We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base to visir Monument Valley”
Review of Wetherill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wetherill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Reviewed May 23, 2014

One of the things that I find makes the National Parks & Monuments of the Southwest a national treasure is the landscape has remained open, vast and unchanged since earliest times. This same feature can be a drawback for visitors left with a choice of spending an exorbitant amount for site lodgings of average or mediocre accommodations or traveling great distances for more moderate lodging rates. Kayenta near Monument Valley is a very small community with 3 motels. At the time we booked in the 2nd week in April Best Western Wetherill was the only motel close to Monument Valley we could afford. With that said we found Wetherill a well maintained, updated facility with a nice comfortable room and polite staff; and best of all only 25 minute drive to Monument Valley. We stayed 3 night and found it to be a perfect base to visit Monument Valley, Canyon De Chelly and the Hubbell Trading Post.The Motel's location is conveniently close to major interstate junctions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 823 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2014

Kayenta is a very expensive city, to eat and to sleep. This hotel is in the average, but it's clean and the room was big. It has some defects too: the bathroom was very small and the shower was horrible (you can not find a way to adjust the water temperature!!!!) The windows do not open.
The breakfast was good, but the room for breakfast was very small and full of people.
The hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Room was basic & looked clean albeit very dark & dated, but it smelt BAD - like an old people's home, with cheap scent trying to cover the odour of urine. The noise of bikers starting their engines at 6.10 am went on for 40+ minutes, which I realise isn't the hotel's fault, but someone could have had a word? Staff were not particularly friendly. Wifi patchy. And we had to pay $175 for the privilege of staying here?!?!

It's the cheapest place in town, but I expect much better for that amount of money. If I could have given zero stars I would have.

Avoid, avoid, avoid!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mcduffer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We booked one night here about 2-3 months in advance. When we drove in, we realized it is not as advertised. It looks like a cheap 2 story motel but the rooms were not that cheap. Our room was dark with an old green bedspread. the toilet seat was chipped where I would sit, I pulled back the bedspread to find a yellow stain on the sheet. That was enough for me. I went to the office to tell them that we could not stay in a room that was not clean and I did not trust their housekeeping standards. they reluctantly let us cancel our reservation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fernh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The price was reasonable and the location near Monument Valley is ideal. I would recommend this motel. The other motel in the area was quite a bit more expensive. This motel offered us everything we wanted at a good price. The staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toniWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were disheartened when arriving at Kayenta to find 2 expensive hotels on the main road but decided to have a look a bit further out just in case there was another hotel hidden somewhere. To our delight we found Wetherill Inn on the road that leads out to Monument Valley. It's a 5 minute drive away from the township but this is not a problem if you have a car. It looks outdated but compared to the other 2 it's an affordable option that is still clean and comfortable and a basic continental breakfast was included that we found satisfactory for our needs. This was a convenient choice to visit Monument Valley, about a 1/2 hour drive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cajhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My friends and I stayed in this hotel just one night to visit the Monument Valley. The hotel is in a good position and the staff is friendly. Rooms are clean and quite big. There is a useful laundry and some vending machines in the hotel. The swimming pool is comfortable as well!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laraq85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wetherill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wetherill Inn

Address: 1000 Main Street, Kayenta, AZ 86033-0175
Location: United States > Arizona > Kayenta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kayenta
Price Range: $85 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wetherill Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Wetherill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wetherill Hotel Kayenta
Best Western Wetherill Hotel
Best Western Kayenta
Kayenta Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing