We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accommodation, shame about attitude of the staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Dibden, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good accommodation, shame about attitude of the staff.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We used this hotel for a one night stop over recently after driving through Monument Valley. Room very comfortable, nice pool area to unwind for a couple of hours. Front desk unfriendly and surly on arrival, went to Restaurant in the evening to eat, shown to a table by the window and just forgotten. Tried twice to get someone to take our order. Other people arrived, they were seated and waitress immediately came to their table to take their order. With that we got up and walked out and went up the road to the Hampton Inn where the staff could not have been more friendly and service was efficient despite being very busy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    395
    463
    182
    116
See reviews for
311
563
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After all the negative comments here, we were worried that the only hotel we could get into in Kayenta was this one. We need not have worried. Efficient reception showed us the best place to park and enter the hotel into what what appears to be a new wing. Opened the door to the room to find a delightfully clean, newly refitted, and very comfortable area. Nice chairs, new curtains and carpets,and all spotless. We were so pleased and would recommend to our best friends

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The review of this hotel is in the context of its location and choice. There isn’t a lot of choice in this area, but Monument Valley is a superb place to visit.
The hotel is really an upmarket Motel. Front desk were friendly and when we found our tour company had booked us into a Twin room helpfully moved us into a king-size room.
Rooms where clean and tidy, aircon was very noisy, bed was comfortable.
Despite opening out onto ground floor (and car movements in the car park) we slept very well, until woken at 7:30 by the (wannabe hell angels) Harley Davidson tour revving up to leave the hotel.
We ate in the hotel restaurant, service was polite and response was prompt (despite a large Japanese tour group sitting down to dinner not long after us). As the hotel is on an Indian Reservation there is no alcohol served. We both choose to eat local Indian dishes from the menu and where very impressed with the dishes supplied.
As a place to spend one night so that you can go and see the splendour of Monument valley this is perfectly adequate. I would look elsewhere if you wanted to use this as a base for several nights to explore the region

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Honestly, even though we were paying a reasonably high rate (not unexpected as it is one of few close motels to Monument Valley and in extremely high demand), we were very pleasantly surprised. The carpet and furnishings looked brand new. We were warned by the check-in staff hat the only available room was near the steps to the building and that we were also near the ice machine. Thankfully though a solid door seemed to keep much of the noise at bay so we asked to remain where were our second night. We were in Room 413 in the west annex. We weren't able to get into The View at Monument Valley but Kayenta is a good location to base yourself.

Like the last reviewer we also noticed the number of what seemed stray dogs everywhere but this is an indigenous community run area and the dogs were friendly and not begging for food as the community appear to feed and care for them.

Also book before had. When we arrived at 5pm there were many people at reception who were turned away angry because there were no rooms. What can you expect when you turn up late at night?

Room Tip: The West Annex looks brand new and noise levels particularly on the top level (even though numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Page, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights on the 27th and 28th sept. the lobby was busy when we came in and the hotel was full. we got room 419 in the seperate block on the west side of the hotel, the clerk said it was a nice room. king size bed, lovely stone brick feature wall, LCD tv and nice Bathroom.
very nice indeed. hotel staff were nice and helpful and friendly.
not many options available and we paid £240 for the 2 nights so our most expensive stay of our entire roadtrip but i have to say it was worth it because of the lovely massive firm kingsize bed and location. not noisy either. only reason i am not giving it 5 stars is because it's expensive.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the seperate west annex as they are aparently better quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turkish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuentes de Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Bearing is mind the place is extremely expensive, you would expect a proper service and customer service. We were shocked as the staff at the Front desk is very unfriendly, arrogant and not helpful at all.
The room is OK in terms of space but is not soudproofing at all; you can hear the guests walking on the first floor.
The location is not ideal either but that's the nearest place you can get if The View Hotel at Monument Valley is full.

I wouldn't recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneismael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kayenta hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here one night after visiting Monument Valley which was awesome. Hotel was fine - room was ground floor, large with 2 large beds - not sure if they were large single or small double so hubby and I decided to have one each! Beds were comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Usual complimentary toiletries and drinks tho' no tea bags!! Breakfast was not complimentary but there was an onsite restaurant serving breakfast with a good choice on menu - hot and cold. No fridge in room. Guest computer in lobby area but very slow and not really in a good place for privacy from people sitting nearby. Free wi-fi in room but I couldn't get a connection on my smart phone. Good gift shop on site. Place is on the Navajo Reservation and run by native americans. Friendly helpful staff - we had a slight problem with the bath water not draining and contacted reception and within minutes assistance arrived and solved the problem. We would stay here again if visiting this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabilea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kayenta
1.4 mi away
Wetherill Inn
Wetherill Inn
#2 of 4 in Kayenta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kayenta
Hampton Inn Kayenta
#1 of 4 in Kayenta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
36.9 mi away
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
#2 of 2 in Monument Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayenta Monument Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayenta Monument Valley Inn

Property: Kayenta Monument Valley Inn
Address: Junction US Highways 160 & 163, P.O. Box 307, Kayenta, AZ 86033 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kayenta)
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kayenta Monument Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kayenta Monument Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayenta Monument Valley Hotel Kayenta
Holiday Inn Kayenta
Kayenta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing