We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contrived Game Ambience With La-Quinta Rooms”
Review of Bains Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bains Lodge
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Lodge's location is good but huge foyer is filled with stuffed game and an over-the-top masculine ambience that seems very contrived. Plus the rooms are situated in long, outdoor cement blocks that resemble military housing. This is outstandingly off-putting. Guest rooms with King-size beds are cramped and the showers are have miserly water and contain mold in the tiles.

So what is good? Perhaps the food that is plentiful and sturdy. Yet it is bland and heavy on sauces. Vegetables, besides potatoes are missing. The wait for food, even though we were the only patrons, was so long that we were ready to leave the table in disgust. The large dining room had a bar and a expansive dark room meant to resemble a Colonial pub.

We were glad to leave the Lodge after one-night. Incidentally, even though they claim to be a Game Lodge, there are no game excursions, nor certainly no game in this phony establishment. Be wise, avoid it.

Breakfast is abundant with standard English-type fare. Dinner is somewhat plain, but includes great soups and fresh, mixed greens salads. Make sure to order the excellent local beef entrees. Don't come too hungry as the wait between appetizers and entrees is quite long

Room Tip: Try to avoid the block rooms. There might be other rooms, but who knows their quality. Watch out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ougeekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Bains Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Deat valuable Guest,

Thank you for having Bains Lodge be your number one choice during your recent trip to Bloemfontein. It is our goal to completely satisfy our guests on every stay. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate parties, including the kitchen and waiting staff of the restaurants. We have changed our name to Bains Lodge, as the animals have been moved to our sister lodge. We do not want to mislead our guests in any way.

We sincerely thank you for sharing your opinions as we continue to do our best to provide you with a number one experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 231 of 231 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had an awful time here. Music from taxis right in front of our room ALL night (in spite of our complaints to security). Rooms were not serviced, filthy shower and smoking in nonsmoking rooms. Truely - do not waste your time or money here, it was just an awful experience. We complaint but nothing happened.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elsabe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Bains Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for having Bains Lodge be your number one choice during your recent trip to Bloemfontein. It is our goal to completely satisfy our guests on every stay. Your feedback has been shared with our team and we have taken the issues up with the involved parties. Maintenance have recently been undergone and our staff has been thoroughly trained. We believe that in your next visit this will be overtly seen.

We sincerely thank you for sharing your opinions as we continue to do our best to provide you with a number one experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed just one night here on our way through the area. Had expected much more of a real game lodge but the room was fine, modern and comfortable, and bathroom fully functional. Two at the front desk were very nice and obliging. Grounds were a bit bleak with gulag-style room blocks, mostly empty. Breakfast something of a traffic jam with a long line for cooked food, but nice table servers. Everything I saw was clean and maintained -- had to marvel at the stuffed giraffe in the lobby! Dinner at the onsite restaurant was fun, very friendly and taste OK.

Room Tip: ground floor room perhaps less secure? But upstairs had stairs and smoke from room below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R00catt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantelle75, Public Relations Manager at Bains Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for having Bains Lodge be your number one choice during your recent trip to Bloemfontein. It is our goal to completely satisfy our guests on every stay. Your feedback will be shared with our team if appropriate.

We sincerely thank you for sharing your opinions as we continue to do our best to provide you with a number one experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 050719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantelle75, Guest Relations Manager at Bains Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
3.5 mi away
Sangiro Lodge
Sangiro Lodge
#5 of 55 in Bloemfontein
51 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B @ Bloem
B&B @ Bloem
#99 of 160 in Bloemfontein
20 reviews
3 mi away
21 On Coetzee Guest House
21 On Coetzee Guest House
#14 of 160 in Bloemfontein
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#12 of 25 in Bloemfontein
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bains Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bains Lodge

Address: 31 Old Kimberley Road | Endon, Bloemfontein 9338, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Bloemfontein
Price Range: $31 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bains Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bains Lodge is situated on 42ha of prime land, 2km west of the Bloemfontein border, and offer a variety of accommodation options, banqueting facilities, and Restaurants, to fit each need and budget. Wi-Fi Hotspots and sufficient secured parking are available for your comfort. The Lodge removed the frills and fuss from the luxury rooms, and now gives you just what you need - basic and comfortable hotel accommodation, in the form of Bains 1, OPENING 1 JUNE at Bains Lodge. These rooms are easy on your pocket, yet efficient, being the first choice for the budget orientated traveller. Get comfortable and enjoy the convenience of these rooms, which can sleep 1 or 2 people at a basic room rate, with a shower and bath, TV with DSTV channels, clean and crisp towels, basic room amenities, and air-conditioning. Guests can still enjoy the finer things in life, by choosing our Spacious Luxury Suits, with air conditioning, a coffee station and satellite TV, each with a private bathroom, with a luxurious bath. Some also provide a four-poster bed, balcony or patio. Also COMING SOON, is Beauty Secrets AT Bains - completing the full experience we have to offer. The Salon will provide our guests and day visitors beauty treatments, in order to escape and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bains Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bains Game Hotel Bloemfontein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing