We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only average”
Review of Blue Coffee Pot

Blue Coffee Pot
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Kayenta
Cuisines: Native American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Only average”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

There is not a lot of choice in Kayenta, so we ended up in the Blue Coffee Pot, which was just at walking distance from our hotel, Monument Valley Inn. When we arrived the vegetable buffet was already finished. They still served hot food, so we ordered various dishes. Everything was rather greasy and all tasted the same. Staff was not really friendly. Maybe the restaurant/staff had a though and long day. Would not go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Auroragrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    95
    61
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
751 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 642 helpful votes
“Where the locals dine”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had never heard of the place but decided to give it a try for dinner after we’d checked in at the Wetherill Inn and it was time for dinner anyway. The place is built as a polygonal, presumably to resemble the eponymous coffee pot. The center is taken up by the salad bar, and tables are arranged in two concentric rings, the outer one along the windows, the inner one between that and the salad bar. You can seat yourself.
Most of the other diners were local natives. A friendly waitress came to our table right away when we had sat down and brought the menus, taking our drinks order right away. There is a nice choice of Navajo dishes, Mexican dishes as well as salads and sandwiches, or ribs – pork or beef. We could see from the adjacent table that the portions were really large, and looked enticing indeed. Walt chose hamburger steak with the trappings, and I ordered enchiladas. The food arrived before too long – after all, the place was really busy – and it was really good.
When you’re done you take your check to the check-out counter and pay there, meaning you don’t have to wait for the waitress to come back. One thing you need to know: they only take cash. But since most of the dishes are just under or a bit over ten bucks, this is no big deal. Our two dinners came to under 20 bucks before the tip.
Good food, friendly and prompt service, VERY reasonable prices, nice atmosphere, clean … what more can you ask. It’s certainly not a gourmet temple, but everything we got was good – no complaints at all. If in Kayenta again we will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ugh!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you like ice berg lettuce, white bread, over cooked canned veggies, and brown gravy . . . then this is your place. It's a sandwich menu with limited dinner choices of fried foods.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Navajo diner, clean, fresh food, cash only”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

In Kayenta, on the road to the Grand Canyon or Monument Valley, this diner is one of the local restaurants compared to fast food chains at the main intersection with route 163. They only take cash and there are many local Navajo customers compared to tourists. The menu has Navajo food, Mexican food and American food. We tried the Navajo meat and fry bread (a bread made with a non sweet pancake dough, fluffy) with potato salad, and the American grilled chicken sandwiches and hamburgers. Everything was fresh. There is also a salad "bar" composed of only cut lettuce and tomato. Waiters are very nice and professional, the restaurant is quiet and has an octogonal shape with a few Navajo paintings or objets as decor.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pourpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only one place to go”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Local Navajo love this place and there is no other recommended restaurant to go in town. The restaurant is clean and gives friendly service but the food has no taste at all. May be it's the Navajo style. Do not expect too much, it's the place to just full fill your hunger.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madison_junction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Coffee Pot also viewed

 

Been to Blue Coffee Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing