We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing in a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dune Ridge Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in a homely and clean family cottage with our 2 children. The decoration of the facilities is done with obvious personal attention. The staff is extremely friendly and we would also advise to book dinner at Dune Ridge, because the food is fantastic. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you so much for the absolutely wonderful review! We hope you had a safe trip home and the children are well and settled.

It is always so nice to get such positive feedback from our guests about their stay and of course our food.

We are so looking forward to your return..and hopefully we will have more time for the Frog Safari one evening.

Take Care

Sarah and The Dune Ridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 167 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had an awesome 2 night stay at the Dune Ridge Country House. The room was large, private, well decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was really spacious and we had the most spectacular views of the front garden from our patio. The lounge is spacious and very comfortable with excellent decor. Our highlight was the scrumptious breakfasts, served in a well laid out dinning room, which included a buffet with many choices and a full cooked breakfast of your choice, which was masterfully prepared and presentation was top class. The staff are professional, the ambiance unbelievable, the setting very peaceful, which assisted in making the whole experience one I will repeat in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: Room 1, close to the pool and extensive front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeminiG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for the fabulous review you posted on Tripadvisor for us! I am so happy that we could make you and your partners time with us special.

It is always great to get feedback from guests so that we know that what we are doing is working, and we will continue to improve all the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Sarah and The Dune Ridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Outstanding hospitality, excellent food and perfectly presented with loving care. Very relaxing atmosphere and we were made most welcome. Superbly helpful host with restaurant bookings and things to do.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuneRidgeSFB, Owner at Dune Ridge Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guests,

It was so wonderful having you stay with us and quite by surprise as well. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and want to thank you for the fantastic review that your put on Tripadvisor. It is always nice to get such brilliant feedback with regards to our service and attention to detail - it means we are on the right track and will continually strive to do even better.

Kind Regards

Sarah and The Dune Ridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Dune RIdge Country House. The rooms are large and very comfortable with private patio area overlooking the garden. The under floor heating in the bathroom was a real bonus. Breakfasts were amazing, plenty of choice with homemade bread.
We would recommend the Dune RIdge to any one who likes a quiet peaceful location and are already planning a return visit

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alian1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Dune ridge country lodge. Our every need was very thoughtfully provided by friendly and efficient staff. Fresh,local flowers were placed everywhere amidst the sumptious lodge decor. Our room was luxurious and comfortable with an en suite, which had heated floors,that supplied everything we needed.Breakfast was masterfully presented and showed all the signs of a skilful chef at work. The gardens are magnificent and the fauna and flora is unspoilt and very rewarding. This place is not your average 'home from home'experience, it is something special! Real food for the soul.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jperold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went to Dune Ridge for a small second honeymoon. Sarah put in so much effort to make the weekend special. From sham pain and strawberries to dinner in front of the fireplace. Thank you for a amazing weekend. We will see you again soon!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Magda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have been fortunate to have stayed at the Dune Ridge Country House numerous times over the last year for business. The attention to detail is brilliant, the food is amazing and the comfort of the stay is second to none.
The hostess, Sarah, can be proud of herself. Her passion for this establishment is evident.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-OH_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.3 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
651 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
108 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
316 reviews
2.5 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
184 reviews
11.6 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Ridge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Ridge Country House

Address: Tarragona Road | Cnr R330 and Tarragona Road, St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: $154 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dune Ridge Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an extraordinary location on the outskirts of the picturesque village of St Francis Bay, this country house epitomises tranquility. This intimate family run guest house surrounded by rich coastal fynbos, an abundance of birdlife and large gardens typifies comfort and charm without compromising service or attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Dune Ridge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing