We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and professional operation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trattoria San Francesco - CLOSED

Trattoria San Francesco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and professional operation”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We visited in the height of season yet our service was great. Drinks were brought quickly and though we waited for the food it was good quality and we were never left unattended. For a town that experiences significant holiday peaks we were very impressed with the service and will certainly return.

Helpful?
Thank THW03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    3
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
1 review
“Local is Lekker”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Amazing evening had by all, this includes my always on the go parents and young daughter. Thank you for a warm welcome and delicious food. Looking forward to our next meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic meal. Enjoyed by all. ..party of 12. Great lasagne. Friendly atmosphere and fantastic service.

Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice enough location, friendly welcome. Menu typically italian. Good selection of wines. Speciality starter, as displayed on the blackboard, was not available. Mushroom starter chosen as alternative was tasteless. Pasta seafood wrap for main was good although maybe slightly more quantity than quality. Good espresso. For the prices charged would have expected a much higher standard. Compared to all other restaurants visited from Cape Town to St Francis Bay over 16 nights this meal was the most disappointing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aidan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrattSF, Owner at Trattoria San Francesco, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Nadine & Aidan,
I am terribly sorry you had such a disappointing meal at Trattoria on Tuesday 19/11/2013.
Your feedback is appreciated and we will take all your comments into consideration.
We do value all our customers, especially tourists that make up a large portion of our trade.
Management on duty perhaps did not handle the situation as well as they could have. You were however not charged for the pizza bread you did not eat.
We trust you enjoyed your trip in South Africa and will return for a visit some time soon.
Yours Sincerely
Claudia Urzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointing food”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I certainly know very good italian food but I have to say I was very disappointed when we ate dinner here. I had the caprese salad which consisted of loads of mozzarella, pesto and watery tomatoes but that was it. No real taste or love for italian food showed. And my pizza bread was paper thin and only tasted where the garlic was spread. The lasagne was poor too. All of these dishes are basic italian food and you would expect them to be at least good. I am usually never that critical but this was so disappointing. We paid the full price, no question why we didn't like it (I left 3/4 of my pizza bread and lasagne on the table) I assume because they know that tourists won't come again?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrattSF, Owner at Trattoria San Francesco, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Nadine & Aidan,
I am terribly sorry you had such a disappointing meal at Trattoria on Tuesday 19/11/2013.
Your feedback is appreciated and we will take all your comments into consideration.
We do value all our customers, especially tourists that make up a large portion of our trade.
Management on duty perhaps did not handle the situation as well as they could have. You were however not charged for the pizza bread you did not eat.
We trust you enjoyed your trip in South Africa and will return for a visit some time soon.
Yours Sincerely
Claudia Urzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria San Francesco also viewed

Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Saint Francis Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing