We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Thatchwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thatchwood
A TripAdvisor Member
Ireland
511
Reviewed March 19, 2006

Find Trip Advisor really helpful so just wanted to add in some tips from my own recent visit to South Africa. This accomodation was recommended in some brochures and I thought it would be a safe bet. The room we had was dreary and tired looking. When the bath taps were run, lots of ants came out. I know we were in a hot climate but I don't think that's acceptable. The accomodation was R350 pp sharing which is about €50 each and for that price we got some great accomodation in SA. This was definitely not great although the owners were friendly and the breakfast OK.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Corinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank José v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Hans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatchwood, Manager at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamer 1 is echt top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxforthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Twee persoonskamer is top. Voor gezin met kleinere kinderen is er de familiekamer met beneden en bov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jarny2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatchwood, Owner at Thatchwood, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.7 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
644 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
148 reviews
10.7 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Oyster Bay
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
311 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchwood

Address: 63 Lyme North Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: $75 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchwood 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Thatchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchwood Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing