We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay in this B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A very pleasant stay in this B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

On our way to Port Elizabeth we made a stop at the B&B On the spot which was more than pleasant. We got some goo tips about restaurant and shopping possibilties from the owner of this B&B. The habor is nice to visit. G.Turk

Room Tip: A very quiet location of the B&B a bit outside the village of St Francis
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerbrand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your time to review your stay with us! Wishing you both many more travels in our beautiful country. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
72
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed one night at On the Spot in January 2014, at the beginning of a Garden Route experience. Arrived late in the evening due to thick fog on the journey from Port Elizabeth. However, not only was Inge waiting for us with a warm welcome, but also ensured we managed to get a meal at a restaurant in the town despite being after hours.

The room was spotless, and very comfortable. An excellent breakfast was enjoyed in the morning.

Highly recommended for a friendly B&B in a a beautiful part of SA. Wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisManchester70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your time to review your short stay. Your feedback is truly appreciated and we trust you experienced a memorable Garden Route and a great South African holiday! Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

An amazing place to stay. Lovely spotless rooms. Delicious, fresh breakfast each day. Excellent hosts. Will certainly be returning. Highly recommend this excellent B n B. A wonderful holiday destination! On the spot certainly made our holiday a very memorable one!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon & Grant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review (and your email!). It's wonderful to realize that visitors like yourselves still appreciate and enjoy St Francis Bay and surroundings for so many years (actually since your childhood!!!) It is therefore so much more meaningful to us and our staff if you experienced your stay with us to be comfortable and relaxing. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graaff Reinet
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Me and my wife originate from the Karoo and just wanted to break away to a place where we can relax and enjoy a breather from our tough work schedule. From the moment we arrived at On the spot B&B we felt at home and everything about the establishment is top class. From the management to the staff. Clean well secure proffessional and relaxed. Worthy of its 4 star grading. Truly a top class establishment.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poenkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Wonderful to receive your review as well your heartwarming guest book entry! Really appreciated! We wish you both a great 2014 (and beyond!!!) as Mr. and Mrs. and that your trip and stay with us was a "delayed honeymoon"! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I can't praise the service here enough. The standard compared to many B and Bs that I have stayed in in the UK was absolutely 5*. Spotlessly clean rooms, spa slippers and dressing gowns on arrival, well stocked mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary sherry!

The breakfast was fantastic, Inge provided the most delicious cooked breakfast in addition to cereals, yoghurts, toast, cold meats, cheeses etc.

The rooms are situated around a lovely central pool and it is a very quiet location.

The beach is very closeby although I was so tired after a long drive I just chilled by the pool all day as it was so relaxing here!

Inge and Stephen are really lovely hosts who went out of their way to be helpful. We were able to book on to our flight online from here and print our boarding passes out which was so helpful. They helped us with info on the surrounding area and were just all round lovely hosts. We loved our stay here and just wished we were staying longer and not just a short stop over before we flew from Port Elizabeth.

Thank you both so much.

(on a personal note we wish Stephen a speedy recovery - ouch! )

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppysouthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you sincerely for your review! it was great having you all and wish you many more happy travels to our country (and village). Your recovery wishes are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Unfortunately we hardly got to know Inge as we arrived late afternoon and needed to be off at 6.00 am next day to catch plane at Port Elizabeth. However Inge got up with us to see us off and packed us the most wonderful packed breakfast to eat on arrival at the airport- we were the envy of many a fellow traveller!
Our room was beautifully appointed and the bed very comfortable. We would have no hesitation in returning next time we visit S. Africa- its on our list for 2 years hence.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Really appreciate your time to review especially as our time to meet was so brief!
Hopefully triggered a possible extended stay on future visits to our village! Warm wishes for a great 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

On the spot cancelled our stay with 5 days notice without argumentation. Thus we cannot rate our stay. We are very disappointed, had a look for other accommodation( albeit that alternative was offered). The fact that i receive this request for review disappoints me as well, apparently the cancellation is not properly recorded. Now wait if/when we get refund of our prepayment

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Walter584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Your disappointment of your cancelled 1 night booking is sincerely shared with compassion as unforeseen, unexpected and compelled extended hospitalization nearly 700 km away resulted to the temporary closure.Regrettably you declined the arranged alternative accommodation where you would have been so well cared for and still have experienced our beautiful village. The refund was also processed immediately on our return which was prior to the date of your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
1.6 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cottage on the Hill Guest House
Cottage on the Hill Guest House
#7 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Milkwood Country Cottage
Milkwood Country Cottage
#6 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandriver Lodge
Sandriver Lodge
#8 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay

Property: On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay
Address: cnr Sardinia / Carlo De Wolpe Rd | Santareme, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Spot B&B at St Francis Bay is a 4 STAR / AA Superior establishment. On the premises is a swimming pool, BBQ facilities, on site secured access controlled parking. All children welcome. No pets allowed. Credit card facilities. This charming coastal village on the Sunshine Coast captures the heart of all its visitors and is where this establishment is situated in its tranquil setting just 30 meters from the water’s edge of the warm Indian Ocean. Take 21 km off the main Garden Route to this unique, sophisticated, yet wild at heart architectural village and experience sea breeze filled days in our beautiful natural surroundings of nature reserves, dunes, river and sea. Where warm hospitality gets its meaning and the emphasis is on outdoor life with the bracing sea air and sunshine. 5 Luxury Full en-suite Rooms; bath/shower, two family rooms are inter-leading, King or twin beds with amenities, extra length beds, quality linen, extra blankets, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, pool/beach towels provided, serviced daily, mini fridge, complimentary coffee/tea tray and sherry, heater, fan, digital safe, 32” HD flat screen satellite TV with lots of channels.....this is home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing