We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a surprising oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a lovely place! The rooms are decorated in almost an afro-caribbean fashion and are FABulous- our first experience with an outdoor shower! The only drawback was not being able to stay longer... The recommendation for dinner was perfect- only a short stroll from the B&B- and the breakfast in the the morning was excellent in a country that excells in B&B's. Tess and Tapiwa were flawless hosts and their friendliness and professionalism shone through. Ryszard was great to chat with as well when we returned in the evening to relax and play a game of cards after our walk on the beach- also only a short stroll. All in all making it a truly a wonderful, wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kerryraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 313 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

The staff are absolutely wonderful and the rooms are lovely but could do with a refurbishment. Bathrobes seem to be a standard feature in B&B's in this price range but the fabric was not something I would want touching my skin...bath salts were a really nice touch and the outdoor shower was really nice too.
Location is great, minutes walk from the beach and a few restaurants and staff provide great recommendations and make bookings for you. St Francis is a bit sterile but pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheLulu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We are standing for 1 night in this beautiful Hotel. We haven't reserve a room before and have become a very beautiful room. The room was comfortable. The personal was so friendly and help us to find the most interesting places in St. Francis.
The Breakfast in the mornings was big and we could choice from everything we needed. We enjoyed it and we come back, if we travel for a next time through South Africa! Thank you for all…

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascal_S_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thank you Pascal for your review and kind words about your brief stay here at Sandals GH and in St Francis Bay. You both had an exciting trip through South Africa. We do hope you will return again one day soon...to our lovely little town on one of the most beautiful stretches of "African" coastline as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stopped at Sandals on the way from PE to Knysna for one night. The guest house is really attractive both inside and outside, and we had a lovely bedroom with comfortable beds for us and our youngest child + good bathroom. We had a great breakfast the next morning and the owners were very helpful in giving advice on what to see on the way to Knysna. The only disappointing thing was that we had not arranged to stay for longer!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Paul,
thank you for taking the time to review Sandals GH and for our lovely positive review! Yes, disappointing too that you only had ONE night with us and in St Francis Bay but of course there is always a next time...and you would be so warmly welcomed back into our "house"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The warm hospitality at Sandals is just lovely. A home from home. Our rooms were big, clean and very comfortable and your every need is taken care of - so accomodating. Eating breakfast outside on the patio by the pool is such a relaxing experience and we just loved the "Caribbean pancakes" as we dubbed them - various kinds but the bacon, banana with maple syrup pancakes were our favourite! The owners and management of Sandals are very informative about what to do around St Francis, where to dine etc. They seem so proud of their town and rightly so, as St Francis bay is so unique - every house and building is white with either a black thatch or grey slate roof and this lends to the outstanding beauty of the place. It has such a calm and relaxing atmosphere and there is so much to do in the area, from the sea and nature activities to beautiful golf courses. The Walskipper restaurant in nearby Jeffreys Bay is an absolute must and very different from most! Outstanding fresh-from-the-sea seafood right on the beach in such a laid back setting - beach sand for the restaurant floor, quaint wooden garden sheds for the bathrooms, old enamel crockery. Quite an experience. A superb town and guest house for a holiday. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelanieErica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Melanie
Very special having you all to stay with us for a few days! Our Caribbean Pancakes are such a hit and glad the kids loved them - "big kids" spoil themselves too with this decadent breakfast choice!
We are very proud of our beautiful village and privileged to be able to share with so many travelers from all over the world...and "first time" South African visitors as well! We do hope you return one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We only stayed one night at Sandals as we were on our way to Port Elizabeth airport, however it was a quiet relaxing place to stay. When we arrived our room wasn't ready but we were given a nice cool drink and some information about the local area including a recommendation for evening meal at the local fish restaurant. Our room was comfortable with a small patio area set amongst the roofs of the building. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The area is very quiet with beautiful beaches and very pretty thatched houses.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drapmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for your review and kind words. Since you have visited, Sandals GH underwent major renovations, upgrades and also built a superior garden suite...we do hope you can return one day soon and enjoy our new revamped bathrooms and "look"! It is still just as relaxing as ever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Warm welcome, clean and comfy rooms (we were given an upgrade because they weren't busy) and delicious breakfast. Pool area was lovely and not far from the sea. We stayed here because of its proximity to Port Elizabeth airport (just an hour's drive) but did feel St Francis Bay was a little sterile. This pretty and hospitable guest house made up for it though!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thanks for your wonderful compliments on our clean, comfy rooms and the delicious breakfasts!
We do appreciate all the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
0.7 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
108 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
178 reviews
1.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
181 reviews
10.6 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Guest House

Address: 4 Napier Road | St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: $113 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned 150 metres from main beach, Sandals Boutique Guesthouse offers its guests a unique and international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. The beauty, tranquillity and friendly hospitality of Sandals will ensure you have a chance to relax and enjoy the "laid-back" luxury which Sandals Guest House provides. Sensational surf, pristine beaches, rugged coastline & indigenous fynbos create a perfect setting for relaxation & play in St Francis Bay! Within walking distance or a few minute’s drive away are fabulous restaurants, quaint village shops, Port St Francis, nature walks, Jack Nicklaus award-winning St Francis Links & our local St Francis Bay Golf Club! No holiday in South Africa is complete without experiencing our warmth, friendliness and personal service at Sandals, St Francis Bay.We will ensure you leave relaxed, rejuvenated and determined to return again soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing