We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mthatha
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I find the Hotel Savoy situated close to restaurant facilities, my work and is secure. Rooms are comfortable and reasonable priced. Reception staff are very helpful and cheerful. Breakfast served in the local Mikes Kitchen was good

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2016
Thank you so much for the excellent review and comments. We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that our team went out of their way to make you feel welcome and looked after as you should be.
We hope to see you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
3
18
7
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It would be nice to have a single sofa in the room for sitting purposes if one does not want to sit on the bed.
The service and cooperation of staff was good.
I will come back to the hotel.
………………,,,,,


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zoleka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2016
Thank you so much for the excellent review and comments. We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that our team went out of their way to make you feel welcome and looked after as you should be.
We hope to see you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Did my booking via Internet. Had a very prompt response and when I enquired about special rates the GM Joanne was very helpful and it was a pleasure dealing with her and the staff who were efficient, friendly and courteous. Well done Joanne to you and your staff. The room was great , very clean and very spacious. Our dinner at Mikes Kitchen was mediocre and expensive for what you got but breakfast was great. I would recommend the Savoy to anybody staying in Umtata. Keep it up Joanne

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Mike

Thank you for your time taken to review Hotel Savoy. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. And hope that we will see you again soon.

Thank you for your compliments to Joanne Macdonald our GM I will pass them on.

We aim to do our best at all times
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We had to come through to Mthatha for business over easter weekend. I usually stay in a B&B, but in a weak moment I made a booking at Hotel Savoy Mthatha.
The room and bathroom was neat enough, but that was the least of our problems.

Our problem was the fact that the other guest staying there, had ZERO respect or consideration for other people staying over. And apparently Savoy Mthatha didn't care either. It felt like we had managed to get ourselves a bed in the middle of a concrete jungle.

We needed to get up early the next morning to do our work so we got to bed early. Instead of getting a good night's rest, we spend most of the night - until about 2h30 am, listening to our extremely noisy and drunk neighbours. It wasn't just one room, but it seemed like the entire floor level was having a party outside in the parking lot and inside their rooms. People were talking loudly and laughing and screaming and the tv was full volume. There was also loud music being played from cars outside in the parking lot. If it had not been late, I would have asked for a refund and found myself another place to stay.

This type of rowdy and completely selfish behaviour of guests is 100 % unacceptable. We called front desk to ask if we could please be moved, but we were told that security would quiet our neighbours. I ended up having to call 3 more times - the last call was at 2am before the noise started to quiet down.

What type of a business is Savoy Mthata running? A local pub and / or gathering place for visitors and locals? Because I'm convinced it is NOT a rest stop for business people or visitors. If any business people or out of towners are looking for a nice quiet place to stay - DO NOT GO TO SAVOY MTHATHA!

Find a way to control your guest and who they invite to visit them at YOUR facility Savoy Mthatha! Dont tell me you have no control over guest, because you should have and you do!

How you manage to stay in business is beyond me. You will never see me again and I will tell all my associates the same.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Karrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mthatha hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel as a stop over between Durban and Balitto. The facilities are basic and the service average but its perfectly acceptable for one night. Breakfast/dinner is supplied by nearby Mikes Kitchen - this to was ok.

Room Tip: Get in and get out....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzybizzyfizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 10, 2016
Thank you so much for the excellent review and comments. We are so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that our team went out of their way to make you feel welcome and looked after as you should be.
We hope to see you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I made a booking through bookings.com and it wasn't found due to a technical fault on Hotel Savoy's side. One of the reception ladies couldn't remember my even after correcting her 5 times. Dstv wasn't working and when it did the picture was hazy. The room was comfortable, clean and modern. I hope the next time I visit the above will have improved

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Siphiwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Booked a smoking room days in advance, when I arrived I was informed they have no smoking rooms available, and didn't attempt to assist me. If you offer a smoking room option then make sure you have a smoking room available! Also very expensive.. complete rip off.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 243james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am very concerned where you read that we had smoking rooms. We make use of a number of sites and I need to rectify this immediately - please would you be so kind and contact me on leigh@jhgroup.co.za with the site that you booked on and read this. I look forward to hearing from you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mthatha
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kurland Hotel
Kurland Hotel
#7 of 15 in Plettenberg Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
2.1 mi away
Big Five Guest House
Big Five Guest House
#5 of 39 in Mthatha
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Lodge Bellagio
#4 of 39 in Mthatha
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 6 in Coffee Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Garden Court Mthatha
Garden Court Mthatha
#2 of 4 in Mthatha
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre

Property: Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Address: 912 Nelson Mandela Drive | Southernwood, Mthatha 5100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mthatha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mthatha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Savoy & Conference Centre is just what you’ve been looking for in the city of Mthatha! The hotel is conveniently situated on Nelson Mandela Drive in Mthatha, boasting 101 luxury, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms.Guests are offered peace of mind with 24 hour security and secure parking. Guests also have access to two national restaurants and – of course – our world-class conferencing facilities.It’s no wonder Hotel Savoy & Conference Centre is everyone’s preferred choice in Mthatha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing