We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming surroundings, but great atmosphere”
Review of Christy's Catch

Christy's Catch
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unassuming surroundings, but great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a restaurant specialising in fish and other fusion dishes. It was recommended to us by the B & B owner and fully deserved it. The food was good and tasty, service very prompt and it reasonably prices. No wonder it was busy giving it a great atmosphere!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    73
    46
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

When we passed Christy's earlier in the day, it looked a bit like a cafe, but in the evening, the atmosphere improved and the food was very good quality. Service was also very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 497Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Almost a beach bar”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Arrived to eat and restaurant was busy. They had already gold out of local line catch of the day. However, we chose something else off the menu which was just as good. A good glass of sauvingon blanc too

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Christy's Catch SFB”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The seafood is fresh and very well prepared and presented .The outside tables are great in summer ! At the times we visited , the prices were reasonable and the portions generous

Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exorbitant - How to do a years turnover in 2 weeks!!!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Christy's Catch is very well known in St Francis Bay and certainly the best place for fish and chips in town. But it is just fish and Chips, no fine dining here!The restaurant is casual, comfortable and is meant to be just that, a casual place to have fish and chips while on a beach holiday. It is indeed the best fish and chips place in town, however when the bill hits you on the head, you are left wondering whether you had fish and chips for dinner or Lobster Thermidor in a 5 star restaurant? To their credit they allow a corkage and if you really want to taste a really good fish and chips buy it as a take-away - you get exactly the same thing at HALF the PRICE - I am not joking. For Fresh Oysters as a take-away, you pay R8-50. To eat it in the restaurant, it is a whopping R13-00. My son who loves calamari, and he had a calamari and hake Combo at a whopping R120-00. As a take-away it would have cost R60-00. The service is poor at best and one is shuttled in and out rather rapidly.
So Christy's Catch, in future I will only do takeaways which I will enjoy on the Wildside in Cape Saint Francis, the ambience and the view are infinitely better and I won't leave with indigestion when I settle my bill.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christy's Catch also viewed

Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Christy's Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing