We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of i-Lollo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
i-Lollo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The rooms have stunning views over the river with views out to sea. The rooms are comfortable and clean and Ann is a wonderful hostess. Who could wish for more? We will miss the delicious breskfasts. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best views with incredible sunsets over the river mouth. Enjoy with a glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review i-Lollo. We are so pleased you had pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    39
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at I Lollo for two nights with our two children and had a wonderful time. The accommodation couldn't be faulted - all the extras you could hope for- tea,coffee,hair dryer, toiletries, spotlessly clean and the comfiest beds & bedding. Anne and her husband made us so welcome and gave us great ideas for places to go and eat, making the best of our time at St Francis. The location was great - 20 yards onto the beach. Most people would need your car to get into the centre of St Francis for dinner / shopping but it is only 5 minutes drive and the separation ensures complete tranquility at all times at the house and also on the beach - definitely worth it! Thank you Anne and family -we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The two downstairs rooms can be linked together to make a great family unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliRoberts_Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We so enjoyed having you and your lovely family at i-Lollo and would love to see you again soon. The beagles are missing all the extra attention from your boys.
Warm regards,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying two nights at I-lollo in March. I had read TripAdvisor reviews which all seem very positive. We were not disappointed. I booked direct with Ann (our host) and was delighted with our room one of the front rooms overlooking the river estury. The view was stunning, and with a comfortable balcony, we spent most of our first afternoon, sitting and taking in the view.

The property is situated towards the end of a very quiet road, and across the road you can walk down on the sand and walk for miles if you so wish.

Our room had a thatched ceiling with a large and comfortable bed, good sized bathroom, tea and coffee and most useful a full sized fridge. This enabled us to buy picnic food and cool the wine! The room and guest house were spotless.

Ann is a lovely friendly host, she can provide good suggestions for trips out. Each morning we were served lovely breakfasts and had the opportunity to meet with other guests.

I-Lollo represents excellent value for money, if you want a quiet get-away with lovely views, look no further. Thank you Ann for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Book direct with owner and ask for a front facing upstairs room - the upstairs front rooms have balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of i-Lollo it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our special views and hospitality and trust you will visit us again someday soon.

Warm regards,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I-lollo Lodge is the perfect get-away. The property is located a stone's throw away from the beach and the view from our room - tastefully decorated, spacious and clean - was spectacular. It is a tranquil and safe spot for taking a long stroll along the water's edge. We most enjoyed exploring the canals on the canoes and cycling around the charming village.The hostess is very welcoming and provides outstanding service and a delicious breakfast. We had a wonderful holiday. When we go to St Francis Bay again, we won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Gorgeous property. The rooms were super cute and very clean. I loved the outdoor balcony right outside our room. The hosts are fantastic and made us a lovely breakfast each morning. They had bikes available for free to tour around. If you are going to stay in St Francis Bay look no further. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I know you will love this place as much as my family and I.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anb419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for reviewing i-Lollo.We so enjoyed having you and your family staying here and are pleased you enjoyed it and St Francis Bay. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our family expereinced a wonderful weekend break at I-lollo lodge recently. The setting was idyllic and a perfect place to take long walks in a safe and peaceful setting, a far cry from a busy city environment. Ann made us feel welcome and went out of her way to make our visit as comfortable as possible. The English breakfast served was delicious and I felt totally at home. Definitely would recommend the lodge to tourists who are seeking a reprieve from the hustle and bustle of a busy schedule and just want to sit back and relax. We had sundowners on the veranda which overlooks the river mouth and it was a picture perfect moment. We want to go back!

Room Tip: The upstairs bedrooms have a veranda so an ideal place to bask in the sun and watch the birdlife and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-lollo, owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to send a review.We are pleased you had a relaxed break away from the city with your family and enjoyed the beautiful suroundings of this peaceful corner of St Francis Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

As other writer's have indicated I-Lollo is located directly across the road (a very quite road) from the beach. Upon arrival we received a warm reception from our host Ann who provided a pot of tea and cookies. We were fortunate and had a large second floor room with a fantastic view. St. Francis Bay is a hidden gem. The B&B is set among white thatched homes in a quiet area with the ocean and canals right at hand - picture perfect. We booked this B&B not knowing much about the area. What a stroke of luck for us. If we return to South Africa will certainly return to I-lollo for longer. Sadly we were only there one night making our way back to Cape Town. Excellent breakfast too.

Room Tip: If possible get a second floor room - excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiagaraDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review i-Lollo Lodge. We so enjoyed having you spend time with us and glad you had a happy stay. We hope to see you again.

Regards,
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
3.6 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#2 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brisan On The Canals
Brisan On The Canals
#9 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandriver Lodge
Sandriver Lodge
#8 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to i-Lollo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about i-Lollo Lodge

Property: i-Lollo Lodge
Address: 71 Shore Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — i-Lollo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I-Lollo Lodge is situated just steps away from where the Kromme River meets the Indian Ocean. This idyllic location offers exceptional river, ocean and mountain views. Guests are free to explore these sandy shores at their leisure or take part in the many activities on offer these include water sports, swimming, fishing, walking and birding. Free use of canoes and bicycles is offered to explore the unique canals and river. All rooms include a private patio or balcony and views of the surrounding area or garden. Also included is free wi-fi, a television, a refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms offer complimentary toiletries. There is a swimming pool and outside seating area which guests may use. Guests at i-Lollo enjoy a free cooked English breakfast each morning complimented by fresh fruit juices, local yoghurts and a selection of cereals. The village centre and the Port St Francis harbour is a five minute drive away. Here you will find two golf courses, shops and a variety of restaurants including seafood, Greek and Italian fare. Our locally caught calamari is delicious! Cape St Francis, a 10 minute drive away offers a beautiful and expansive beach with great surfing, a beautiful lighthouse and the Penguin Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your i-Lollo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing