We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Sandriver Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandriver Lodge
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed in Sandriver Lodge for a night in January and really loved it. The rooms are really big and spacious and very comfortable. The owners are lovely lovely people, very friendly and helpful. Don’t miss breakfast – its great!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sinead O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Sandriver Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 70 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

Staying at Sandriver Lodge is always like home from home. Comfortably,spacious rooms and a good breakfast. The management, Marc and Anneke, and their staff are always friendly, helpful and make one feel at home. Walking distance to the village with lovely shops and also walking distance to the beach, only ten minutes to the lighthouse and port for more entertainment or a bite to eat. Love going there.

Room Tip: If looking for self-catering, rooms have what you need.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMW96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

To escape the city as a Business person, found this lovely lodge near to the beach where i could relax and and unwind. Very good rates. Lovely clean and organised rooms, close to all amenaties so what a pleasure it was to walk everywhere and be able to find what i needed. The hosts are very welcoming and really go the EXTRA mile for the guests. With a awesome fish braai at the lapa and really generous breakfasts. I loved this place so much that i now frequent there with my family.What a great place for kids! with so much for them to do and so safe. They loved the boogie boarding and fishing on the river.

SEE YOU AGAIN REAL SOON - JANINE ELS

Room Tip: i prefer the Self catering which is awesome. There are upstairs units with part views and the rooms...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janine301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We experienced a really warm welcome upon arrival.

The (self-catering) room we had, was really superb. It was very clean and tidy. Also the spacious bathroom was good. Because of the extremely dry season, everybody was asked to not to spoil water, so we didn't 'dare' to fill the big bath tub...

The location in the town is well chosen. On the main road near the road entering the town, but with a lot of shops and things to do and eat within walking distance.

Unfortunately, we had to move on the next day, but it is really a great place to spend days or even weeks...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joris_and_Wilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We are regular, happy visitors to Sandriver Lodge and on our last visit, we were with friends who thoroughly enjoyed the stay-over as well. We stayed upstairs in the "Sand River" room which was very relaxing with a homely atmosphere - a comfortable bed with fresh linen. We enjoyed a delicious dinner with Marc and Anneke, Saskia and Daniel and had a really good night's sleep, ready for an early departure the next morning (with a packed breakfast included). Yummy.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMW96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed in the "Sand River" house, which had three bedrooms, and loved it. It was charming and comfortable, lots of room, and completely unpretentious. Good value for money. I would recommend this unit for families or groups of friends.

It was only a short walk to get to the beach. Also within walking distance of the house was a little shopping centre with a grocery store, pharmacy, restaurants etc., so we could easily stock up on supplies. The kitchen in our unit was well equipped.

The owners were helpful and friendly.

We here just off-season, and so the weather was still good but the crowds were gone. I think we might have had a very different experience at high season.

We stayed only two nights, but could have happily stayed a month - so relaxing!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrongwaysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Anneke and Marc are amazing, so friendly and caring. Anneke's breakfast is great and Marc is always eager to share his stories and to take you fishing.

We were upgraded to a self-catering suite with our own kitchen. It was huge and the interior was simple but beautiful. Service was great.

The beach is just around the corner and it's just a short drive to J'bay.

Great value for money. Hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ele75FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
2.4 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Self-Catering Accommodation
Summerhill Self-Catering Accommo...
#11 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandriver Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandriver Lodge

Address: cnr St Francis Bay & Anne Ave | Across From the Village Centre, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: $57 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandriver Lodge, is centrally situated in the village of St Francis Bay. Walk 200m to the beach, 100m to the golf course, across to the shops and restaurants, tennis and squash courts.We have a garden 'cafe' where delicious breakfasts are served, and dinners on request.Newly renovated with a tiled roof, we have gone back to the "beginning" of St Francis Bay with the rustic feel of fisherman cottages. Copper pipes are exposed against bagged white walls, with sea shells in the plaster, sand coloured tiled floors and the relaxed feel of St Francis Bay. Sandriver Lodge offers uniquely styled and set up accommodation to suit many different needs. Accommodation for one, a family, self catering or perhaps more cosy & private with breakfast in bed...We have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandriver Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing