We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay at this family run guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Milkwood Country Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

we were booked into Milkwood Cottage by family as part of a wedding we were attending in St Francis Bay. From the moment we got there to the moment we left we received 5 star service. we were met as we got out our car by the owner Lorraine and escorted to view our accommodation. we were not disappointed with the clean and well presented rooms. we had a party of 5 and once we settled in we went to explore the gardens and pool area, Lorraine and her husband Peter offered us a nice glass of South African wine to enjoy sitting by the pool. the next morning breakfast was excellent and our host could not do enough for us. unfortunately we were only staying one night as i think this would be a great base to see the surrounding area. 5 star treatment from 5 star people well recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrainemontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 60 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Milkwood Cottage and Lorraine was very welcoming. Our comfortable room led out into the beautiful garden with loungers and a pool. The breakfast was delicious and it was interesting to talk to Lorraine and her husband about our next stop at Pumba Game Reserve. Lorraine suggested we went to Cape St Francis, just 10 minutes away, and we had an amazing few hours walking round the cape, watching the huge waves crashing against the rocks and generally just chilling out. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrison25, Owner at Milkwood Country Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Good morning

So glad you enjoyed your visit at Milkwood Country Cottage. The visit to Cape St Francis is a must when staying here.

Trust that your game sighting were fantastic at Pumba.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Loraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nice guesthouse in St. Francis. Bay. Restaurants within walking distances, nice breakfast, but the rooms would need a slight modernisation. Shower with no shower curtain, so the floor was very wet afterwards. We saw the host only when she handed over the bill and then she disappeared again. Everything else was done by the household-help – which she did good, but not what I expect from a rather small guesthouse.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebbi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrison25, Owner at Milkwood Country Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Good morning

Thank you for your input - we appreciate it. If you do look at our other reviews you will notice that we are very much part of the running of our business - it is not always possible to be here all the time. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a wonderful time. Lorraine made me feel very welcome and at home. The breakfast, hospitality, warmth, cleanliness and friendliness was a real treat. The rooms were so cosy and furnished so tastefully. Thank you so much. The location was an added bonus. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at Milkwood for 5 nights. Received a very warm welcome from Loraine who went out of her way to make our stay a good one. Our room, which had a comfortable kingsize bed, had doors leading out onto a lovely garden with pool - and a golf course just beyond.
Our delicious breakfasts were served in a most delightful setting in the thatched dining room.
We would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while driving the Garden Route and found the location was perfect, our rooms were homely and comfortable and our hosts were hospitable, charming and very kind. I would recommend packing extra mosquito repellent, but definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthBased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at milkwood for two nights, From the moment we arrived to when we left our host went out of there way to make us welcome.It was spotlessly clean and quality furniture,the food ,location and the hosts were perfect a real home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrison25, Owner at Milkwood Country Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

It was our pleasure to host you and we hope that when you visit SA again you will come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
0.5 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
105 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milkwood Country Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milkwood Country Cottage

Address: 137 St Francis Drive, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: $74 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Milkwood Country Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milkwood Country Cottage has unique charm and is situated in a village like no other St Francis Bay, gateway to the famed Garden Route, 1 hour away from Port Elizabeth. It is here you will come to enjoy time to yourself, time to unwind and rejuvenate. It’s here that time itself seems to take it’s pace from the lazy river meandering slowly into the Indian Ocean. You’re in a place of beauty, natural splendour and charm. From the moment you arrive at Milkwood Country Cottage you’ll experience the meaning of a “true holiday”. You will carry with you fond memories and experiences of Milkwood and the St Francis Bay area for many years to come. This is our personal promise to all our guests. Milkwood is the perfect place from which to enjoy the many activities in St Francis Bay. Golf (literally on our doorstep) – 5 paces takes you onto the 15th fairway – to the wide range of water sports, horse riding, hiking and cycling to more relaxing pastimes like lazing at the pool, sunbathing or walking on our pristine beaches – you’ll never run out of things to do. Within 3 – 5 minutes you can walk to the club house, the beach, shops, restaurants and coffee shops. St Francis Bay together with Milkwood Country Cottage offers the fortunate few a delightful escape from the pressures of daily life. Here among the graceful thatch roof homes next to the waters edge, is a haven of peace and tranquillity. Once this lifestyle has been experienced, it becomes a precious memory to cherish again and again.AccommodationOur four rooms are individually decorated and all en-suite, to meet the various needs of all our guests. Each of the four bedrooms have a private entrances leading onto the patio/pool area, they are equipped with colour TV, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and affords views onto the picturesque golf course. It is here that you will experience tranquillity, warm hospitality and time to unwind and rejuvenate. Laze along our sparkling pool and be enthralled by breath taking sunsets from your patio.You are in a place of beauty natural splendour and charm.Wake up to glorious mornings with the sound of birds in our well established gardenFor the golf enthusiast golf packages can be arranged at the Links and St Francis Bay Golf Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Milkwood Country Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing