We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Francis Golf Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2014

it is very good place for a holiday, I like it very much I will come back again. It
is a very beautiful place and also security is good and I feel safe. It is close to every where. I like this place. It is very close to the beach and not far from
the all the restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jianping D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

St Francis Golf Lodge is a touch of luxury on the Links - the beautifully decorated and comfortable bedrooms are complimented by large modern bathrooms with 5star amenities. The exquisite lounge/dining area looks out onto the 1st tee and has a well stocked honesty bar - from great South African wines to slices of lemon for your G&T. Breakfast is delicious with fresh fruit and yoghurts, excellent coffee, perfectly cooked eggs and all the trimmings. Elma is the manager, nothing is too much trouble, she is generous with her time and she has a wonderful knowledge of everything you need to know about holidaying in South Africa. We'll definitely be staying at St Francis Golf Lodge again.

Room Tip: Choose between a view of the golf course, or an outside shower. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandysSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the lodge after playing the course and enjoyed the location of the lodge - between the 1st & 10th tees and just a short walk from the Clubhouse! We could watch the golfers teeing off from our bedroom windows and while having breakfast on the patio. The service was excellent, from booking our tee times and having a golf cart delivered to the lodge, to making our dinner reservations, the staff went out of their way for us.
We will be back for a longer stay next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Freddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We unfortunately arrived later than we were hoping to and yet were welcomed warmly none the less.
It certainly is one of the cleanest establishments we have stayed in and we do travel accross the world. Well done to all your staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ansa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Elma and Abigail were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful room, fantastic view, delicious breakfasts and teas. Recommend it to anyone! Will be back.


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnnBloemfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Since arrival I had the most friendly 5 star service and care. Elma the hostess, received us with friendly and warm greeting and took me to my beautiful, comfortable room with a view of the Links Golf Course.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My son and I stayed for three nights, Elna was the perfect hostess, great breakfast, and wonderful ambiance, rooms were well appointed, great pressure in the shower, and spacious bathroom, ample safe parking

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trevor & Harley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.8 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
113 reviews
10.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Lodge
Oyster Bay Lodge
#1 of 2 in Humansdorp
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#2 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
176 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#5 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
183 reviews
1.7 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#3 of 18 in Saint Francis Bay
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Francis Golf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Francis Golf Lodge

Address: 10 Jack Nicklaus Drive | St Francis Links, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: $136 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Francis Golf Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Presiding over the 1st tee of the award winning, Jack Nicklaus designed, St Francis Links course, St Francis Golf Lodge is a place where golf enthusiasts can escape to indulge their favourite pastime and relax in the beautiful surrounds of St Francis Bay in South Africa. The lodge is located within walking distance to The Links Clubhouse. The Lighthouse Restaurant and Jack's Bar at the Clubhouse is open daily from 6h30 for breakfast & lunch and on Monday & Wednesday evenings for dinner. The Clubhouse also has excellent conference facilities as well as a Day Spa. St Francis Golf Lodge consists of two separate 5 bedroom houses adjacent to each other. Stay in one of our 10 Double/Twin en-suite bedrooms of which 8 rooms are on the 1st floor (stairs) and have large walk-in showers and standing balconies with views of the golf course. The remaining 2 rooms are on the ground floor/entrance level (no stairs) and have large private enclosed patios, indoor and outdoor showers as well as baths, but has no view of the golf course. Additional facilities includes reduced Gold Membership green fees, 24 hr security, ample parking, swimming pool, free Wi Fi connection in the public areas and bedrooms, Honesty Bar, TV lounge with a big screen television offering the full DSTV bouquet of channels, DVD player, library, games and laundry facilities. Thoughtful service, laid back comfort, and the opportunity to test your mettle on one of the Top 10 courses in South Africa is all part of the St Francis Golf Lodge experience. Guests can expect to leave with a replenished spirit and a renewed love of the game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your St Francis Golf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing