We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to modernise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Court Mthatha
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mthatha
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Overpriced room rate for a hotel that smells of the 80s. The carpets are dirty, the walls are scuffed and the rooms have furniture that has been donated by other hotels which have been through an extensive modernisation process.

It's noisy too. We arrived at 10pm to the soothing sounds of heavy metal playing from their PA system. If you can't sleep, why not join the house music party going on in the parking lot. Guests roam the hotel at all hours making noise.

The staff were friendly enough. Breakfast was adequate. Coffee was burnt.

Felt like 1.5 stars.

(Watch out for the pyramid shaped speed bumps in the main road of Mthatha. No signs and they're not painted. Your car's undercarriage will thank you.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELIONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mduduzi N, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Reviewer

We thank you for posting your review about our establishment. It is with such feedback that we can improve on our product and service. We thank you for the balanced feedback.

Kind regards
Mduduzi Ngubane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hotel very overpriced for a Garden Court and quality of the establishment. Room had broken furniture (Broken draws) and the hot water is not regulated proper this may cause serious buns!! Dinner was good. Parking is safe and staff are friendly and pleasant.

Room Tip: A/C very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwaai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mduduzi N, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Reviewer

We thank you for posting your review about our establishment. It is with such feedback that we can improve on our product and service. We thank you for the balanced feedback.

Kind regards
Mduduzi Ngubane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel requires a complete overhaul, it is unacceptable that they think they can charge you for a room that is not worth the money and the experience that is below par. The dinner experience was interesting, the food was diversified and a Xhosa bit of flavour was evident, very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mduduzi N, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Reviewer

We thank you for posting your review about our establishment. It is with such feedback that we can improve on our product and service. We thank you for the balanced feedback.

Kind regards
Mduduzi Ngubane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as a one night stopover on a family road trip. The hotel is quite adequate for that purpose or, I would suggest, for a short business trip. The breakfast was the usual hotel fare and the service was pleasant but not spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mduduzi N, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Reviewer

We thank you for posting your review about our establishment. It is with such feedback that we can improve on our product and service.

We thank you fir the balanced feedback.

Regards


Mduduzi Ngubane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Holiday Inn, across the street from the Walter Sisulu university in Mthatha is below average on a world standard, yet would be above average when compared to the other options in Mthatha. The boilers weren't working when I was there, so no hot water but has since been fixed. Staff are very friendly and good, food is good and hotel is spotlessly clean. If I have to stay in Mthatha again, this will be first place I will go.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jimmyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mduduzi N, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for participating through tripadvisor review. We are delighted that apart from the bolier problem you enjoyed your stay with us. This feedback is the only way in which we can improve on service levels and standards.

We would like to thank you for your valuable support. Your comments are receiving our serious attention they deserve.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Garden Court Mthatha.

Kindest regards


Mduduzi Ngubane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I spent a night at this hotel on my way from Port Elizabeth to Durban. Strategically located for a stopover, as I would not recommend driving this road at night due to the number of stray animals wondering this scenic highway.
Clean hotel, in line with Garden Court standards, value for money and adequate breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zaheergani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mduduzi N, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for participating through tripadvisor review. We are delighted that apart from the concern of driving late at night problem you enjoyed your stay with us. This feedback is the only way in which we can improve on service levels and standards.

We would like to thank you for your valuable support. Your comments are receiving our serious attention they deserve.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Garden Court Mthatha.

Kindest regards


Mduduzi Ngubane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

stayed here overnight on our way to Margate, typical business hotel, room clean, but not very friendly except for one little lady who was clearing the tables at breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kenhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mduduzi N, General Manager at Garden Court Mthatha, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thank you for participating through tripadvisor review. This feedback is the only way in which we can improve on service levels and standards.

We would like to thank you for your valuable support. Your comments are receiving our serious attention they deserve. I would also like to thank for the comment on the other employee who showed a better side of our service delivery.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Garden Court Mthatha.

Kindest regards


Mduduzi Ngubane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mthatha hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Lodge Bellagio
#4 of 44 in Mthatha
16 reviews
3.6 mi away
Big Five Guest House
Big Five Guest House
#10 of 44 in Mthatha
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
LLZZ Boutique Lodge
LLZZ Boutique Lodge
#20 of 44 in Mthatha
2 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Sleep & Dream Guesthouse
#19 of 44 in Mthatha
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Mthatha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Mthatha

Address: Nelson Mandela Drive, Mthatha 5100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mthatha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mthatha
Price Range: $130 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Mthatha 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the heart of the Transkei, Mthatha is a bustling city that embodies an eclectic mix of old world South Africa and the new. It is a growing business centre and many companies use the city for conferences and events. The Garden Court Mthatha is hospitable, offering the friendly service that is common to the area. It offers access to the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University as well as the city centre, an efficient airport and the national highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Court Mthatha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Mthatha Hotel Mthatha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing