We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights to kick off the new year & thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great location - short walk to the beach. The newly outfitted room was spacious, clean & exceptionally comfortable. Staff were brilliant - professional & friendly. Breakfast was great & knowledge of the area 1st rate. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amymatthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    76
    19
    13
    2
See reviews for
51
172
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Sandals with our family who had come from Europe and occupied several rooms, i.e. we were a mix of adults and toddlers to teens.

We loved our time there, the rooms were nice, the service (especially Tess, who makes all the difference to this place and is a fantastic host) excellent, and the food very good. The pool is not big, but definitely big enough for the kids to play in and us to refresh. The location is very good, only a few minutes from a great beach, and a few minutes from the shops.

We had dinner there twice, which was excellent both times.

There were only a few downsides.
Given we were traveling with kids, and given it is a B&B, we expected fridges in the rooms so we could prepare the kids' lunches / dinners at the B&B. There aren't any fridges in any of the rooms. Tess and her team made sure we could store some things in their kitchen, and gave us cooler boxes, but it is still not the same.

The second downside was that in some of our rooms, there was neither a fan nor an aircon system. While there was a nice breeze during the night, we didn't want to open our sliding doors since our room was out to the (quiet) back street, and we felt it was too dangerous to keep the door wide open all night long. Especially the upstairs bit in the family room was quite hot......

But apart from that it is a great place that we can definitely recommend !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ninax77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights between x-mas and new years. One f the best experiences we have had in many years! Staff was great, better then great. Location and premises was perfect! The kind of place you automatically feel you want to come back to. This is a must if you are in the area and also well worth doing an extra trip for. // Håkan & Henriette

Room Tip: Could not get the fitness review out of my grading. They dont have a fitness so that dont apply. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hapoStockholm_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Håkan & Henriette. We are truly grateful for the wonderful review of Sandals GH. Thanks for your time taken and we hope to have you back to stay in the future. Best wishes from us all at Sandals GH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and were delighted with our stay in every way.

The location is difficult to beat, in a quiet residential neighbourhood and just a couple of minutes walk to the safe-guarded end of the vast 2 mile pristine beach. And in the opposite direction the shopping mall with local restaurants so everything you need is an easy stroll away.
Breakfasts were superb with a good choice, either continental or cooked to order.
Our room was very well designed with lovely bathroom, and a good size. We were upgraded to the honeymoon suite which has a lovely sunny terrace and overlooks the pool and lovely garden. Little touches such as free loan body boards give you an idea of how thoughtful the owner/managers have been to make Sandals stand out and it works!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g4ybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Sandals for 2 nights & unfortunately arrived the day after a large fire had destroyed homes in the canal area. Luckily for us Sandals wasn't anywhere near the affected area. The owner, Richard and all the staff were amazing & made us feel very welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, our accomodation was lovely and the guesthouse is set within idyllic grounds with a small swimming pool. It's only a short walk to restaurants etc and we walked there & back every night. St Francis Bay was a welcome rest during our hectic schedule, it is quiet & Sandals provided us with a little down time perfectly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Lancashire.
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

A very pleasant night's stay under a thatched roof. We were welcomed with a fruit cocktail and chocolate cake by the friendly staff and shown to our delightful room complete with sunny balcony. The breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty and the gardens and pool a truly relaxing environment to chill out.

St Francis is small and a little 'manicured' but still nice for a one night stopover with a good 'village' feel about it. Some lovely beaches too.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main building but the garden rooms seemed very nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review of Sandals GH. We pride ourselves on a "chilled" relaxing environment in our guest house. Travel can be quite hectic...nice to know that after a busy road trip, one can relax in a stunning seaside village and "chill"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Always a pleasure to visit your establishment! Friendly staff that go out of their way to assist you with anything and to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast was great with fresh fruits and a nice variety of options. Will be coming back again and again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Lovely to have you back and hear that the staff are always helpful, friendly and provide good service. Appreciate the breakfast compliments too. Look forward to welcoming you back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.2 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
153 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
1.0 mi away
St Francis Golf Lodge
St Francis Golf Lodge
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Guest House

Property: Sandals Guest House
Address: 4 Napier Road | St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned 150 metres from main beach, Sandals Boutique Guesthouse offers its guests a unique and international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. The beauty, tranquillity and friendly hospitality of Sandals will ensure you have a chance to relax and enjoy the "laid-back" luxury which Sandals Guest House provides. Sensational surf, pristine beaches, rugged coastline & indigenous fynbos create a perfect setting for relaxation & play in St Francis Bay! Within walking distance or a few minute’s drive away are fabulous restaurants, quaint village shops, Port St Francis, nature walks, Jack Nicklaus award-winning St Francis Links & our local St Francis Bay Golf Club! No holiday in South Africa is complete without experiencing our warmth, friendliness and personal service at Sandals, St Francis Bay.We will ensure you leave relaxed, rejuvenated and determined to return again soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing