We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steaks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margaritas Seafood & Steaks

Margaritas Seafood & Steaks
Ranked #5 of 118 Restaurants in Bloemfontein
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Grill, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Margaritas Seafood and Steak was opened in 1997 by George and Nicos Papadoulakis, they continue their parents legacy which started in 1969 with Derrick's Roadhouse and 1980 with The Mexican Restaurant. The Papadoulakis Family has over 45 years of restaurant experience and believe in great quality food, wine, service and family. Welcome and thank you, God bless.
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went on a recommendation and we weren't disappointed. It's a little tricky to find - just a closed doorway to the street (sign is above street level), and then up a dark staircase. Would probably suggest making a reservation at weekends as it was busy both times we went.
Ample parking out front by the row of shops. There is a balcony area (enclosed) but the view is of the busy main road.
Waiting staff are young and very keen to help. The owner was present both evenings we were there, and he seemed very hands on, ensuring customers were happy. Didn't find we had to wait over long for food as found by other reviewers.
Food and wine was very good and reasonably priced. We would recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Electra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Popular restaurant and now I know why”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Ate here while passing through and staying the night in The Golf Lodge (400 metres). It's near the Shell garage and in a block of shops and restaurants. Could be easily missed as it's upstairs above the Crazecow DVD shop. The restaurant was busy but we managed to get a table and the service was efficient. Food was also good and reasonably priced. Just what we needed after a day on the road. Probably the best place to eat in that complex.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nyeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Out of this world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

You can see why they have been open for 17 years. Have not been there for 12 years and it is still the best restaurant in Bloemfontein. The service is great the food is all way's getting better, i like the new wine list and the attention to there wines.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlosCru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Majestic Margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Variety is the spice of life.

This restaurant has one of the best wine lists that I have come across in a very long time. The wine is well priced and there is definitely something for everyone. I enjoyed one of my favourite Stellenbosch Sauvignon Blanc wines and was amazed how affordable it was far away from home.

The menu was as interesting and I had a great seafood and steak Royal combo. Reasonably priced and a generous portion of well prepared food.

The service was also good and I gave our waitress a 20% service fee which is somewhat unusual for this country.

If I again stay over for one night in Bloemfontein, I'll definitely visit this restaurant again.

Helpful?
Thank theronsadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrible - did not get dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

A booking was made by our B&B and we arrived on time. 6:50pm and placed our order 10 min or so later. At 7:40 we were told our meals would be ready shortly. At 8pm we asked again and were told that it was on the way. At 8:10 we went to pay the bill for the 2 drinks and told the manager / owner that we were leaving due to no food appearing. He seemed totally uninterested, said we did not have to pay for the drinks and wished us a pleasant evening, no worry that we had not eaten. Needless to say we did not return to the restaurant on our return to Bloemfontein, neither did we return to the B&B. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. Luckily we found a brilliant restaurant on our return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Champagne42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaritas Seafood & Steaks also viewed

Bloemfontein, Free State
Bloemfontein, Free State
 
Bloemfontein, Free State
 
Bloemfontein, Free State
Bloemfontein, Free State
 

Been to Margaritas Seafood & Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing