We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect get-away”
Review of i-Lollo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
i-Lollo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I-lollo Lodge is the perfect get-away. The property is located a stone's throw away from the beach and the view from our room - tastefully decorated, spacious and clean - was spectacular. It is a tranquil and safe spot for taking a long stroll along the water's edge. We most enjoyed exploring the canals on the canoes and cycling around the charming village.The hostess is very welcoming and provides outstanding service and a delicious breakfast. We had a wonderful holiday. When we go to St Francis Bay again, we won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for i-Lollo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 172 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Gorgeous property. The rooms were super cute and very clean. I loved the outdoor balcony right outside our room. The hosts are fantastic and made us a lovely breakfast each morning. They had bikes available for free to tour around. If you are going to stay in St Francis Bay look no further. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I know you will love this place as much as my family and I.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anb419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Thank you for reviewing i-Lollo.We so enjoyed having you and your family staying here and are pleased you enjoyed it and St Francis Bay. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our family expereinced a wonderful weekend break at I-lollo lodge recently. The setting was idyllic and a perfect place to take long walks in a safe and peaceful setting, a far cry from a busy city environment. Ann made us feel welcome and went out of her way to make our visit as comfortable as possible. The English breakfast served was delicious and I felt totally at home. Definitely would recommend the lodge to tourists who are seeking a reprieve from the hustle and bustle of a busy schedule and just want to sit back and relax. We had sundowners on the veranda which overlooks the river mouth and it was a picture perfect moment. We want to go back!

Room Tip: The upstairs bedrooms have a veranda so an ideal place to bask in the sun and watch the birdlife and...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-lollo, owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to send a review.We are pleased you had a relaxed break away from the city with your family and enjoyed the beautiful suroundings of this peaceful corner of St Francis Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

As other writer's have indicated I-Lollo is located directly across the road (a very quite road) from the beach. Upon arrival we received a warm reception from our host Ann who provided a pot of tea and cookies. We were fortunate and had a large second floor room with a fantastic view. St. Francis Bay is a hidden gem. The B&B is set among white thatched homes in a quiet area with the ocean and canals right at hand - picture perfect. We booked this B&B not knowing much about the area. What a stroke of luck for us. If we return to South Africa will certainly return to I-lollo for longer. Sadly we were only there one night making our way back to Cape Town. Excellent breakfast too.

Room Tip: If possible get a second floor room - excellent views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NiagaraDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I-lollo, Owner at i-Lollo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review i-Lollo Lodge. We so enjoyed having you spend time with us and glad you had a happy stay. We hope to see you again.

Regards,
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

i-Lollo Lodge is situated close to the river estuary in St. Francis Bay at the end of a cul-de-sac so complete peace is guaranteed. It will be hard to find a more peaceful and heavenly place than St Francis. The ocean, canals and boats, a clean and well-kept village, houses and villas painted in white with thatched roofs - unbelievably beautiful - paradise. The rooms at the accommodation are large and well-equipped including your own deck where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful views over a glass of wine. An excellent breakfast and very friendly hosts round off a most recommendable stay. Within 5 minutes two recommendable 18 hole golf courses are available. Good restaurants within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anthea002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful 10 day stay at i-Lollo Lodge. This beautiful guesthouse is accross the the road from the beach and river mouth and the upstairs rooms have breathtaking views of the rivermouth and ocean.

Our room was very comfortable and was meticulously cleaned daily. The scrumptious breakfasts were a real treat and will be sorely missed. Nothing was too much trouble for Anne our hostess and she happily took care of all our needs.

We feel rejuvinated after a wonderful stay and would highly reccomend i-Lollo Lodge to anyone visiting Saint Francis Bay.

Room Tip: If you want a view be sure to book an upstairs room.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RalfJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We needed a last-minute stopover on our trip up the Garden Route and i-Lollo Lodge was perfect. We had interleading rooms that were perfectly spacious and spotlessly clean (I am particularly particular about that!). White linen is always appreciated. The children were welcomed naturally and comfortably, which is often not the case. Breakfast was delicious and Ann was very friendly and accommodating.

Although we only stayed one night, I think it would be a great place to base yourself for a longer holiday in St. Francis Bay. Value for money guaranteed!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison_J_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
3.6 mi away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
620 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
104 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
295 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Milkwood Country Cottage
Milkwood Country Cottage
#6 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to i-Lollo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about i-Lollo Lodge

Address: 71 Shore Road, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: $49 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — i-Lollo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I-Lollo Lodge is situated just steps away from where the Kromme River meets the Indian Ocean. This idyllic location offers exceptional river, ocean and mountain views. Guests are free to explore these sandy shores at their leisure or take part in the many activities on offer these include water sports, swimming, fishing, walking and birding. Free use of canoes and bicycles is offered to explore the unique canals and river. All rooms include a private patio or balcony and views of the surrounding area or garden. Also included is free wi-fi, a television, a refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. The en-suite bathrooms offer complimentary toiletries. There is a swimming pool and outside seating area which guests may use. Guests at i-Lollo enjoy a free cooked English breakfast each morning complimented by fresh fruit juices, local yoghurts and a selection of cereals. The village centre and the Port St Francis harbour is a five minute drive away. Here you will find two golf courses, shops and a variety of restaurants including seafood, Greek and Italian fare. Our locally caught calamari is delicious! Cape St Francis, a 10 minute drive away offers a beautiful and expansive beach with great surfing, a beautiful lighthouse and the Penguin Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your i-Lollo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing