We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise . Nice place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mthatha
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Surprise . Nice place.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I knew the old Savoy Hotel in Mthatha which was a dive. When partner said he'd booked us at the Savoy i was apprehensive. Surprise was , this is the NEW Savoy and it was quite pleasant and its good value for money.
Its a motel type hotel and can be classified as 3 star. It is clean, comfortable, new and security is pretty good. All rooms airconditioned with flat screen TV with satellite channels , tea and coffee making facilities, ie all the utility things one needs. bring your own adapter for the 2 pin to charge your phones and tablets. And ther is a Spar supermarket, ATMs and fast food outlets close by.

Room Tip: If you have luggage , ask for a ground floor room so you have to lug your bags up the stairs. Oh, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back here soon. You should see our new addition our new 4 star Savoy Exec - we just keep getting better and better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    83
    32
    14
    10
See reviews for
7
25
10
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ewingar
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room was compact, clean and neat - with a sprig of rosemary on the bed and a fabulous hot shower with good pressure. Nothing fancy but all we needed. Although busy, our room was quiet and despite jet lag we slept well. Close by was Mike's Kitchen for dinner - try the spare ribs - and wifi was available too. We had a little difficulty with transport to and from the airport but were saved by the kind and efficient assistant manager Joanne who whisked us off to the airport providing interesting and lively conversation all the way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was my first visit to Mthata and I was fortunate in the location of the hotel. It is located in a shopping precint and you are within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Safe parking was provided

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Albertus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Director of Sales at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 1, 2015
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Hotel Savoy recently and were pleasantly surprised. Staff was incredibly friendly, service was superb and often go for extra mile! We had a room with balcony, room was spotless, comfortable, nice and very cosy. The bed in our room was super comfy, it’s the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We had a wonderful stay here and could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatHon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Group Sales Manager at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are thrilled that you had a "really great experience" I have to agree, I too think that our beds are extremly comfortable. Please visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay although it was short! Nice comfortable rooms we were upgraded on arrival which was a nice touch! Staff were very helpful and friendly! would recommend if in Mtatha. Had room service quality was good and food arrived in a timely manner, had breakfast was good size portions and a variety to choose from!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the executive suite very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AneBeukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Group Sales Manager at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your kind words, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Savoy. We like to think we are "The only place to stay in Mthatha"
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

i was traveling through umthatha on my way back from durban, but the long drive became to much for me when i decided i'll risk it and spend the night in umthatha. I was fortunate enough to have come across the savoy hotel the staff were incredibly friendly offering to show me to my room and explaining were i could get something to eat. I enjoyed a pizza at the Panarottis which i must admit was the best i have ever seen, the rooms aren't big but adequate for a comfortable night. the rooms have flat screen tvs with numerous channels, the bathrooms are clean and the rooms smell fresh, the beds are also very comfortable. All in all i enjoyed my stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again, after having seen the rates in other umthatha hotels and b&b's hotel savoy is real value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adriaan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Group Sales Manager at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear reviewer
Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our upgrade and renovations. We hope to see you back at Hotel Savoy again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very kind receptionist, and our room was better after the revamp. enjoyed the stay will deferentially come again and i especially enjoyed the mikes kitchen breakfast. Hotel savoy is located in a convenient area so was easy to find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wesselde09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighmy, Group Sales Manager at Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear reviewer .Thank you kindly for your review. We pride ourselves in always giving of our best and try to put our clients needs first at all times. We hope to see you again soon at Hotel Savoy and conference centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mthatha
1.0 mi away
uMhlanga Sands Resort
uMhlanga Sands Resort
#5 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
716 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Five Guest House
Big Five Guest House
#6 of 42 in Mthatha
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
LLZZ Boutique Lodge
LLZZ Boutique Lodge
#20 of 42 in Mthatha
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Lodge Bellagio
#1 of 42 in Mthatha
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garden Court Mthatha
Garden Court Mthatha
#2 of 4 in Mthatha
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre

Property: Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre
Address: 912 Nelson Mandela Drive | Southernwood, Mthatha 5100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Mthatha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mthatha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Savoy & Conference Centre is just what you’ve been looking for in the city of Mthatha! The hotel is conveniently situated on Nelson Mandela Drive in Mthatha, boasting 101 luxury, air-conditioned rooms with en-suite bathrooms.Guests are offered peace of mind with 24 hour security and secure parking. Guests also have access to two national restaurants and – of course – our world-class conferencing facilities.It’s no wonder Hotel Savoy & Conference Centre is everyone’s preferred choice in Mthatha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Savoy and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing