We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We had a wonderful few days here. The hosts were simply amazing. They make you feel very much at home and go out of their way to help in any way they can. They suggested/booked restaurants for us and suggested things to do in the area. Would have loved to go fishing with Stephen, he knows his stuff!
They are located in a quiet part of town, away from the rush of people (not that St Francis ever has a big rush, but we liked being away from the centre). It is just a minute to walk to the sea. It is also a very short drive to the centre of town in one direction and the marina in the other. St Francis really has a special vibe about it, so if you have not been there before, go!
The rooms were very nice and clean. They had everything you need. Beds were very comfy. Bathrooms were a good size. Everything looks brand new and in great condition.
Breakfast was amazing, fresh muffins baked by Inge was my favourite thing. Just what you need to start the day. Next time we are in the area we will go straight back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnOhDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
72
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cullompton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We booked this B and B in advance for four nights, leaving just before Christmas 2011. Our room was spotless and the bathroom very clean and certainly large enough (separate bath and large shower). Both of the hosts/owners were extremely helpful with what to do in the local area and day trips/travel routes. The pool was spotless and it was very quiet at night. If the tide is out then you can walk to the beach but if not then it is about a five minute drive through the houses (this is the same for the restaurants). Amazing views if you walk two minutes down to the coast from the B and B and an excellent spot to watch out for surfers/seals/doplhins and sea otters. Both my husband and I really enjoyed our time there (he was only disappointed that we weren't organised enough to use the braai) and the breakfast was very good - fruit, cold meats, breads, hot, yoghurts etc. I would certainly recommend this to anyone thinking of basing themselves in the area.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

It is our second visit to On the Spot and once again it was memorable. Inge and Stephen really do know how to make your stay. I can really recommend On the Spot to anyone looking for a perfect place to take a well-earned rest. Oh and come hungry- the breakfast is out of this world! We had such a relaxing time around the beatifully kept pool and the hosts are as keen as ever to assit where they can. We will most certainly be back next year (again) for what is becoming an annual ritual.

Room Tip: All rooms are great- my personal favorite is room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TPeyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Tammy
it was so nice seeing you and Tinus you both look so healthy and it was a real pleasure serving you again as our valued guests THANK YOU for this wonderfull review and we really look forward to serving you to our best ability next year also we wish you a blessed 2012

Kind regards

Your hosts

INGE & STEPHEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We showed up without reservations and were offered a good room against a good price. Value for money. Very quiet location and Stephen and Inge are fine hosts. We felt very welcome and unfortunately we could only stay one night...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huib D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Both Sephen and Inge, the owners of On the Spot B&B, we fantastic with our last minute booking for accomodation at Saint Francis Bay. They organised and sorted out a bed for our daughter in minutes. On arrival we were welcomed and offered refeshments, enquired about our plans, made reservations for supper as well as asked our preferences for breakfast, which was perfectly serverd in the warm dining area. Everything was perfect, from the luxurious room, which had everything to make our stay comfortable to the detail put into the deco and security features. As a business man who travels the Eastern Cape, On the Spot B&B have set the benchmark as they pitch at 5 star service and excusivity.

Room Tip: All great with easy access to the pool and dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Our only regret was that we did not spend another night here. The hosts were friendly, helpful and obliging. They recommended a great walk and lookout point, an even better restaurant (ChokkaBlock) and the route to the Tzitzikama Forest as well as a stunning scenic detour to Plettenberg Bay. Breakfast was wonderful and they were wonderful in providing gluten free bread for my wife. The shower was by far the best shower I have ever had and the room was spotless and beautifully decorated. If you are staying in St Francis you must stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We wished that we had stayed 2 nights in St Francis Bay as the beach walks here are so beautiful. You can go either along to the new harbour (to the restaurants) or the other way to a sandy bay, but take decent trainers as you will clamber over some rocks and small hills.
The rooms at on-the-spot are almost brand new and the mini bar was the best stocked and most reasonably priced that I have encountered anywhere. Free sherry in the room is a nice touch!
Personal service and hospitality from knowledgeable hosts are rare in the world these days.
Great place for few days chill -out, surfing, walking, etc

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthespotbb, Owner at On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your honest and valued review these kind of reviews really hits the spot it was a real pleasure serving you have a wonderful and safe festive season

Kind regards
Inge & Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
1.7 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milkwood Country Cottage
Milkwood Country Cottage
#7 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#5 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 19 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay

Property: On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay
Address: cnr Sardinia / Carlo De Wolpe Rd | Santareme, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Spot B & B at St Francis Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On The Spot B&B at St Francis Bay is a 4 STAR / AA Superior establishment. On the premises is a swimming pool, BBQ facilities, on site secured access controlled parking. All children welcome. No pets allowed. Credit card facilities. This charming coastal village on the Sunshine Coast captures the heart of all its visitors and is where this establishment is situated in its tranquil setting just 30 meters from the water’s edge of the warm Indian Ocean. Take 21 km off the main Garden Route to this unique, sophisticated, yet wild at heart architectural village and experience sea breeze filled days in our beautiful natural surroundings of nature reserves, dunes, river and sea. Where warm hospitality gets its meaning and the emphasis is on outdoor life with the bracing sea air and sunshine. 5 Luxury Full en-suite Rooms; bath/shower, two family rooms are inter-leading, King or twin beds with amenities, extra length beds, quality linen, extra blankets, bathrobes and slippers, hairdryer, pool/beach towels provided, serviced daily, mini fridge, complimentary coffee/tea tray and sherry, heater, fan, digital safe, 32” HD flat screen satellite TV with lots of channels.....this is home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing