We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kayenta Monument Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

The room was beautiful. Large, with large desk if you wanted to do some work, mattress firm and comfy, pillows comfy.... triple sheeted service with fine linens.... HOWEVER, if you want to pay that much for a nice bed, well..... It's overpriced. Because there are so few choice in Kayenta, you feel that you're being held hostage. Definitely do NOT eat at their also overpriced restaurant. Burger King, McD's, Sonic, and a lovely local diner - the Bule Coffee Cup - are all a short walk across the street away. Ice machines don't keep up with the demand. 2nd floor rooms don't have an elevator. For $177 a night, you don't even get a morning paper. They ought to be ashamed to charge so much for so little. Staff was not overly friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    364
    422
    173
    108
See reviews for
290
500
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

The location is excellent for viewing Monument Valley, but you need to remember that there is nothing else to do in town. The room rate (plus Navajo surcharge) makes the whole experience less than palatable, especially as noted in an earlier review, any discount rules out breakfast. (This leads me to another gripe as a visitor to the US - quote an all up rate with all the taxes as the room rate is meaningless if it includes 18% in taxes for this and that!!!) We ended up there as the Hampton Inn and Best Western were already full and it was too late to drive through to Page. In retrospect, the additional miles may have been a better investment!

Our room was squeezed into a corner, on the second floor, that was very dark and dingy. That aside, the room was very clean and reasonably spacious but did not provide a fridge, which could be considered a basic requirement with temperatures 100+ . The WiFi was eventually sorted out with a call to the 1800 number, but it was still very slow .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kayenta hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

The staff was not friendly - our room was on the second floor - NO ELEVATOR - noisy air conditioner. The entrance door, to the building we stayed in, security lock was broken and missing. Only had 1 ice machine for 4 different buildings.

Did not eat in the restaurant, but who would - the BLUE CAFE across the street was CLEAN, FRIENDLY and GOOD food, we ate dinner and breakfast there.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasDave-Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this HI on our way to Monument Valley from Sedona, AZ on our honeymoon. When we pulled up, we were kind of surprised to see a motel instead of a hotel - I was pretty sure most Holiday Inns were hotels... but since this was a free hotel night redemption and we'd had a rough day, we called it good and went in to check in. I am really happy I booked the stay way in advance because the place was absolutely PACKED with tour bus tourists. The front desk was sending people away because they had no vacancy - and they were suggesting places in Moab, Utah (~3 hrs away). We waited on line a good 15 minutes since both staff members were trying to figure out travel issues with other patrons.

When we drove from the check in building to our room, we were "happy" to see a tour bus parked horizontally across the spaces in front of our room. There were tour busses everywhere - I guess it explains why they fill up so quickly. The room was clean, just dumpy-looking. We had to finagle the door to make sure it stayed shut which was a little unnerving, and we could hear the people upstairs every time they needed to use the bathroom - thin floors I guess?

There were a few resturants in town, and there's an eatery attached to the hotel. We weren't feeling too adventurous so we opted for Subway sandwiches in-room. There wasn't really much charm to Kayenta in my opinion, but then again we arrived around 5 PM and were irritated with our lodging which might have tarnished my view a bit.

For an overnight stay with a 7 AM "let's load up and start up the bus" wake up call from outside, it was tolerable. The fact that it was a free redemption probably made it more tolerable. We left ASAP to head to the Navajo Monument Valley trail, where we learned upon arrival that a brand spankin' new inn called "The View" had just opened. After talking to fellow travelers during our travels through Canyon Country, we learned that it is a WONDERFUL place to stay, just a little pricey... but you wake up to The Mittens and other beautiful rock formations outside your window instead of a grumpy, smoking bus driver. I'd recommend checking that out instead if you're making an overnight trip to Monument Valley. Otherwise, try to bypass Kayenta entirely if you can help it - leave early from Flagstaff AZ and try to make it to Blandings or Moab, UT if you're visiting the Grand Circle.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraLovesZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
281 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

My wife and I are from UK and were travelling around USA.
We chose this hotel as one of the nearest to Monument Valley - before we realised that The View was opening in Monument Valley itself - we would consider the considerably higher rates just to stay there next time.
The Holiday Inn Kayenta is certainly overpriced, especially as breakfast is not included, but our room was fine - a bit of a walk from reception and dining room - there is free internet access, staff were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We arrived at 2 pm. Check in was at 3 - no exceptions. I asked reception what there might be to do around town for an hour. No eye contact. No response other than "check in is at 3." We went for a long drive, checking in much later. The AC in our room was broken. When we called the desk, we were told the repairman was busy off-site and might fix it when he returned - this is after 6 at night. We asked for the manager and suggested he might give us another room. He was helpful and re-located us, but that's something THEY should have suggested. The rooms all smelled musty. The furnishings were worn. Unlike most Holiday Inns, no breakfast was included. Not good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyJLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

I stayed here for one night as part of a US tour. We had a lovely, clean and spacious room. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was very good. I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Little Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kayenta
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kayenta
Hampton Inn Kayenta
#1 of 4 in Kayenta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
3.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
21.0 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
114.3 mi away
Days Inn Chambers AZ
Days Inn Chambers AZ
#1 of 1 in Chambers
3.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
21.1 mi away
Monument Valley Tipi Village Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayenta Monument Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayenta Monument Valley Inn

Property: Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
Address: Junction US Highways 160 & 163, P.O. Box 307, Kayenta, AZ 86033 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kayenta)
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kayenta Monument Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Kayenta Monument Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayenta Monument Valley Hotel Kayenta
Holiday Inn Kayenta
Kayenta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing