We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn and Monument Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Kayenta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kayenta
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hampton Inn and Monument Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Best Hampton Inn we have stayed in. Food and service much better than we expected. Just 22 miles from Monument Valley and Navajo Lands. Be sure to listen to the short presention on the "Code Talkers" and thier role with the Marines in World War II.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank sec311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    564
    181
    43
    31
See reviews for
376
627
67
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights as explored monument valley and Navajo nation. Very nice facility with friendly staff, expansive gift shop, and good breakfast. All good things didn't outweigh cost - most expensive accommodations we encountered in tour of Arizona and Utah.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeputyDan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Comments:
I really liked the decor.
The breakfast was a step above most Hampton Inns.
Very good location (for this area)
Very polite and helpful employees.
Only one washer/dryer for the entire facility
Room was dark.
Hall ways were very warm. The temperature was over 100 while we were in the area and the hall ways were not climate controlled.
The HVAC would not keep up with the heat - out room with the HVAC at full throttle was probable 76-78 degree.
The hotel also has a restaurant. Many times when arriving late and are staying at a hotel we will order delivery and eat in the common area (we always clean up after ourselves) but this is not an option here.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeputyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

nice location to visit monument valley. nobody at front desks told us that there was complimentary coffee available. when i asked how to get back to las vegas by car, the front desk said that i do not know,,, it is helpless unfortunately

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nobuko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were touring in the west and found that we'd be in the Monument Valley area on the Friday after July 4th. The only fairly decent hotel according to the reviews was this one, so we booked it, though it cost near two hundred bucks with taxes. The staff were wonderful, they couldn't have been more efficient and helpful. The room was to the usual standard for a Hampton Inn, but the construction of the building seems to have let them down. We heard banging and thumping sounds from upper floors as if they were right next to us. The air conditioning unit was noisy and marginally effective. But that's all it takes to make a good hotel in to a poor experience. As usual the free breakfast is worth what you pay for it. The Burger King next door is a lot better option for breakfast. What was offered here was the standard cheap hotel free breakfast of sausage patties you wouldn't buy which seemed to have been steamed, reconstituted 'scrambled egg' which was indistinguishable from suspiciously colored textured something or other, and potatoes which seemed to have been fried then steamed until they were falling to pieces. Not very nice when you spend a couple of hundred bucks on the room. But in the middle of the desert where else are you going to go? Back to Durango? On to Flagstaff? It's better than a flop house, so see if you can get an upstairs room and go somewhere else for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank cageordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I don't visit Kayenta too often but, on the four occasions I have stayed here over 9 years I have found it to be a great hotel. It is a cut above the average Hampton Inn because the management obviously takes great care and pride in maintaining the property and the service at the highest possible level. As a part of the Navajo nation there is an appropriate level of local flavor in the restaurant menu, the gift shop and the overall ambiance of the hotel. The blending of local culture with the efficient functioning of a hotel is perfect.

The rooms are always spotless, quiet and everything functions well. The restaurant has an extensive menu of dinner items and provides an excellent (included) breakfast in the morning.

They always seem to be full so I had to pay full rate (something I rarely do) but, in this case, I think it is worthwhile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Born_Old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Like most Hampton Inns, we found this place to be fulfilling our expectations. Rooms were clean and adequately sized. Good location for Monument Valley or if you’d like to do the hike to Betatakin (which you should btw). Although I realize this is a quite remote location I still thought the rate of 200+ USD to be quite expensive for what you’re getting. A fridge and room safe would have been nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank frankandsofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kayenta
1.3 mi away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
3.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
21.0 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
114.5 mi away
Days Inn Chambers AZ
Days Inn Chambers AZ
#1 of 1 in Chambers
3.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
21.1 mi away
Monument Valley Tipi Village Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kayenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kayenta

Property: Hampton Inn Kayenta
Address: US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Kayenta 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and make use of the well-equipped business center. Host a meeting or event for up to 45 guests in the versatile function room. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast® or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Indulge with delicious western-style dishes at Reuben Heflin Restaurant or sip tea or coffee at any time of the day in the cozy hotel lobby, featuring a warm, inviting fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Kayenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kayenta Hotel Kayenta
Kayenta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing