank you for your review. All airconditioners have been serviced and the faulty ones replaced. There is a new back of house management team that will ensure that non of these problems happen again. We do not accept bad service and we strive to ensure that Emoya delivers top notch service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
11
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vryheid, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Emoya is a great concept with a unique experience and has potential to be a one of the better places to stay at in Bloemfontein. The booking was a disaster though. When I tried to confirm my first booking, no-one could find any reference to the booking, so I made the booking again. Confirming the second round, I was told that there was a problem with their computer system, so I had to do the booking again, for a third time. When I phoned a day prior to our arrival, I was told that we have already checked in the previous day! It finally occurred that someone else was also booked with our reference number. By now I should have known that our visit to Emoya was not going to be great. Because of the double booking, we were told that we had to spend one night at the Shanty Town, and could then move back to the hotel. After we have moved to the Shanty, we were told that we could move straight back. We did so as the room in Shanty Town has an outside toilet which would not be ideal. Breakfasts were ok if you went early in the morning. If you arrived much later than 7:00, there was not much left. Towels and sheets were not changed and, when we specifically requested clean towels and bedding for one bed, nothing happened for a day or two. Upon yet another request, one of the managers changed the bedding finally! For the price we paid, I felt that Emoya was not up to expectations. With better management it does have potential to be quite a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Do not even consider staying in the Shanty Town. For the price you can stay in a luxury bed and brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilsev348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emoya2014, Owner at Emoya Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your review,we have had problems with our booking system , a new system is now in place,which is working much better,we have also put a new management team in place to deal with front of house as well as back of house.We keep striving for service excellence and are commited to getting Emoya up to the great Venue that it has to be
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Enjoyed an excellent stay in a private game lodge, all rooms have a view of the game wondering past your room with no fences. You can enjoy a game drive and come really close to all the animals on the farm. Meet Attila the pot belly pig wondering around the reception, your chalet, at the restaurant or Tokelossie the Meerkat which wonders into the chalet to say hello. Stay in 5 star chalets in the village or the 3 star Shacks for a different experience. Close to various facilities on site spa, restaurant or short drive to waterfront, casino and many more. A must visit destination in Bloemfontein.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the farm with game roming freely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed in a family unit in the Basotho Village. The room is spacious, the bathroom wonderful. Under floor heating was great! Thank you Eugene, for making our stay very special and walking the extra mile regarding outings, the spa, game drives and organizing our own barbeque! One warning: you will fall in love with Atilla the pot belly that visits your room, and Tokelossie, the meerkat! The food and service at the restaurant was fantastic! The farmhouse breakfast is huge and delicious! Please try the spa.... Beautifully designed and decorated with professional staff! Thanks guys and gals for making my weekend with my kids unforgettable! Appreciate!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnelineTerblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We booked in Shanty town, in one of the "shacks" and it is very creatively done!
We were really excited about the experience of sleeping in a "shack:, except that we did not sleep!!
There was a wedding in the venue next to our shack and at 5:30 the next morning they were still playing LOUD music!!! We had not slept for the whole night. My partner went out to ask them to please turn it down now. When we checked out we demanded to speak to the manager, that was apparently not on site. We left 2 messages for 2 separate people and until today not heard a word back from them!! Totally unacceptable and a real pity!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uzzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emoya2014, Owner at Emoya Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thanx for your review,we have taken note of and can proudly say that a new function and wedding venue has just been completed which is located a long distance away from the accomadation venues, we strive to improve service and take complaints seriously
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bloemfontein hotels

Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed in one of the self-catering shanty guesthouses and enjoyed the braziers and BBQ under the stars.Staff provided all of the wood and there were shops nearby to buy provisions. We had deer walking past our front door and giraffes nearby. It was unusual and fantastic and we would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassiopeia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
3.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#5 of 22 in Bloemfontein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
8.0 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#13 of 22 in Bloemfontein
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
3.8 mi away
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
#9 of 22 in Bloemfontein
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
3.3 mi away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 22 in Bloemfontein
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emoya Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emoya Hotel & Spa

Property: Emoya Hotel & Spa
Address: 7 Frans Kleynhans Street, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa (Formerly Emoya Estate - Basotho Village Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Emoya Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing