We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but expensive and poor attention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dune Ridge Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Marly-le-roi, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place but expensive and poor attention”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Dune Ridge Country House is a nice and quiet place outside of St Francis Bay. Nevertheless my wife and I didn't feel properly welcomed by the owner/manager of the guest house. The lady in charge of the guests has not been properly trained and is left on her own. Furthermore considering the price asked for there is no real value for money, compared to other place we have been on the Garden Route.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JPM125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
102
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The owner showed little interest during our visit. The staff member who looked after us lacked any front of house skills. We had dinner there one night but only two other guests dined and it was like a church. Dinner in silence with no atmosphere. The meal was good quality but was only available if chosen by 10am on the day and only on days decided by the owner. We visited after a gap of around 5 years but will not return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank noahsark_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guests

I am terribly sorry for your apparent bad experience at the guest house. I do find this review rather mortifying considering its our first "bad" review.

I would like to correct you in saying though that we have only been operational for just under two years and won Best Country House Nationally for service excellence in our category. From the time of inception we pride ourselves on our attention to detail and service as well as our top class cuisine and one-on-one interaction with our guests - at least I try and do that as much as I can.

With regards to dinners in the evenings we need to know by 11am so that we can cater accordingly. We operate as a guesthouse not a restaurant so do not carry large amounts of stock on hand and need to arrange staff for the evenings if dinners are served. Im not too sure why your evening would seem like dining in a church. Due to numerous requests from our foreign guests we have adjusted our playlist to more African gospel mixed with more ethnic music that plays as background music in the house. If dinners are served in the lounge on the front patio it is generally not necessary to have music on loudly as the sounds of the owls, nightjars and sea suffice.

Dune Ridge Country House is by no means a hotel or establishment that just takes guests in puts them in a room and forgets about them. We all love what we do and where we are and I truly believe that this shines through all my staff that are working for me.

The lady that served you is one of the most gentle individuals you will come across originating from Zimbabwe. She has been with us from the beginning and guests have come back because of the service they receive from her.

I am terribly sorry that you had a bad experience and that you will not be returning. There are plenty of fantastic places in St Francis Bay that you can stay at should you return to the area.

Keep Well and Kind Regards

Sarah
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful Country House in a lovely setting. The rooms are large and airy, spacious private veranda's overlooking a lovely garden are cool and inviting. The staff are friendly, attentive and take time to explain the services available, the areas sites and information on where to eat. The welcoming homemade lemonade was refreshing on a hot humid day. The breakfast was excellent and full of nice surprises, something a little different from the normal B&B breakfast. We'll worth a visit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

On our 4th trip to the Garden Route, our expectations were high. Sarah and her team exceeded all expectations in every area, especially the dinners. We are 'guided by Greenwood' and Sarah has all the things they like and none of the things they don't. Please note, Dune Ridge is not listed. Jake, the puppy was such a delight - hurry up and visit before he grows up!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James And Linds... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear James and Lindsey

Thank you for the wonderful review about the guesthouse and staff!!! They are all absolutely beaming.

Little Jake is well..getting naughtier by the day but still incredibly cute. He seems to think that all our guests are going to take him for walks now after the long trek to the reserve that he joined you on. He soon returns when he realises they only going to the swimming pool or to their rooms.

It was so lovely hosting you in our special place and we looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Keep Well

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our first stop on the garden route, travelling straight from Port Elizabeth airport, which is an easy drive.
Its a beautiful spot and the hosts are charming and attentive.
Rooms are huge and open onto the gardens.
Breakfast was the best on our tour with amazing attention to detail in the cooking.
We were lucky enough to eat dinner and it was a superb standard.
Also enjoyed lying in the peaceful sunshine by the pool.
Loved the 'Splattered Toad' wine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you're visiting St Francis and would like a unique Spa experience, book a massage at Dune Ridge - the outside room is glorious and if you're lucky enough to have Saria as your therapist, you'll have a world-class massage. Definitely worth heading back to St Francis for!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Linda

Thank you so much for the fantastic review of our Spa. The Bush Spa really is a very special and unique experience. Possibly since you are out in the middle of the bush only surrounded by nature, and the sounds of the birds.

I am absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your treatments with us and hopefully on your return to St Francis you will try our Moonlight Massage which is very similar to your other treatments only done in the evening so you literally have your massage under the stars with only the sounds of the nightjars and the smell of the sea breeze coming in over the dunes..this is a very magical experience.

Keep Well and we looking forward to having you join us again in the near future.

Keep Well

Sarah and Saria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

we spent 2 Comfortable quiet nights with the family away from all the crowds. Afternoon scones were delicious served at the pool. Staff not very engaging in conversation. Rooms comfortable but could have air conditioning especially for the price the Lodge charges. Rooms beautifully decorated and spacious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Many thanks for the review and it is always good to get different guests perspectives of what we do, our service and the overall impression of the staff.

Summer in St Francis Bay has been an exceptional one..a summer like no other year in fact..we normally have a very temperate climate ranging between 25 C and 28 C in Dec/Jan.. We also pride ourselves in that we practice Fair Trade principles. Our aim is to minimize our footprint as much as possible and to care for the environment -due to these two very important factors we have not installed air conditioning into our rooms and have rather gone for the more eco-friendly option and utilized ceiling fans which would normally have sufficed for our Mediterranean climate.

The Dune Ridge Staff have only ever received fantastic reviews for their attention to detail and willingness in general to tend to our guests needs..and to literally lay out the red carpet for them. English is a second language for all my staff and my more recently employed ladies are not as confident yet to engage in a full conversation with guests, its not to say they dont try. My staff however always have the best intentions and guests needs at heart.

I really hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back at Dune Ridge in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.3 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
578 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
284 reviews
0.9 mi away
St Francis Golf Lodge
St Francis Golf Lodge
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
116 reviews
2.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Ridge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Ridge Country House

Property: Dune Ridge Country House
Address: 80 Taragona Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Ridge Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an extraordinary location on the outskirts of the picturesque village of St Francis Bay, this country house epitomises tranquility. This intimate family run guest house surrounded by rich coastal fynbos, an abundance of birdlife and large gardens typifies comfort and charm without compromising service or attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Dune Ridge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing