We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands at St Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sands at St Francis
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

They say 5 stars, yes thanks to the setting right on the beach. The room, food, staff etc. is not worth 1 star. Very disappointing. I sure hope you will make a plan towards the tariffs you want to ask, very expensive for no value of money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Centrino583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    21
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
97
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, had a 'so called" luxury room. There was absolutley no privacy on the suite patio, guests waking right passed your suite with full view into our room. The room decor was DEFINITELY NOT 5 star. None of the channels on TV worked, no signal. We asked reception(Paul) about the problem, not helpful at all. The breakfast was mediocre, something you would find at a 3 star guesthouse, Not a so called 5 star. No privacy between the bedroom and bathroom at all, which is really not appealing, just some cheap wooden blinds to seperate. The shower floor looks like it has not been scrubbed clean in ages. ALL IN ALL VERY DISSAAPOINTING! I will NOT go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twix gatwick and heathrow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We intended The Sands to be a 3 night full stop after a hectic Jan and Feb and flying from UK to Joberg on to Port Liz, and quite a drive. We arrived to this fabulous view of the ocean and steps down to the firmest sandy beach to walk on ever. Which we did everyday. We did very little else.
Very comfy room, cool pool, breakfast on the first floor in the sun, one dinner in (7/10), another at the Greek (3/10 : interesting to see the canal area, poor attention, overpriced)
and an excellent one at 5 Elements (9/10)

Room Tip: ground floor far left or right
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3bagsfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We used The Sands as a 1 night stop over on our way to a game reserve east of Port Elizabeth. We had a luxury room which as a bedroom was excellent but then it had on 'open plan' bathroom where you could sit on the loo and look at a wonderfully uninterupted view of the ocean (not even by a glass window!). The small pool area was adequate as was the small lounge. The dining room no doubt had glorious views but the windows were covered in either salt spray or condensation and opening the doors was difficult in view of the wind.
The 'gourmet' dinner was a pretty bland experience. We ordered 1 bottle of wine (there were 4 of us) which the waiter couldn't understand as people who usely eat there apparently have 2 bottles each!
Breakfast was unexciting with the order for cooked breakfasts not being taken until we had finished our cereals/yoghurts or whatever and by which time the tea/coffee was cold. While we were not in a mad rush breakfast did take a long time.
Another reviewer made reference to the 'team' or lack of it. We couldn't agree more. The place just lacks 'soul' which is a pity as the location is simply stunning and the potential is amazing. Maybe they work on the principle that visitors only stay there once so why bother staffing it properly.
The owners should take a look at The Hideaway in Swellendam to see what service and attention to detail is all about.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonanneSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

very sweet lodge directly located at the beach. most if not all rooms have direct view over the bay and are big, well furnished and have luxurious en suite bathrooms. we really enjoyed in our stay there and the private atmosphere.
the dinner however, was not overwhelming. try the "Five Elements" instead.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astrid_On_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

we have just returned from 3 nights at The sands.Perfect end to our holiday . Great restaurants nearby and do try The Greek taverna on the canals .....FANTASTIC and you must go to Le Chameleon in Humansdorp.....an amazing gift shop and restaurant and its situated next to a garage but as soon as you go in its live arriving at an oasis in a desert.....fantastic food .
wanted to mention Paul he looked after us so well during our stay and really made such a difference to the stay....Well done paul.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digger186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Amazing location, right on the beach overlooking the Indian Ocean, and wonderfully friendly staff. Rudi welcomed us with the news that we'd been upgraded which meant we had a HUGE room with private balcony and jacuzzi. Utter luxury!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TartanHornplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
0.8 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
48.2 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
89.6 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#2 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#4 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands at St Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands at St Francis

Property: The Sands at St Francis
Address: 8 Frank Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sands at St Francis 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A footstep away from the beach, a few minutes from the bustling village center and home to world class watersports and activities! This luxurious African beach house, located in the picturesque seaside village of St. Francis Bay, offers five spacious en-suite bedrooms, all with uninterrupted views of the majestic Indian Ocean and endless stretches of pristine coastline. All bedrooms are air-conditioned and offer 5 star luxury, opening onto private decks or balcony with stunning views of the beach and infinity pool. The honeymoon suite offers an extra outdoor shower and Jacuzzi hot tub on its deck, from where spectacular sunsets can be enjoyed. The glass-fronted Octagon Restaurant has a thatched roof, central fireplace and surrounding timber deck, providing a breathtaking 270 degree panoramic view of the bay. The Octagon serves breakfast, light lunches and a la carte dinners. St Francis Bay is situated close to the Eastern Cape's many malaria-free game reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Sands at St Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing