We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iffy”

Aha Bloemfontein Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aha Bloemfontein Hotel
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Hotel looked good from the outside, but the entrance was on one side of the building creating long corridors. The rooms were small but adequate. Bathroom was small but also no real complaints. Shower was big enough despite the voyeurist glass side wall. Chairs were plastic, which perhaps indicate I am not very much into the nuevo stuff. Dining area is on the entrance and exit passage, which is rather odd. Location was excellent for my business interest and also within walking distance of banks, varsity and mall. Parking was not easy due to the design of the entrance. Service was however adequate to good. The grey blinds did not work, which was a disappointment but not a game breaker

Room Tip: Try to get rooms closer to the entrance otherwise you are in for a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabeloN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 109 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

Well positioned, friendly staff, modern and uncluttered rooms at a great rate. Well recommended

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizajhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Fancy afordable business hotel with nostalgic hostel feeling. 
Very well located close to shopping centers and gym. 
Rooms are small but smartly decorated with "clear view" to the shower, which gives the impression that the room is bigger. 
As almost everywhere in South Africa, you don't come to the check out short in time. A minor extra request can turn to major time consuming issue. 
Small breakfast buffet, but gut!
I'll definitely stay there again in my next trip to Bloemfontein. 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbaleiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Business travel often requires a certain level of sophistication, then provide one with just the right amount of escapism from your normal environment, a pinch of leisure and overall relaxing atmosphere to meet an average business traveller’s needs.

Urban Hotel Bloemfontein with its very detailed design and theme as well as striking architectural features, high service standards, incredible features provides a business and leisure traveller with all the right elements that make up a “beyond expectation” experience.

Over the weekend YML visited the Bloemfontein Urban Hotel, to see what they have to offer, and this is OUR report…

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

Situated at Corner Pafitt and Henry Avenue (Entrance on Donald Marais Str) this hotel is situated at one of the BEST accommodation LOCATIONS in Bloemfontein.

Why?

Urban Hotel Bloemfontein is across a zoo – literally across the street, a walking distance to the Medi – Clinic, walking distance to 4 shopping centres, i.e. Brandwag Shopping Centre, Mimosa Mall, Loch Logan Waterfront, and the College Square. Is that shopping bells ringing? well… maybe not, but you’re gonna have to eat at some point… *Big Smile*

We have more reasons…

The Urban Hotel is within a walking distance to the University of Free State, walking distance to the Vodacom Park, Loch Logan Rose Gardens (Macufe Venue) and the Cricket Stadium. It takes 5 to 10 minutes to drive to Sand Du Plessis Theatre, and few minutes to drive to The Bloemfontein Tourism Centre. The Urban Hotel is also walking distance to Second Avenue dubbed as Bloemfontein’s Party District, although we recommend that you rather get a cab there for your safety, especially when you get back.

BACK TO THE HOTEL ITSELF

What’s IN IT for you?

The Urban Hotel Bloemfontein has 60 bedrooms, all en-suite. All rooms have LCDTV’s with a bouquet of DSTV channels, are fully air-conditioned and have Wi-Fi access. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available as well as family rooms. The contemporary interior of the hotel is especially designed to meet the needs of a business traveller.The hotel even provides facilities for people with disabilities.

The only downside to this hotel is that it doesn't have a business centre, VERY KEY to ANY establishment hoping to attract the business market. They do not provide the lunch box, should you wish to have your breakfast on the go...ESSENTIAL to business travellers with hectic schedules, but other than that... when in Bloem for business, this is a place to stay.

Your accommodation comes with full English buffet breakfast, and if you need a drink…should you need a drink after long meetings and hard work or just to unwind, feel free to stop by the first floor, and get cozy till 23h00….

The Urban Hotel works with several restaurants should you want to arrange something delivered to you, one of them being the stylish AVANTI (review coming soon), Jimmy’s Killer Prawns, Spur and John Dorys…but we DID mention that you can LITERALLY walk to 4 malls from the hotel.

The Urban Hotel has good security so your car is safe. The service is excellent… or maybe Alicia and Dwayne were extra nice to us…But we have a suspicion that the service we got is pretty standard throughout the operations of the hotel, because even house-keeping was VERY efficient.

In April we’ll be featuring the hotel management and staff… be prepared to be blown away by some little truths regarding the origins and management of the hotel, some inspirational material, keep watching this space.

THERE’S MORE…

The Urban Hotel recently won the “Top Architectural Design Hotel of 2009” in the Free State presented by the Free State Architectural Institute.

Check out their RIDICULOUSLY affordable pricing and make a reservation on www.urbanhotel.co.za, or call 051 – 4443142 or email info@urbanhotel.co.za alternatively you can follow them on twitter @urbanbfn or check out their facebook page http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Urban-Hotel/33803885992.

Should your guests wish to dine elsewhere; their guest liaison will gladly recommend one of the many superb restaurants Bloemfontein has to offer. Airport and town transfers can be arranged on request.

We HIGHLY recommend The Urban Hotel Bloemfontein for the ultimate business and leisure accommodation experience.
YML alsways encourages that you do not just go with another person's opinion of the place... get your experience and then compare notes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, they are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillygilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

When I ask the desk clerk to inspect a room prior to booking in he was visibly irritated. This college guy apparently thinks he's too important to be working in a hotel. The only genuinely nasty person I encountered in two weeks in SA!

The room was dirty. The bathroom floor had not been mopped in quite awhile. The room needed dusting. The windows were dirty and smudged.

The cheap plastic look of the hotel is apparently a selling point. Clear plastic chairs does not equal cutting edge hotel design. The whole place has a cheap feel to it.

The facility needs a face lift and it's only three years old. Tile grouting in the bathrooms needs to be replaced. Carpets need a good shampoo. My bathroom mirror was permanently clouded and scarred. Bathroom lighting is inadequate.

The a/c did not cool the room.

I never could ascertain if there was an elevator. I believe there is not.

You cannot make calling card or toll free calls from your room. And there is no pay
phone on the premises.

Limited tv channel availability.

The hotel charges 195 Rand to access the wifi for a day. That's about $25 to connect to the internet!

The worst hotel I experienced in SA. If in Bloem. stay at a guest house. You will save money and have more agreeable digs.

Room Tip: stay at a guest house instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WinstonIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Had to find a place really quickly to stay at, after calls to other hotel and lodges The Urban Hotel was the best and most helpful.

Great place to go!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rvv85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stopped here for one night on a drive down to Cape Town. It's location was ideal for this purpose. The staff were excellent and the room was clean and well kept. We had a ground floor room which faced directly onto a wall which wasn't great, it meant we got no natural light in the room and the lighting in the room was poor. It's location was good for nearby restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ribena123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
3.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
4.5 mi away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#11 of 25 in Bloemfontein
23 reviews
3.6 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
#4 of 25 in Bloemfontein
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
#7 of 25 in Bloemfontein
92 reviews
4 mi away
SUN1 Bloemfontein
SUN1 Bloemfontein
#13 of 25 in Bloemfontein
21 reviews
3.8 mi away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 25 in Bloemfontein
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aha Bloemfontein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aha Bloemfontein Hotel

Address: | Cnr Henry & Partiff Avenue, Bloemfontein 9301, South Africa (Formerly Urban Hotel Bloemfontein)
Location: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Bloemfontein
Price Range: $70 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aha Bloemfontein Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Hotel offers affordable bed and breakfast hotel accommodation in Bloemfontein, with all the essential services in an elegant settings. The hotel is centrally located near Bloemfontein's business hub and main shopping destinations, providing guests with the opportunity to get where they need to go in a short space of time.The modern contemporary design is eye catching and inviting. The stylish bar area is the ideal spot to take a load off and relax. With amazing rates, central location and great breakfasts, Urban Hotel is top choice for accommodation in Bloemfontein.The hotel is offers all the comforts that you would expect from a top class hotel: fully air-conditioned, Wi-Fi, secure parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aha Bloemfontein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing