We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good service, pricey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Kayenta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn Kayenta
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Certificate of Excellence
Bryan, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, good service, pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

So convenient to Monument Valley, Mexican Hat, and the beauties of the region. Restaurant very nice, with some local food and Navajo wait staff. A wonderful Navajo flutist played in the lobby and visited with guests. A very nice extra. "Free" breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: No choice for us - we got the last one. Just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    605
    204
    52
    33
See reviews for
418
703
76
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

First of all, it was very clean. But probably more importantly, the location was convenient. We were planning to stay in Mexican Hat, which is geographically closer to Monument Valley, but very, very empty. The staff were friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

While Kayenta, AZ is a small town, the Hampton Inn is a well appointed overnight stopping place when visiting Monument Valley. It is a quick drive to get there,and while the town does not have many restaurant options, it does not stand in the way of a very nice stay. The rooms are comfortable and breakfast is included. Please remember that you are staying on the Navajo Reservation so no alcohol is allowed. The breathtaking beauty of Monument Valley is the gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayenta
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The global level is good but people at service (desk and restuarant is not so available and efficient proportionally to the high price of this Hotel. In particular we arrived tired after many hundreds miles driving at8 pm. They said to wait 30 minutes for dinner and after when we finally sat at the resaturant they said there were 40 minutes more to wait to have food. So we went at the nearest Burger King or Mc Donald. Location is very good to go to Monument Valley (30 minutes by car).This was my most expensive night on a 20 days US tour .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank giorgio p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionna d d, Manager at Hampton Inn Kayenta, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on your trip across the U.S. and for sharing your review. I always enjoy hearing from our guests and I am very sorry that you did not find value in your stay. I have taken your comments to our team to help us better meet and exceed our guest’s expectations moving forward. The next time you have the chance to travel back to the area I do hope that you will be our guest again. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Though it seemed overpriced, this was a really nice place to stay in Northeastern Arizona. We were really impressed with the tasteful decor of the lobby and the rooms. We ate in the restaurant and found the service to be very attentive. The menu offered some good choices, including the chance to try fry bread. The breakfast that was included with the hotel stay was excellent. The swimming pool was well maintained. My only complaint in addition to the price of our stay is that the gift shop closed earlier than the posted time so we were unable to make a purchase that we planned to make prior to our departure. This appears to be by far the nicest hotel in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PackerFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed one night in July on the way to the Grand Canyon. Kayenta is a very small town and this hotel is clearly the best place to stay. They have a restaurant too which is a plus as the only other options are fast food places. The room and the food were standard, not bad for the location and I would recommend staying here for anyone stopping in Kayenta.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I booked two rooms in this hotel through a website on 18th and 20th July. When I checked out of the hotel on 30th July I was charged for the rooms and had not realised that I had already been charged at the time of booking. On return to England and seeing my credit card statement I realised an error had been made and I had paid £463 twice! I phoned the hotel and the person I spoke to was surly and unhelpful - no apology - and said it would be refunded on to my card. When I checked the next day, they had debited a further £95 without anything being credited. I phoned again and was again met with a surly response (different person) and told it was an error and would be refunded. I have since complained through the credit card company and Hampton Hotels centrally and the £463 has been refunded but not the £95. You have been warned of the severely incompetent staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 933Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dionna d d, Manager at Hampton Inn Kayenta, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us in Kayenta. We are very sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience.
Please accept our apology for the billing mistake, we know how frustrating and inconvenient this must have been. We are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a positive all around experience.
Please feel free to contact me directly to sort out the lingering issue with your credit. I can be reached at the hotel from 6am to 6pm (mountain standard time) Tuesday through Saturday .
Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kayenta
1.3 mi away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
21.0 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kayenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kayenta

Property: Hampton Inn Kayenta
Address: US Highway 160, PO Box 1219, Kayenta, AZ 86033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Kayenta 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and make use of the well-equipped business center. Host a meeting or event for up to 45 guests in the versatile function room. Wake up to Hampton's free hot breakfast® or grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Indulge with delicious western-style dishes at Reuben Heflin Restaurant or sip tea or coffee at any time of the day in the cozy hotel lobby, featuring a warm, inviting fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Kayenta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kayenta Hotel Kayenta
Kayenta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing