We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place!”
Review of Thatchwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thatchwood
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed for a week at Thatchwood, arriving after a very long journey from the UK. We were given a very warm welcome by Harrie and Sara and immediately felt at home. Their hospitality was faultless Our room was lovely; spacious and very tastefully furnished. We had some great weather during our stay so were able to make use of the sun loungers by the pool after our games of golf. There are 2 great golf courses right on the doorstep. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. Overall we would recommend Thatchwood very highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueB2985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    26
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
72
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this lovely place only for one night as a stop over to another place, but if I knew how great it was we would definetly stay there a bit longer. Our room and bathroom were big and beautifully decorated. In the morning you can have delicious breakfast on the terrace. Staff is very friendly and helpful, you can see that they really care about you having a good time during your stay. Moreover, St. Francis is a small beautiful place with white houses with thatch roofs, channels, harbour where you can eat fresh seafood and hospital for seabirds that you can visit. All in all, loved this place and would definetly love to come back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ksenia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I really enjoyed stauying here. The hosts were very accomodating to my needs and I would really stay there again. I can really recommend staying here. Roads toward the lodge is very good, but I would not recommend driving into town at night - lots of potholes. Restaurants and coffee shops in the area are all very good - I used different ones with every meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

the location is excellent especially for a golfer. Hospitality very good and the only bad thing was the handbasin in the bathroom. Reqires that you are at least 175 cm tall to be able to use it in a proper way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maassluis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

we had the best time ever at Thatchwood lodge!! It's a very nice bed &breakfast with spacious bedrooms and a nice livingroom. breakfast is superb!!
owners were very kind and helpful and really made our stay special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank els v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent service including same day Laundry.
Good sized & quiet Bedroom with Bath & large Shower area en suite.
Great access to Golf Courses, Shops & Restaurants.
Good sitting in & sitting out areas. Good sized Swimming pool immaculately maintained.
The worst part of Thatchwood ? Having to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank drb_indigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I called Thatchwood late on Thursday evening 10 Jan 2013 to ask for a room as this is my favourite place in St Francis.I was welcomed warmly as a late arrival at 20h30 and enjoyed the super comfortable room and glorious garden setting breakfast, so much so I changed my travel plans and decided to spend 3 more nights at Thatchwood. Charm, good food, warmhearted hosts and staff, always perfect at Thatchwood has always been my experience and a great base for golf, surf, beach holidays.

Room Tip: Inside patio rooms very luxurious with secluded garden patios. Outside rooms very private and charmi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.7 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
577 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mandyville Hotel
Mandyville Hotel
#1 of 2 in Jeffreys Bay
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
283 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brisan On The Canals
Brisan On The Canals
#9 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchwood

Property: Thatchwood
Address: 63 Lyme North Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thatchwood 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Thatchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatchwood Saint Francis Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing