We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Kayenta at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kayenta
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked this as part of a package touring the Rockies and Grand Canyon. We arrived to find our reservation had been cancelled (a mystery). After a few anxious minutes ( the hotel was fully booked), a really nice member of reception said we can find you a room - great relief as there is not much choice in Kayenta, nor empty rooms.
Fearing we might end up with a rather grotty room, we were pleasantly surprised to see a double queen bed room, nicely furnished, with Navajo Indian touches. The room was nicely appointed and very comfortable.
We took dinner in the restaurant, which was good value and enjoyable. Service is by Navajo heritage staff, reflecting the area we were in.
So from a rather difficult start, this turned out to be a hotel I have no problem in recommending. One word of warning - the Navajo's do not approve of alcohol, so the hotel is "dry".

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kiwiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night in early September to base ourselves for a visit to Monument Valley. Admittedly, my hopes weren't high. I chose to stay here as it seemed to be the pick of all hotels in Kayenta. A such it was expensive, but I knew that when I booked, so I wasn't bothered by that. Room was clean, staff were friendly and we got an early check in which was appreciated. What really made this stay was the restaurant - the food/service were excellent. Complimentary breakfast offered many choices.

I'd certainly stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel is situated good. Staff is polite but not very kind and helpfull. Price is much too high. We had to wait till 16.00 before we could check in, though there were cleaned rooms. We booked this room because of the fitnessroom (medical reason), but this hotel never had a fitnessroom. Very odd cause several webpages of this hampton inn hotell is telling something different. Very disappointed. Restaurant is expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 64thefab4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionna d d, Manager at Hampton Inn Kayenta, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. I apologize for the misunderstanding about our fitness center and that we were unable to accommodate this need for you. Our facility is one of a few Hampton Inns that were not required to have a fitness center on site. According to our website (www.kayenta.hamptoninn.com) We do not list a fitness center on site. Unfortunately, we cannot control the websites of third party booking agencies and the content on their web pages. I am working with our website team to see if we can correct the third party booking websites information on our Hotel so there is no confusion for our future guests. We have listened to our guests request to add a fitness center, and we are happy to annouce that we are currently designing a fitness center for our hotel and it should be completed within the next year. I apologize for the inconvenience and do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

So convenient to Monument Valley, Mexican Hat, and the beauties of the region. Restaurant very nice, with some local food and Navajo wait staff. A wonderful Navajo flutist played in the lobby and visited with guests. A very nice extra. "Free" breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: No choice for us - we got the last one. Just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

First of all, it was very clean. But probably more importantly, the location was convenient. We were planning to stay in Mexican Hat, which is geographically closer to Monument Valley, but very, very empty. The staff were friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

While Kayenta, AZ is a small town, the Hampton Inn is a well appointed overnight stopping place when visiting Monument Valley. It is a quick drive to get there,and while the town does not have many restaurant options, it does not stand in the way of a very nice stay. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast is included. Please remember that you are staying on the Navajo Reservation so no alcohol is allowed. The breathtaking beauty of Monument Valley is the gem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The global level is good but people at service (desk and restuarant is not so available and efficient proportionally to the high price of this Hotel. In particular we arrived tired after many hundreds miles driving at8 pm. They said to wait 30 minutes for dinner and after when we finally sat at the resaturant they said there were 40 minutes more to wait to have food. So we went at the nearest Burger King or Mc Donald. Location is very good to go to Monument Valley (30 minutes by car).This was my most expensive night on a 20 days US tour .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank giorgio p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionna d d, Manager at Hampton Inn Kayenta, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for staying with us on your trip across the U.S. and for sharing your review. I always enjoy hearing from our guests and I am very sorry that you did not find value in your stay. I have taken your comments to our team to help us better meet and exceed our guest’s expectations moving forward. The next time you have the chance to travel back to the area I do hope that you will be our guest again. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Kayenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kayenta

Address: US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range: $144 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Kayenta 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and make use of the well-equipped business center. Host a meeting or event for up to 45 guests in the versatile function room. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast® or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Indulge with delicious western-style dishes at Reuben Heflin Restaurant or sip tea or coffee at any time of the day in the cozy hotel lobby, featuring a warm, inviting fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Kayenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kayenta Hotel Kayenta
Kayenta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing