We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry could not stay longer!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sands at St Francis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sands at St Francis
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Sorry could not stay longer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stopped here for the last night of our journey on the Garden route and it was simply wonderful. Our ocean facing room was absolutely fine. Courtesy trays and mini bar were well stocked and provision of an expresso machine a first for us!! The only slight problem was the the flat screen television did not fit the old style TV cabinet.

Unfortunately when we arrived I had been a little unwell for some days. Late afternnon, we were asked to make selections for dinner from a very short menu. None of the options offered were vegetarian but the lady chef devised an alternative menu and cooked me an absolutely superb meal which I unfortunately could not finish.

Most of the rooms are ground floor with sun terraces facing the ocean. In the the small garden there is a sea water unheated swimming pool which although fairly narrow, is perfectly adequate and certainly a degree or two warmer than the actual ocean which we actually managed to take a dip in for all of 45 seconds!!

All of the staff were very nice people and our only regret about staying here was that it was only for 1 night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyecorrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    25
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
116
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

This hotel is a boutique hotel within the Protea hotel group - but with no disrespect to the hotel group (w did stay with them in J'burg and Cape Town and enjoyed their hospitality) one would rightly think that this is a small and classy boutique hotel under private management. It has none of the feeling off a hotel chain, only the warmth, great staff, and comfort that we all associate with small and private establishments.

The bedroom was spacious and comfortable.
We ate in (the only guests to do so) and had a great meal.
Breakfast we complete and perfect
and the guests areas had everything one could possibly need.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

Small number of rooms, all of them very comfortable, great location at the beach, friendly and helpful service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronmarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

I agree with everything "ripandemily" just posted in their review. Our only regret with the Sands is that we could only stay for one night! The service here was the best and warmest we have ever had. To the hand written welcome notes when we arrived to having our car washed and the gifts when we left. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. We were on our way to the Pumba Game Reserve and Chanelle (who also worked at the reserve) gave us lots of little tips about our upcoming stay there.
All of the food was wonderful and the small dining room beautiful too. Our room even had a private deck with our own hot tub! We took a long walk along the Indian Ocean collecting different sea shells before we left.
This was the best place to stop before our safari and I only wish I had booked a night after as well!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Warm Welcome, lovely room, amazing views of the sea - even from the bath, which opened onto the bedroom with a blind. Super products in the bathroom. Lovely home made biscuits.
Dinner excellent served in upstairs dining room overlooking the bay. A different interesting menu each day. Breakfast was very good - plenty of choice. Nice pool. Loved walking along the beach reached from wooden steps from the garden. The staff were very helpful and efficient. We didn't have our car while staying here and they offered to run us to another restaurant. Free use of internet . Very peaceful and a lovely place to stay before we headed home after a fantastic holiday. Even given a present of chilled water homemade cookies & fudge when we departed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ripandemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

This small hotel was excellent after a few days on safari. Just what we needed. It is right on the beach and the rooms have fantastic views.Everything is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and a great big bath to relax in.Staff were very freindly and helpful at every stage. We ate in the hotel and there was certainly no pressure for us to do so! However the main village is not too far away. Food in the hotel was good and the setting lovely. Perfect stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

I would recommend to anyone to stay here. The Sands is beautifully decorated but comfortable. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Food and Wine excellent and superb location. We were so relaxed after our stay!! It was just what the doctor ordered after the stresses of London.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.2 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#5 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brisan On The Canals
Brisan On The Canals
#9 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#4 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at St Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at St Francis

Property: The Sands at St Francis
Address: 8 Frank Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at St Francis 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A footstep away from the beach, a few minutes from the bustling village center and home to world class watersports and activities! This luxurious African beach house, located in the picturesque seaside village of St. Francis Bay, offers five spacious en-suite bedrooms, all with uninterrupted views of the majestic Indian Ocean and endless stretches of pristine coastline. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and offer 5 star luxury, opening onto private decks or balcony with stunning views of the beach and infinity pool. The honeymoon suite offers an extra outdoor shower and Jacuzzi hot tub on its deck, from where spectacular sunsets can be enjoyed. The glass-fronted Octagon Restaurant has a thatched roof, central fireplace and surrounding timber deck, providing a breathtaking 270 degree panoramic view of the bay. The Octagon serves breakfast, light lunches and a la carte dinners. St Francis Bay is situated close to the Eastern Cape's many malaria-free game reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Sands at St Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing