We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dining experience”
Review of Five Elements - CLOSED

Five Elements
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Awarded the Best Restaurant 2011 Eastern Cape award from the Tourism & Conservation Board, Five Elements is unique to St. Francis Bay, the only purpose built restaurant in the region, is set amongst new vineyards, indigenous forest and olive orchards. Our chef emphasizes the use of seasonal, fresh , locally produced ingredients from the surrounding Kouga region which are carefully combined to create the exquisite dishes on our lunch and dinner menus.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great dining experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was a great experience, and what made it even more spectacular was the price. Being a private chef myself and in the tourism industry this was more than perfect. To eat at this standard and at this price is a dream come true. we had different tapas and one main course followed by a dessert and paid less than a good bottle of wine in Switzerland.

The food quality was great and the taste just perfect. We loved it so much we will be going back tomorrow.

Thank you for this experience

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgelangham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent dining at Five Elements”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Dining at the Five Elements Restaurant in Port St Francis was a wonderful experience. Our visit was in the heart of the winter and the fireplace and ambience made was heart warming. The service throughout the evening was exceptional. The food is elegantly presented and mouth-watering.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A well kept secret”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This Restaurant hidden among newly laid out olive grove and vineyards is a must visit for anyone that comes within eating range. The ambience is brilliant; the food so tasty and well presented and the winelist has its own unique character.
Sit around in the lounge with a drink while your meals are prepared and enjoy the lovely open fireplaces during those colder winter evenings.
There isn't something like this for miles around!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThaboCapeStFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“just fantastic”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

great service combined with excellent food makes it worth a trip to St Francis Bay alone!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dag A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lendelede, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top restaurant at "the end of the world"”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We enjoyed from the first to the last minute our dining experience.
Service started already at the moment we arrived with our car.
We were greeted at the parking space.
We received a personalised menu with the names of all our friends on the front page of the menu card.
Wines were different from the wines you normally can choose in other restaurants.
Their price/quality balance was excellent.
And the food was superb.
Definitely a place to come back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank filip_rosselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Elements also viewed

Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing